Switch Theme:

Flying Monstrous Creatures / Fliers Rule Confusion ~ New to flyers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




Hey so me and my friend play necrons and tyranids respectively. I have doom scythes and he has flyrants. My question is do flying monstrous creatures have the skyfire special rule? I couldn't find anything in the rulebook stating that they do. I did however see that "Flyers" specifically, under vehicles section, have the skyfire special rule which is optional and must be declared before used. I saw a few posts who said that FMC also have this applied to them but then it made me wonder if thats true then why FMC dont have to start in reserves like flyers do. We're new to flyers and aware that the rules are about to change anyways but any help would be appreciated, thank you!. Feel free to post the new rule changes regarding this if you know them, I couldnt find much other than the white dwarf info.
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

They didn't have Skyfire, but the FAQ gave it to them in the same manner as flyers do.

http://www.blacklibrary.com/Downloads/Product/PDF/Warhammer-40k/40K-RULEBOOK.pdf

FMC's don't have to start in reserves because they don't have any rules saying they do.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/16 05:04:31


 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

It was errata'd in the Frequently Asked Questions:

Q: Flyers are entitled to choose whether or not to use the Skyfire
special rule at the start of each Shooting phase. Can Swooping
Flying Monstrous Creatures also do this? (p49)
A: Yes

As for having to start in reserve, having the Skyfire Special Rule has nothing to do with reserves.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Ahhhh ok. Damn flyrants! Thanks for the clarification.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






Flying monsters don't have to start the game in reserves, but if they start the game on the board they're on the ground. they can take off at the start of their movement phase, but if you go first against them you can shoot them without needing snapshots until they get airborne.

12,300 points of Orks
9th W/D/L with Orks, 4/0/2
I am Thoruk, the Barbarian, Slayer of Ducks, and This is my blog!

I'm Selling Infinity, 40k, dystopian wars, UK based!

I also make designs for t-shirts and mugs and such on Redbubble! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: