Switch Theme:

Two questions regarding dedicated transports  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




1) I'm working on a 500 point list which has 5 separate units. For the purpose of preparing reserves, this allows me to keep 3 units in reserve (half, rounded up). The two units that I wish to keep on the field are an HQ unit, and a fast attack vehicle which can be used by the HQ as a dedicated transport. If I declare it as a dedicated transport, then those two units would be considered one unit for the purpose of preparing reserves. Which means I will then have only 4 units in total and would have to change my strategy for the reserves. So my question is this- is it possible for me to not declare that vehicle as a dedicated transport, yet still use if for my HQ?

2) Let's say that I'm playing a game with less than 2000 points (so only one primary detachment allowed). What happens if I fill up my two HQ slots, but still want to run a fast attack vehicle that can be a dedicated transport for my HQ? Page 109 of the 6th Edition rulebook says "Dedicated transports count as being from the same Force Organization category as the unit the were brought in for." Would doing so automatically make my list illegal (or unbound), or am I allowed to just use the vehicle to fill up a fast attack slot?
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Virtus wrote:
1) I'm working on a 500 point list which has 5 separate units. For the purpose of preparing reserves, this allows me to keep 3 units in reserve (half, rounded up). The two units that I wish to keep on the field are an HQ unit, and a fast attack vehicle which can be used by the HQ as a dedicated transport. If I declare it as a dedicated transport, then those two units would be considered one unit for the purpose of preparing reserves. Which means I will then have only 4 units in total and would have to change my strategy for the reserves. So my question is this- is it possible for me to not declare that vehicle as a dedicated transport, yet still use if for my HQ?

What HQ and FA is this?

2) Let's say that I'm playing a game with less than 2000 points (so only one primary detachment allowed). What happens if I fill up my two HQ slots, but still want to run a fast attack vehicle that can be a dedicated transport for my HQ? Page 109 of the 6th Edition rulebook says "Dedicated transports count as being from the same Force Organization category as the unit the were brought in for." Would doing so automatically make my list illegal (or unbound), or am I allowed to just use the vehicle to fill up a fast attack slot?

Again, what codex is this? I'm genuinely not aware of a codex that does this...

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Militarum Tempestus Scions codex. The Command Squad (HQ choice) can take a Taurox Prime (a fast attack option) as a dedicated transport.
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






1. There is no 'declaring' of dedicated transports; a transport is either purchased from codex as a normal transport, or it is purchased as a unit upgrade specifically listed as a dedicated transport. There is no general rule allowing you to turn a regular transport into a dedicated one.

2. Dedicated transports are tested as being units from the same Force Organisation slot add the parent unit, but doesn't fill a slot by itself. So, if you could get a dedicated transport for one of your HQ choices, you'd get that in addition to your normal 2 HQ choices.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 Cheexsta wrote:
1. There is no 'declaring' of dedicated transports; a transport is either purchased from codex as a normal transport, or it is purchased as a unit upgrade specifically listed as a dedicated transport. There is no general rule allowing you to turn a regular transport into a dedicated one.


My Militarum Tempestus codex says the Command squad may take a Taurox Prime as a dedicated transport (for free). I understood that to mean it doesn't have to be a dedicated transport if you don't wish it to be.

 Cheexsta wrote:
2. Dedicated transports are tested as being units from the same Force Organisation slot add the parent unit, but doesn't fill a slot by itself. So, if you could get a dedicated transport for one of your HQ choices, you'd get that in addition to your normal 2 HQ choices.


Cool. Thank you.
   
Made in au
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation



Perth, Western Australia

Unless I've missed something, the Command Squad doesn't get a Dedicated Transport 'for free'. They start at 80 points I believe.
   
Made in ca
Khorne Veteran Marine with Chain-Axe






Yeah you can take vehicles like a Taurox Prime as a fast attack choice normally, AND/OR as a dedicated transport. If you want it as a dedicated, counts as being with your HQ instead of as a Fast Attack.
If you buy it as a Fast Attack, means it isn't a dedicated Transport.

And Cheexsta is precisely right, I'd just tweak his wording a little for clarity.
Not "in addition to your normal 2 HQ choices.", but rather "counts as part of the SAME HQ slot as the unit the dedicated transport was purchased for.

-I dedicate these deaths to Odin Allfather, Spearshaker, One Eye.
Rock hard, ride free, and hold the heathen hammer high!
"Orkses is never beaten in battle; if we win, we win, if we die, we died fightin' so it doesn't count, and if we leg it, we always come back for anuvver go, see?"
God, I'd love to shunt the Hulk into the Eye of Terror and see what comes out. -Reiner
"Sons of the Last Breath"
"Host of Shattered Purity"
"Kabal of the Dying Sun, Cult of Marrow Excised, Coven of Lambent Hunger" 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






In this specific case you can "declare" the taurox as either FA or DT; which is done at list creation.

This matters in tournaments, but not nearly as much in friendly and pickup games.

The taurox as a DT is not Free BTW, you still have to pay the points cost for the Taurox

As to the nuts and bolts of your question, should you bring the taurox prime as a fast attack you can absolutely start the game with your HQ in it.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




TYo add to the above - it makes no difference to the numberof units your army has, either. You dnot have 4, just because one of them is a dedicadted transport, you still have 5
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

The Army List Explained Section of any Codex has more information related to how Dedicated Transports function, including Rules stating the Dedicated Transport is a separate Unit and what Slot it occupies.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/05/19 18:41:01


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

However, when determining the number of units for reserves, the unit and it's dedicated transport only count as one unit. P 124, Preparing Reserves. And no, there is no requirement stated that the unit must be embarked for this to be in effect. And leads to the odd situation of deploying one and reserving the other and then trying to figure out how to count them.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: