Switch Theme:

Wolf tooth Necklace vs enemies with invisability  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Ferocious Blood Claw






Following the new rulebook & FAQ drop i've found myself pondering over the following:

A Space Wolf "Wolf tooth Necklace" entry says "Against Models with a WS Value, a model with a wolftooth necklace always hits in close combat on a 3+"

Now if your opponents unit had 'invisability' from Telepathy dicapline cast on it it models only hit it on a 6+ or something to that effect (Don't have the rulebook to hand right now)

Would the Space wolf model with WTN still strike the unit on 3+ assuming it has a WS? or would the rule incurred on the enemy unit by telepathy make the space wolf strike on a 6+?

Granted if the space wolf was striking a vehicle with no WS, no question Invisability would win. But in cases where the target has a WS value which rule takes precidence?

Help?

   
Made in ru
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker





Hive Moscow

Yes.

Where advanced rules apply to a specific model, they always override any contradicting basic rules.
   
Made in us
Ambitious Space Wolves Initiate





Codex usually trumps main rulebook, I'd say the wolves crush invis in CC...
   
Made in ca
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller






The problem is that there isn't anything in the rulebook that I have seen to say Codex trumps Rulebook like there was in 6th, only that Advanced rules trump Basic rules and both of these would count as Advanced rules as they aren't something standard naked units can do.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Wow that is a good one. I'd say they hit on a three. It says they always hit on a three, regardless. Let me read the spell.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Shame they don't currently have that rule where you have 2 set values.
   
Made in us
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot




While there may be no 'Codex trumps BRB' rule in the BRB now, the model specific wargear is more Advanced than a power available to many many others in various Codices. And fellas like Kharn are even more advanced, always hitting on a 2+. Maniacs swing at anything, even imaginary flies in the air, so they're bound to hit something

Now I want to use Kharn and Space Wolves in the same list!
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Out side of a wolf guard squad where every model has the Wolf's Tooth Necklace or a combat with Ragnar going so long because he is the only thing able to hit and getting all his bonus attacks it shouldn't be that big a deal for the random SW to hit the random invisible unit in CC on 3's an not 6's.
   
Made in gb
Ferocious Blood Claw






Kaela_Mensha_Khaine wrote:
Out side of a wolf guard squad where every model has the Wolf's Tooth Necklace or a combat with Ragnar going so long because he is the only thing able to hit and getting all his bonus attacks it shouldn't be that big a deal for the random SW to hit the random invisible unit in CC on 3's an not 6's.


Oh Ye of narrow minds
   
Made in us
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine







That's a good question, because they are both Advanced rules (and I don't feel any one rule is any more "advanced" than the other). Best way I can think of to resolve it is on the SW turn, the wolftooth necklace takes precendence, and on the invisibile units' turn, the pychic power takes precendence.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 CrashCanuck wrote:
The problem is that there isn't anything in the rulebook that I have seen to say Codex trumps Rulebook like there was in 6th, only that Advanced rules trump Basic rules and both of these would count as Advanced rules as they aren't something standard naked units can do.

The section that tells you that Advances Rules trump basic one also addresses the Codex vs Rulebook conflict right at the bottom.

 
   
Made in ca
Lieutenant Colonel






there is a rule in 7th along the lines of where if two things happen at the same time IE setting the to hit roll to either 3+ or 6+, then the player whos turn it is gets to choose

so your turn, set it to 6 then 3, his turn he gets to do the opposite.

dont have book in front of me, so no pg # for you atm, but its in there, I believe on the modifiers page IIRC

also, and I might be wrong, doesnt the BRB still say codex > BRB somewhere?

if it still does, then you are good to go with 3+ to hit

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/28 19:35:54


 
   
Made in us
Sergeant First Class





 insaniak wrote:
 CrashCanuck wrote:
The problem is that there isn't anything in the rulebook that I have seen to say Codex trumps Rulebook like there was in 6th, only that Advanced rules trump Basic rules and both of these would count as Advanced rules as they aren't something standard naked units can do.

The section that tells you that Advances Rules trump basic one also addresses the Codex vs Rulebook conflict right at the bottom.


Seconding this. Can't give a page quote as I am away from book, but it is in the same little black box as Basic vs. Advanced rules.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut



Shropshire

The page is 13 and it only states that movement, shooting and close combat as well as morale. Everything else is an advanced rule giving examples of even a boltgun being advanced rules :/. So both are advanced... As no real clarification exist both overwrite each other then black box on page 10 applies. The kost important rule :/

"and with but a little push it all goes BANG!!" 
   
Made in gb
Ferocious Blood Claw






Actually looking at it, the last two sentences in basic vs advanced rules says

"on rare occasions, a conflict will arise between a rule in this rulebook, and one printed in a codex. Where this occurs, the rule printed in the codex take precedence"
   
Made in us
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade





cedar rapids, iowa

Roll off. They are duking it out. For once the roll off seems like the right rule in this case.

 
   
Made in be
Longtime Dakkanaut




I don't understand why people are saying 'roll off' is the best option when there is a clear rule for this.

Page 13 of BRB, bottom right, last paragraph:
On rare occasions, a conflict will arise between a rule in this rulebook, and one printed in a codex. Where this occurs, the rule printed in the codex or army list entry ALWAYS takes preccedence

You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness.  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




but it also clearly says "You'll occasionally find that two or more rules are to be resovled at the same time... when this happens, and the wording is not explicit as to which rule is resovled first, then the player whose turn it is chooses the order." (BRB Pg 17)

Thus both set modifiers are applied at the same time, and the one applied last takes precedence, and since the player gets to choose which... Karn gets priority on his turn, Invis gets priority on the other turn.
   
Made in be
Longtime Dakkanaut




Except that this is not a modifier as it does not modify a characteristic.

Modifiers are pieces of wargear or special rules that modify a characteristic. That does not happen here, hence it just becomes a 'which book takes preccedence'-case, for which there is a clear rule.
The thing you are referring to is used when two rules form seperate codexes contradict each other.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/06/01 12:10:10


You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: