Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/30 00:03:16
Subject: Jink and units not targetted
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
This came up in a game tonight:
Opponent shoots a blast weapon at one of my units.
It scatters onto a second unit that has the Jink special rule (jetbikes to be precise).
But this happens after the To Hit roll so I can't elect to Jink? I can't even elect to Jink preventatively because to second unit was never targeted for a shooting a attack.
Did we do this right?
|
Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/30 00:23:00
Subject: Jink and units not targetted
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Shandara wrote:This came up in a game tonight:
Opponent shoots a blast weapon at one of my units.
It scatters onto a second unit that has the Jink special rule (jetbikes to be precise).
But this happens after the To Hit roll so I can't elect to Jink? I can't even elect to Jink preventatively because to second unit was never targeted for a shooting a attack.
Did we do this right?
Sounds like you followed RAW...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/30 04:26:36
Subject: Re:Jink and units not targetted
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
RAW, that sounds correct. RAI, I think I'd let an opponent declare the Jink before rolling to pen.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/30 09:59:02
Subject: Jink and units not targetted
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
RAW, that's it indeed. The trigger that allows you to use Jink never happened..
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/30 18:32:03
Subject: Jink and units not targetted
|
 |
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine
|
Think of it as the 2nd unit hit never saw the shot coming
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/30 23:17:31
Subject: Jink and units not targetted
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
I think you can elect to jink, but you'd have to do it ahead of time.
So if I'm shooting a unit, you can elect to jink with it and anyone next to it that you think will be hit, or that you just can't risk being hit and killed.
I don't think you HAVE to target a unit in order for it to get a jink save, they just have to elect to jink before any hit rolls are rolled for that attack.
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/30 23:31:19
Subject: Jink and units not targetted
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Spellbound wrote:I think you can elect to jink, but you'd have to do it ahead of time.
So if I'm shooting a unit, you can elect to jink with it and anyone next to it that you think will be hit, or that you just can't risk being hit and killed.
I don't think you HAVE to target a unit in order for it to get a jink save, they just have to elect to jink before any hit rolls are rolled for that attack.
The very first sentence of Jink, requires the unit to be targeted.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/31 00:04:17
Subject: Jink and units not targetted
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
Happyjew wrote: Spellbound wrote:I think you can elect to jink, but you'd have to do it ahead of time.
So if I'm shooting a unit, you can elect to jink with it and anyone next to it that you think will be hit, or that you just can't risk being hit and killed.
I don't think you HAVE to target a unit in order for it to get a jink save, they just have to elect to jink before any hit rolls are rolled for that attack.
The very first sentence of Jink, requires the unit to be targeted.
I think placing a blast marker of a unit counts as selecting it as a target for a shooting attack.
And also at that point no to hit rolls have been made.
so jink after the marker is placed over your unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/31 00:05:04
Subject: Jink and units not targetted
|
 |
Repentia Mistress
|
Spellbound wrote:I think you can elect to jink, but you'd have to do it ahead of time.
So if I'm shooting a unit, you can elect to jink with it and anyone next to it that you think will be hit, or that you just can't risk being hit and killed.
I don't think you HAVE to target a unit in order for it to get a jink save, they just have to elect to jink before any hit rolls are rolled for that attack.
I did think about using elect to jink as a HIWPI but since the template scatters max 12 inches, that's a huge area (circle with radius of 12 inches) where all skimmers must decide to jink or not. Just not very feasible.
Anyway, RAW seems to be quite clear. I take it as the skimmer not seeing the ricochet or secondary explosion from the unit beside him.
|
DS:70+S+G+M-B--IPw40k94-D+++A++/wWD380R+T(D)DM+
Avatar scene by artist Nicholas Kay. Give credit where it's due! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/31 00:26:20
Subject: Jink and units not targetted
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Interesting, interesting. Hard to abuse this, unless people just pack their vehicles together. But yeah, placing a vindicator blast so it touches two vehicles, saying "I'm only targeting this one" is kind of.....kind of shady.
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/31 22:19:05
Subject: Jink and units not targetted
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
where you initially place the template is still targeting it. if it then scatters and hits something else, then that's not targeted.
I think that the jink should be made before scatter, as scatter is the "to hit" roll. I think in the grim darkness of the far future, where a tank can fire its forward mounted weapon at point blank range and hit just behind itself, it seems fair that unless the gun is pointed at the model, the model isn't sure if it's being targeted or not, and can't have time to jink.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|