Switch Theme:

So how many times can you actually take a Portaglpyh.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

There's a weird sort of combo in the Daemon Codex, mainly dealing with summoning and Portaglyph.

This is how it works.

You take a portaglpyh on a Herald and use it.

You then cast Sacrifice twice and kill the Daemon with the Portaglyph.

Can you then when Summoning the last Daemon with the Sacrifice select portaglyph again and then subsequently use it?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/30 20:13:04


If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in us
Sinister Chaos Marine





Norfolk, VA

Top of page 65 in Codex: Daemons should clear that question up for you.

It is easier to extinguish the light within, than to dispell the darkness that surrounds without
DR:70S+++G+++M++B+++I+Pw40k88/f#-D+++A++++/fWD120R++++T(Pic)DM+

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

I only have one at any one time in my army. Also summoned units have no such restrictions I can just have 30 points of Wargear, and techinically their not selected as part of my army. If they are part of my army, then what part?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/30 20:26:04


If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

In answering the question. Every time I run Daemons.

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in fi
Longtime Dakkanaut




This sounds like you wanted us to find a justification for you to have 2 of an artifact that by the codex rules you can only have 1?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Well if summoned units are not part of your army, please do not move them or do anything with them during your phase as they are not yours.

Otherwise its still 1 per army.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Summoned daemons are not part of your detachment, Army is actually better defined now.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

I neeed these Portaglyphs.

If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





just because they are not part of your detachment does not mean they are not part of your army.

They are part of your army.

Portalglyph is limited per army not detachment.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Where does it say they are not part of the detachment?
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






coredump wrote:
Where does it say they are not part of the detachment?


Nowhere.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/01 08:05:50


 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





coredump wrote:
Where does it say they are not part of the detachment?

Where does it say they are? This is a permissive rules set, you need to be told they are in a detachment.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/01 08:07:52


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Because in the simplest situation, I only have one detachment. The rules do not give permission to have units outside of a detachment, and do not provide rules to create a new detachment.

Further, while it is from a different edition, you could spawn gaunts even back when the rules only supported 1 detachment in the army.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





coredump wrote:
The rules do not give permission to have units outside of a detachment


For army building, not for playing the game.

And a ruling needs to make since in all situations, not just the simplistic ones
   
Made in ca
Lieutenant Colonel






 Tonberry7 wrote:
coredump wrote:
Where does it say they are not part of the detachment?


Nowhere.


its does pg 119, where you assign all detachments pre game.

new unit, mid game, no detachment/listbuilding rules apply


main issue with OP, is that it looks like he also wants the same unit to cast sacrifice twice...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/01 19:04:53


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

No different units. On the same guy not doubling up.

Where does it say I have to follow the rules on one per army when the army is built at the beginning of the game is my question.

I neeeeed these portaglyphs

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/01 20:17:05


If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Just one for the love of god just 1.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

Nooooooooooooo.

If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: