Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/31 16:56:48
Subject: A few quick questions on the Necron FAQ for 7th Edition
|
 |
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine
|
I'm asking these for a friend of mine who plays Necrons. The new FAQ removed a lot of the changes made in the 6th Edition FAQ, and so now I have to wonder if those changes no longer apply. So if anybody has an updated version of the Necron Codex can clarify if the 6th edition FAQ changes were pushed to the Codex rules, I would appreciate your input!
1) In the 6th ed FAQ, the Chronometron could be used to reroll the Lord of the Storm effects. In the edition of the Necron Codex I have, this simply isn't the case without the FAQ, because the Lord of the Storm effects do not come from Imotekh himself (or his unit), and the Chronometron specifies the bearer may reroll one of the unit's D6 rolls per phase. This is important because my friend has taken to keeping Imotekh in reserve or in a Night Scythe so he can keep getting free lighting hits with rerolls. My thought is, if the Lord of the Storm effect rolls are not coming from the unit (and thus can be used while in reserve) then the Chronometron should not be eligible to reroll those dice unless given specific permission to do so. Any thoughts?
2) 7th edition Snap Fire rules specifically say that a shooting attack that does not use BS cannot snapfire and the Flyers rule states that any attacks that don't roll To Hit cannot hit a zooming flyer. On the first point, I don't see the lightning strikes from Lord of the Storm as a shooting attack, so its not bound by the snap fire rules. However, I do feel it is an attack, since it specifically says the unit suffers "hits", which without a FAQ, would indicate the lightning cannot hit a zooming flyer since the D6 roll is not a To Hit roll. Again, it was FAQed in 6th that it could hit flyers, but now it was left out. this would also impact Chaos Daemon Warp storm results. So what are your thoughts on that one?
3) Tesla weapons also grant hits that do not roll To Hit, do these extra hits actually hit Zooming Flyers or not? What about the Arc hits? These are shooting attacks I feel, so it seems to break the rules if they can be applied to a zooming flyer. I have to wonder if Tesla won't get modified in a future FAQ to not count snap shots as granting extra hits anyway, since this stipulation is on the Precision Shots and Sniper USRs, but until then, its unclear.
4) Catacomb Command Barge have two profiles, one of which has the Independent Character USR. It was specifically mentioned in the Chaos Daemons FAQ for 7th that when an IC is combined with a Chariot, the unit loses the IC USR. This isn't specifically referenced in the Necron FAQ, but I feel that since a precedence has been established, the CCB will also lose the Independent Character USR. Thoughts?
Thanks in advance for any answers!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/31 18:02:50
Subject: Re:A few quick questions on the Necron FAQ for 7th Edition
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
1 If the lord of the storm effects do not come from him, Where do they come from? If they don't come from him then if he is removed as a casualty in the movement phase or psychic phase do they still happen in the shooting phase?
2. An attack is different from a shooting attack. How do you treat drop pods inertial guidance, do they move an 1" away from enemy models even though the rules do not say they do because of intent? It was the intent that it hit flyers in 6th so without indication of something different why treat it different?
3. They are hits not attacks as put fourth by the facts that they do not do additional successful attacks.
4. UP in the air but RAW currently they keep it. Wouldn't it have made more sense to put it in the BRB faq instead of a codex faq if they wanted all of them to be altered?
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/31 18:54:05
Subject: Re:A few quick questions on the Necron FAQ for 7th Edition
|
 |
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine
|
Gravmyr wrote:1 If the lord of the storm effects do not come from him, Where do they come from? If they don't come from him then if he is removed as a casualty in the movement phase or psychic phase do they still happen in the shooting phase?
2. An attack is different from a shooting attack. How do you treat drop pods inertial guidance, do they move an 1" away from enemy models even though the rules do not say they do because of intent? It was the intent that it hit flyers in 6th so without indication of something different why treat it different?
3. They are hits not attacks as put fourth by the facts that they do not do additional successful attacks.
4. UP in the air but RAW currently they keep it. Wouldn't it have made more sense to put it in the BRB faq instead of a codex faq if they wanted all of them to be altered?
Well the Lord of the Storm rule just says that if Imotekh is in your army, follow these steps. If the rolls are done by Imotekh, then he would not be able to do these actions while in reserve, correct? Once Imotekh is removed as a casaulty he is no longer a part of the army and since the Lord of the Storm rules are an effect that is activated each turn its not like other "in your army" effects that change battlefield roles or grant units a special rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/31 19:12:15
Subject: Re:A few quick questions on the Necron FAQ for 7th Edition
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Can you post a rule that says a model stops being part of your army once it is removed as a casualty? Does that mean that all models the are returned from being casualties via reanimation protocols are not part of your army and just stand there on the table?
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/31 19:24:49
Subject: A few quick questions on the Necron FAQ for 7th Edition
|
 |
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine
|
Once they come back, they are again part of the army. So you are saying Lord of Storms keeps going even if Imotekh is removed as a casualty? If so, that proves that the rolls don't come from his unit and can't be rerolled.
I am not arguing just trying figure this out. The necron codex has too many mechanics that simply don't fit in the current rules and the FAQ is rather skimpy now. Why GW chose to remove many of the prior decisions is beyond me but I don't think we can just assume that since it was FAQed that way in a previous edition that is still remains that way without the actual FAQ entry.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/31 20:53:26
Subject: Re:A few quick questions on the Necron FAQ for 7th Edition
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
What I am saying is if you are claiming they are not coming from Imotehk it leads to more issues. If you simply say that the ability is his then they are coming from him even if the point the strikes are coming from is not him. What rule allows you to add models to your army after the game has started? There is nothing in Reanimation Protocols that states they are added back or added to your army.
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/31 21:00:59
Subject: A few quick questions on the Necron FAQ for 7th Edition
|
 |
Repentia Mistress
|
Hi OP, I guess I would still play it as per the old FAQ. If you wanna play RAW, it's just too many things which will end up with a vague status. So I would recommend following it strictly as HIWPI.
An example I can think of comes from a question answered in the SoB faq. It says to measure line of sight from any barrel of the Exorcist. In the recent faq however, this question was removed. Does that mean I can measure line of sight from one barrel only? And which barrel is that? Or only from he tip of the barrels?
And so in etc.
|
DS:70+S+G+M-B--IPw40k94-D+++A++/wWD380R+T(D)DM+
Avatar scene by artist Nicholas Kay. Give credit where it's due! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/31 22:57:36
Subject: A few quick questions on the Necron FAQ for 7th Edition
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Regarding Imotekh: As soon as it is killed, it is, just like any other model, removed from play as a casualty. While you might still have the model around, lying on its side, technically, Imotekh is no longer on the battlefield. As a consequence, none of its special abilities are no longer in function - how can you make use of an ability when the source is no longer there? If it makes its Ever Living roll, Imotekh is returned to the battlefield and all of his effects are still / back into play. The same applies to it being in reserve. When Imotekh is in reserves, you don't get to use his special rules.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/31 22:58:38
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/31 23:03:08
Subject: A few quick questions on the Necron FAQ for 7th Edition
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Sigvatr wrote:The same applies to it being in reserve. When Imotekh is in reserves, you don't get to use his special rules.
Why not? Unlike some special rules, it requires him to be in your army, not on the table.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/31 23:06:23
Subject: A few quick questions on the Necron FAQ for 7th Edition
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Actually yeah, it explicitely says so. Wasn't that FAQ'd in 6th? Hm.
Thanks for the correction.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/01 00:43:38
Subject: Re:A few quick questions on the Necron FAQ for 7th Edition
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
If I remember correctly virtually every ability they faqed that didn't require line of sight was said to work while the model is in reserve.
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/01 00:49:38
Subject: A few quick questions on the Necron FAQ for 7th Edition
|
 |
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine
|
Happyjew wrote: Sigvatr wrote:The same applies to it being in reserve. When Imotekh is in reserves, you don't get to use his special rules.
Why not? Unlike some special rules, it requires him to be in your army, not on the table.
So the question remains...is it actually Imotekh making the rolls? I don't see how it could be if the effect still kicks in while he is in reserves.
I know it was previously stated rerolls could be done but is it not possible that GW decided to recind that ruling (and other decisions) with the new edition? After all, look what happened to the heldrake. I don't think we can just assume all of the old rulings are still in effect unless the latest version of the codex was updated to include them. Personally, I felt many of the rulings in 6th made no sense and had no rules basis to begin with (in several FAQs, not just Necrons).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/01 01:00:30
Subject: Re:A few quick questions on the Necron FAQ for 7th Edition
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Are the rolls made without him in the game? If they aren't what/where are the rolls coming from?
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
|