Switch Theme:

Astra Militarum - Pasks Perfectly powerful punisher of pain? or just illegal?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman





Cant seem to find this question answered. If it is please let me know where or please let me know the answer.

Ill make this quick, Pask is in my punisher so he gets preferred enemy. Can I augment that with twin linked by using a psyker? If so what do I roll First. My thinking is....roll 20 dice anything below 3 gets rerolled, then from those, reroll any 1s. Is this legal? I used it last week and it was guaranteeing about 18 wounds on my friends guard blob but we both just wanted to see how it did. We werent sure if it was allowed.

Im reposting this because I posted it on the wrong thread earlier but, I did get what seems like a pretty clear response from someone that the answer was on pg11 of the brb. but when i looked im not really seeing where it says this is illegal. im assuming this is because I have the ebook and the pages arent the same although i did rereead the dice section..

Who has the 40k shenanigans that allow me to do this?


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/01 15:32:01


 
   
Made in gr
Rough Rider with Boomstick




You onlyget one reroll on any one die, period.
So Pask 's unit is the only one that does not need a Psycker to support him.

You shouldn't be worried about the one bullet with your name on it, Boldric. You should be worried about the ones labelled "to whom it may concern"-from Blackadder goes Forth!
 
   
Made in fi
Longtime Dakkanaut




I am quite sure the rules say you can reroll only once.
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman





What if I roll a different dice? HAHA I understand the rule. What im looking for is the shenanigans to let me do this. There must be away around that.

 
   
Made in fi
Longtime Dakkanaut




I am speechless.
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman





there has to be exceptions because you can put dozer blade on all terrain vehicles.

 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

There is one way around it:
The Rule would need to specifically state that it allows you to re-roll a die that has already been re-rolled, but not such Clause has ever been assigned to a Rule to date.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman





the rolling a different dice was obviously a joke

 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Fort Benning, Georgia

Nope. No way around it. Vehicles get the option to select from the vehicle equipment list, which a Dozer blade makes an appearance. However, just because you buy it doesn't mean you get to use it necessrily. You only get one re roll period, so either pasks preferred enemy is used, or the prescience re roll is used. You have to choose and you don't get both. Period.

In short, there is no shenanigans.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/01 15:43:22


 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman





im not happy about this. but fair enough. so definitely take the prescience then?

 
   
Made in us
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant





Plano, TX

It should be noted that dozer blades give bonuses to ramming as well as the re-roll, so not always useless.
   
Made in us
Stalwart Strike Squad Grey Knight



Arkansas

prescience can be used during the to hit... and Pask's preferred enemy rule can be used on the to wound portion of the shooting resolution. It is probably not want you wanted to do, but I think it is very beneficial, especially if you wound on a 2 or 3...

In the name of the Emperor I will smite you with my Fu**, GW took that away too!  
   
Made in gb
Numberless Necron Warrior




UK

there's only two ways in 40k to get a dice to be re-rolled more than once and they are A: cheating and B: house rule.

I obviously don't recommend A, as that's just not cool.

As for B, discuss it with your opponent and ask if you can, then if they are hesitant offer them a 'benefit of the doubt' card, so that when you aren't sure of something later in the game, instead of spending ages looking up the rule in question you give him the benefit of the doubt, plus offer to give him a fake rule that gives one of his units a big advantage as well.

Anything goes with house rules, but you have to know your opponent. If they are happy to go with it, it's fine, but don't press the issue if it looks like they are uncomfortable with it.

 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Xandermacleod,
I can think of a few Rules which allow a dice to be re-rolled multiple times, legally.
Don't know if any of them is outside of the 'when rolling on this table, re-roll all duplicate results' instructions though.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/02 18:28:23


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

JinxDragon wrote:
Xandermacleod,
I can think of a few Rules which allow a dice to be re-rolled multiple times, legally.
All of them are along the lines of 'when rolling on this table, re-roll all duplicate results.'

Except it usually doesn't use the term 'reroll', but 'roll again'.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge




Illegal.
/thread
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




i38steelrain wrote:
Cant seem to find this question answered. If it is please let me know where or please let me know the answer.

Ill make this quick, Pask is in my punisher so he gets preferred enemy. Can I augment that with twin linked by using a psyker? If so what do I roll First. My thinking is....roll 20 dice anything below 3 gets rerolled, then from those, reroll any 1s. Is this legal? I used it last week and it was guaranteeing about 18 wounds on my friends guard blob but we both just wanted to see how it did. We werent sure if it was allowed.

Im reposting this because I posted it on the wrong thread earlier but, I did get what seems like a pretty clear response from someone that the answer was on pg11 of the brb. but when i looked im not really seeing where it says this is illegal. im assuming this is because I have the ebook and the pages arent the same although i did rereead the dice section..

Who has the 40k shenanigans that allow me to do this?




Do you really want to make Missilesides that much nastier than they already are? And yes e-book paging is different for every reader. page numbers are really only valid for the dead tree.
   
Made in gb
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

i38steelrain wrote:
What im looking for is the shenanigans to let me do this. There must be away around that.
Words fail me... this is... sickening.

No, there is no way around it.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

F F S, JUST reroll one time. Either 1's sans psyker with PE, OR reroll all miss's with prescience.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Ghaz,
Quite possible, might have gotten so use to the Duel Terminology that I over-look when it isn't in play at times.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: