Switch Theme:

2 Questions regarding Invisibility  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Infiltrating Broodlord




UK

Question 1.

Can you stomp attack a unit that you have cast Invisibility on?


Question 2.

Can a Blast template scatter onto a unit that you have casted Invisibility on?

Both came up in a game me and a mate just played so I am curious on what other peoples opinions are on how this works.

FYI I would probably say yes to both ( even though it wasn't in my favour when it happened) as i couldnt find any ruling against either!

thanks in advance!
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






not looked at how stomp attacks work yet, but the scattering blast can certainly hit them, as long as they're not flying.

12,300 points of Orks
9th W/D/L with Orks, 4/0/2
I am Thoruk, the Barbarian, Slayer of Ducks, and This is my blog!

I'm Selling Infinity, 40k, dystopian wars, UK based!

I also make designs for t-shirts and mugs and such on Redbubble! 
   
Made in gb
Infiltrating Broodlord




UK

how come certainly? is there a certain rule?
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






Invisibility just restricts you from targeting them with template weapons.

If the blast scatters onto them it hits like normal.


Stomp should work, as you are already engaged with them in melee and it doesn target them as a unit. It just gets placed at the foot of the superheavy walker and works almost like a multiple barrage.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Blast markers may scatter onto invisable units but you still wont be able to resolve any wounds against them.

Stomp is auto hit, in combat, so it is fine.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Noise Marine Terminator with Sonic Blaster





Moon Township, PA

MarkyMark wrote:
Blast markers may scatter onto invisable units but you still wont be able to resolve any wounds against them.

Stomp is auto hit, in combat, so it is fine.


Why would it not inflict wounds? Blast markers and templates do not work against flyers because it specifically says it cannot hit them. Invisibility simply says you cannot target them.


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Whats the process for resolving wounds from blast markers.

You count how many models under the template and they are hit, are these snap shots? No, therefore any hits are wasted.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




MarkyMark wrote:
Blast markers may scatter onto invisable units but you still wont be able to resolve any wounds against them.

Stomp is auto hit, in combat, so it is fine.

Rules ref to why you wouldnt wound them? I see a restriction on targetting, but nothing further
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant





Plymouth

the restriction is on targeting. for example a mawloc deepstrikes in using TFTD he does not target the unit at all but if he cannot sdafely enter including the breaking of the standard 1" rule, he places upto 2 large blasts hitting everything under said templates. the unit has not been targeted and therefor is still hit and wounded as normal under the template rules for calculating the number of models hit

   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





So you guys are reading it as target unit for shooting attacks, rather then target unit for the spell.

The spell states you target a friendly unit, and that only snap shots can hit the target unit.

To me that reads the target unit is in reference to the power, not to the shooting attack.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





MarkyMark wrote:
So you guys are reading it as target unit for shooting attacks, rather then target unit for the spell.

The spell states you target a friendly unit, and that only snap shots can hit the target unit.

To me that reads the target unit is in reference to the power, not to the shooting attack.

No, they're reading the snap shot rules which only prevent *targeting* a unit with a blast if you have to fire snap shots.

There's no rule preventing resolving a blast if you must fire snap shots.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




MarkyMark wrote:
So you guys are reading it as target unit for shooting attacks, rather then target unit for the spell.

The spell states you target a friendly unit, and that only snap shots can hit the target unit.

To me that reads the target unit is in reference to the power, not to the shooting attack.

But as you said - Hit, not Wound.

Your blast has scattered and Hit, creating Wounds. You were not targetted, so the Hit is still counted, so why are you now saying the wounds would be discarded?
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: