Switch Theme:

Weapons with multiple firing modes and Monstrous Creatures:  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord






So, while reading through the new rulebook I came across this:

If a weapon can fire in more than one mode, or can fire more than one type of ammo, select weapon mode/ammo type - treat weapons firing in different modes/ammo types as differently named weapons. (page 30)


Does this mean a monstrous creature with a multiple firing mode weapon (such as the Miasma Cannon, Ion Accelerator, Bioplasmic Cannon, etc.) can shoot both modes in a single turn as two different weapons? It doesn't sound right, but there doesn't appear to be anything that says otherwise...
   
Made in gb
Malicious Mutant Scum




Belfast, Northern Ireland

I would say that means as MCs can fire two weapons, they can fire two ammo types or modes, yes. That's just as it reads though, I'm assuming this is meant for the likes of multiple combi weapons in a unit however so I would expect an FAQ in the future.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/02 10:14:18


 
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





It sounds like this is meant for how the weapons allocation now works in 7e, but how it is written sounds like it would allow them to fire both modes.

I feel like there is something we are missing in this.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It means that, when you come to group all named weapons together, treat "Missile launcher - frag" as differently named from "Missile launcher - krak"

It does not mean you get to fire the missile launcher weapon twice.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: