Switch Theme:

Harbinger and staffs  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Been Around the Block




It says "any number of crypteks that are in a royal court can be upgraded to a single, specific type of harbinger. Whilst you can have any number of harbingers of a specific type, each of the harbinger's unique wargear options can only be chosen once in each Royal Court"

And as all harbingers of the storm come with voltaic staffs doesn't that mean I could have 5 harbingers of the storm with the voltaic staff in a royal court?

I think it is obvious it means I can but my friend says I cant so I want you people to clarify
   
Made in us
Thane of Dol Guldur




Yes, you are reading it correctly.
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block




My friend wants me to post all of it, my point is it doesn't say you have a choice once upgraded to that harbinger as it would say it may take the staff like it says may for the other stuff

"Upgrade to harbinger of the storm exchanging staff of light for voltaic staff
May then take any of the following:
........"
   
Made in us
Thane of Dol Guldur




There actually used to be an FAQ specifically to clear this up, but its not in the 7th ed Necron FAQ.

The point is, "you can have any number of harbingers of a specific type" implies you can have 5 Voltaic staves, because you make a harbinger of a specific type by buying him a staff of one kind or another....you have to do this.

The unique wargear is the "extra" stuff. The stuff under "May then take any of the following:"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/02 17:06:40


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Veggieburgess wrote:
My friend wants me to post all of it, my point is it doesn't say you have a choice once upgraded to that harbinger as it would say it may take the staff like it says may for the other stuff

"Upgrade to harbinger of the storm exchanging staff of light for voltaic staff
May then take any of the following:
........"

The voltaic staff is not unique wargear.
The only restriction is on unique wargear.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker




South Chicago burbs

You are correct.

I take a slightly different stance on why however.

The cryptek entry says each of the harbingers unique wargear OPTIONS may only be chosen once in each royal court.

And arguement could be made that the voltaic staff is unique to harbingers of the storm and thus can only have one. However, it says unique wargear OPTIONS, and the voltaic staff is not optional. You must swap your staff of light with it.

The optional wargear for each type of cryptek is listed, and is limited to 1 per royal court.

insaniak wrote:
YMDC has plenty of room for discussion veering away from the RAW, particularly in cases like this where what is being put forward as the RAW is absurd.

11k
4K
4k
 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block




Thankyou, my friend still remains on his stance but this helps me know I am right and I will use them when I want whether I want to or not
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

For what it's worth, here is what the old FAQ said on the matter:

Q: If a Royal Court contains more than one Cryptek from the same Harbinger, will they all have the weapon upgrade or can only one have it? (p90)
A: They must all have the weapon upgrade of their harbinger. Only the optional wargear is unique.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block




Thanks, now he has no way to argue im not allowed it
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Veggieburgess wrote:
Thanks, now he has no way to argue im not allowed it

Except for the fact that it's an out of date FAQ for 6th edition.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block




Yeah but until 7th makes a new FAQ stating otherwise then it's a rule
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Veggieburgess wrote:
Yeah but until 7th makes a new FAQ stating otherwise then it's a rule

Where does it say that out of date FAQs are still valid?

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Thane of Dol Guldur




You don't need no stinking FAQ.

Exhibit A: "Any number of Crypteks that are in a Royal can be upgraded to a single, specific type of Harbinger. Whilst you can have any number of Harbingers of a specific type..."

Exhibit B: "Upgrade to Harbinger of the Storm, exchanging staff of light for voltaic staff*... free / May then take any of the following..."

A is not possible unless B allows more than 1 model to upgrade to voltaic staffs. Upgrading to this or that staff is the only way to make a Harbinger, and the rule clearly states that you can have any number of Harbingers of a specific type.

So in this case, I think the FAQ was just clarifying RAW. The RAW give you enough to go on as is with no need for an FAQ.


This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/06/02 22:12:01


 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block




I know the FAQ was not necessary but my friend is extremely stubborn despite extreme clarity from codex
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: