Switch Theme:

Assaulting out of a deep striking Monolith on the same turn [RAW]  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Water-Caste Negotiator




Assume you have infantry unit 'A' and a Monolith in reserve. 'A' Starts the game on the board, the Monolith starts in reserve. Turn 1 passes and turn 2 now starts. You roll for reserves and the Monolith deep strikes in. As per the Necron FAQ the Monolith uses the portal to 'disembark' (quotes used because the rule in the Monolith entry uses them) 'A'.

The question that arises is can 'A' declare and attempt a charge?

The only rule against assaulting when deep striking is concerned (that I am aware of) would be deep striking rules page 162, deep strike section, column 3, Paragraph 1

I argue that they can in fact declare and attempt a charge based on two things.
1) Unit 'A' has not deep struck that turn, thus the rules for Deep Strike do not apply directly to them.
2) I submit that the Monolith is not a Transport (no transport capacity, and no rule stating it is), and thus the part that prevents units from disembarking from transports does not trigger.

Thoughts? And I'm looking for RAW, not RAI or HIWPI. I play in a very competitive group who is very RAW / WAAC.

If Bruce Lee is advocate and does kick someone between the legs in a fight, why would I be to good to do it?

My fighting style: Hit em hard, hit em fast, hit em where it hurts, hit em where they can't see you or hit back.

It's funny how everyone wants their opponent list to be fun to play against and yet their own playlists are often tough as nails and impossible to modify.-Q'iq'el on ATT
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Alaska

Deep strike rules are only half of it, you also need to read the reserve rules. They arrived out of reserve and cannot assault.
   
Made in us
Water-Caste Negotiator




Agtthot wrote:
Deep strike rules are only half of it, you also need to read the reserve rules. They arrived out of reserve and cannot assault.


That's why I stated that unit 'A' Starts the game on the field. They have not arrived from reserve, but have been on the board for a full turn.

If Bruce Lee is advocate and does kick someone between the legs in a fight, why would I be to good to do it?

My fighting style: Hit em hard, hit em fast, hit em where it hurts, hit em where they can't see you or hit back.

It's funny how everyone wants their opponent list to be fun to play against and yet their own playlists are often tough as nails and impossible to modify.-Q'iq'el on ATT
 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





They also count as disembarking from a vehicle, which you can't assault after doing unless it was an assault/open-topped vehicle which the monolith is not.
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

the weasel king wrote:
Assume you have infantry unit 'A' and a Monolith in reserve. 'A' Starts the game on the board, the Monolith starts in reserve. Turn 1 passes and turn 2 now starts. You roll for reserves and the Monolith deep strikes in. As per the Necron FAQ the Monolith uses the portal to 'disembark' (quotes used because the rule in the Monolith entry uses them) 'A'.

The question that arises is can 'A' declare and attempt a charge?

The only rule against assaulting when deep striking is concerned (that I am aware of) would be deep striking rules page 162, deep strike section, column 3, Paragraph 1

I argue that they can in fact declare and attempt a charge based on two things.
1) Unit 'A' has not deep struck that turn, thus the rules for Deep Strike do not apply directly to them.
2) I submit that the Monolith is not a Transport (no transport capacity, and no rule stating it is), and thus the part that prevents units from disembarking from transports does not trigger.

Thoughts? And I'm looking for RAW, not RAI or HIWPI. I play in a very competitive group who is very RAW / WAAC.


Your point 2 is 100% wrong, and is explicitly spelled out in the Necron codex. The last sentence of the Dimensional Corridor rules: "... but the move is otherwise treated exactly as disembarking from a vehicle that has moved combat speed."

What is one thing you can't do after disembarking from a vehicle that has moved combat speed? Declare an assault. You'd need some other special rule (such as Assault Vehicle or Open Topped) to get around it.
   
Made in us
Water-Caste Negotiator




Alright, so I missed the paragraph on Page 81 under the section Disembarkation restrictions.

Too bad, that makes the monolith completely useless to me. You can't just not assault that turn, but on any turn you disembark no matter how long the Monolith is on.

Back to the drawing board for half my army. Maybe Veilteks instead...

If Bruce Lee is advocate and does kick someone between the legs in a fight, why would I be to good to do it?

My fighting style: Hit em hard, hit em fast, hit em where it hurts, hit em where they can't see you or hit back.

It's funny how everyone wants their opponent list to be fun to play against and yet their own playlists are often tough as nails and impossible to modify.-Q'iq'el on ATT
 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

They make decent 'anchors' for Unbound 'Reserve' based armies, very few things can one shot a Monolith.


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine







the weasel king wrote:
Alright, so I missed the paragraph on Page 81 under the section Disembarkation restrictions.

Too bad, that makes the monolith completely useless to me. You can't just not assault that turn, but on any turn you disembark no matter how long the Monolith is on.

Back to the drawing board for half my army. Maybe Veilteks instead...



They are hardly useless. Deepstrike in the middle of the board, then move large blocks of Warriors to glance to death any vehicle or fortification that is giving you trouble. Due to its durability, you should be able to rinse and repeat a couple of turns. Also, this is great for claiming Tactical Objectives if you are playing Maelstrom of War missions.
   
Made in gb
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!





Plop a Monolith facing each objective, then safely shuffle Warrior blobs between them as Tactical objectives requires.

Also pretty sure Veilteks won't solve your problem, as you arrive via deepstrike using them, and no unit can assault from deepstrike.

Death Korps of Krieg Siege Army 1500 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Agtthot wrote:
Deep strike rules are only half of it, you also need to read the reserve rules. They arrived out of reserve and cannot assault.


Lol nailed it.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






God In Action wrote:
Plop a Monolith facing each objective, then safely shuffle Warrior blobs between them as Tactical objectives requires.

Also pretty sure Veilteks won't solve your problem, as you arrive via deepstrike using them, and no unit can assault from deepstrike.


stormboys can! (for a week or so)

but no, necrons can't charge out of a monolith. they can unleash enormous amounts of dakka though. they're also good for moving a squad of 20 warriors 12" in the first turn to get into range (monolith moves 6", warriors get out 6"). you've also got the ability to bring a rather scary unit in behind the enemy and draw all their firepower off your main force. you can also make it "obvious " that they are a distraction and make the opponent "foil your plan " by ignoring them. then get charged next turn for their trouble

works well for wraiths. pop out, exile ray, then next turn assault.

12,300 points of Orks
9th W/D/L with Orks, 4/0/2
I am Thoruk, the Barbarian, Slayer of Ducks, and This is my blog!

I'm Selling Infinity, 40k, dystopian wars, UK based!

I also make designs for t-shirts and mugs and such on Redbubble! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: