Switch Theme:

Apocalypse Formations  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Hey all,

Walked into a conversation last night, where a group of players were talking about formations. One of the power gamers laid out his plan to run an Apocalypse formation in his next list. Pointing out that in the 7th ed rulebook, it does not explicitly say you can not take Apocalypse formations.

After checking the three Nid's dataslates they all have the following:

"If a Formation is referred to as an Apocalypse Formation, it can only be used in games of Warhammer 40,000: Apocalypse."

But sure enough the new rulebook does not have this line.

So is he correct in assuming he can run Apoc formations in a standard game?
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration





The rules don't say that I don't auto win turn 1 either.

Apoc is still a separate expansion. Apoc formations are not allowed by the simple logic that the rule book doesn't authorize their use.

------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect 
   
Made in us
Thane of Dol Guldur




Yeah, I'd think you'd need to get your opponent's permission before fielding Apoc formations...I don't see anything in the BRB that states you can take Apoc formations, and Apoc is technically a different game.

But RAW you need your opponents permission to do anything....
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: