Switch Theme:

1W Psyker cast Possession successfully, suffers a perils. Does he die and the spell fail?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

Pretty simple question. Does this happen?

Assuming that the Psychic test was successful and any Deny the Witch test failed, the psychic power still manifests, regardless of whether or not the Psyker in question suffers a Wound or is slain by Perils of the Warp.

The Spell in question:

Possession is a conjuration with a range of 6" that creates one of the following new units (your choice): 1 Bloodthirster, 1 Lord of Change, 1 Great Unclean One or 1 Keeper of Secrets. Rules for these units can be found in Codex: Chaos Daemons. If this power is successfully manifested, the Psyker is immediately removed as a casualty (if the Psyker was part of a unit with the Brotherhood of Psykers/Sorcerers special rule, remove the entire unit as casualties). If, when using this power, the Psyker fails his Psychic test, he automatically suffers Perils of the Warp.


I actually think it is intended to work this way, IE you suffer a perils and die the spell still resolves.

This isn't magic the gathering there's not " stack" or spell order or whatever you want to call it. It's not a "neccessary component of this spell to have the psyker present".

So yeah what do you think? I'm 50/50 and can't decide so putting it out there for the hounds.

My argument for : Well first off if you actually read it in order, the Daemon Model is placed with in 6 inches then you remove the Psyker

Argument against : There's no psyker to remove, a good example would be Witchfire, if a Psyker does a perils on witchfire and dies. Does it happen ?

The order says that you resovle Perils IMMEDIATELY there's no psyker to measure from if he's dead.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/03 21:49:32


If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Psychic abilities still happen even if the caster perils away his or her last wound. As you've quoted:

"...the psychic power still manifests, regardless of whether or not the Psyker in question suffers a Wound or is slain by Perils of the Warp..."
   
Made in au
Trustworthy Shas'vre






I asked this question on release day, I think the answer is that yes it does work. Removing the psyker is an effect, not a requirement (though gw rules aren't really strict enough for that distinction to matter). I'm not sure what the intent was.

A more interesting question is what happens in the daemon has the Warp Tether gift...
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: