Switch Theme:

Challenges Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Morphing Obliterator






Can models outside of a challenge allocate wounds into it if all other opponents are dead (or there are no other opponents to begin with)?

In a game last night I had a unit of warp talons and a chaos lord in combat with a chapter master and a tactical squad. My aspiring champion was fighting the CM in a challenge and the chaos lord killed the last of the tacticals before the warp talons attacked.

So could the rest of the warp talons have attacked the chapter master fighting the challenge with my champion?

I know that challenge wounds overspill onto the unit, so does it work the other way around as well?

Chaos Space Marines - Iron Warriors & Night Lords 7900pts

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes. Explicitly covered in the rules.
   
Made in gb
Morphing Obliterator






The problem my opponent and I had was that it says wounds carried over go into the challenge.

I said that wounds cannot be generated without hits meaning that my guys could attack into the challenge but he argued this saying it says wounds not attacks are carried over so my warp talons would be uselessly hacking at the dead corpses of the tactical squad.

In the end we rolled a d6 for it (I lost the roll off) and we are trying to find an official answer.

Chaos Space Marines - Iron Warriors & Night Lords 7900pts

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




The warp talons are locked in combat, they are engaged in combat. Thus they meet the requirements of "who can attack".

   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Outside forces rule iirc says can allocate wound into the challenge after al other combatants are dead. So as I read it they can attack in once all his buds are dead. Even if they are not there. No more hiding in challenges to avoid being shot. There's a greater chance to die.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

The rule even covers no enemy models when it says "(if any)".

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: