Switch Theme:

Markerlights effect snapshots in 7ed?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block





Just read somewhere that only things that specifically say they effect snap shots do now, do markerlights fit in this category?

 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Possibly. If it does, it would say in the Tau codex.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





marker lights specifically state that they can be used for over-watch and snap shots. Furthermore, the rule that states you can't use your own markerlight is worded in such a way, as you can in 7th....

"note that as markerlight counters are removed from the target beore the shootig attack is made, it is impossible for a unit to benefit from its own markerlights"

except now, you'd resolve the markerlight completely... applying the token, and the token *will* be there when the unit fires it's other weapons, as all weapons are no longer fired simultaneously. Completely negating networked markerlights as a buff.. so.... yea.
   
Made in au
Liche Priest Hierophant







The way I see it, the "impossible for a unit to benefit from its own markerlights" bit still means the unit can't.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





except the sentence doesn't say that. It says to note that the order of events prevents it..... but it no longer does.
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre






Read all of the relevant rules again, you most certainly can't use your own Markerlight. Quite clear.

40k is 100% Skill +/- 50% Luck

Zagman's 40k Balance Errata 
   
Made in us
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun





Nebraska, USA

Units cannot benefit from their own markerlights unless they are Networked, which iirc outside FW is only the Skyray that has that.

Markerlights can indeed buff snapshots and overwatch, the codex specifically says this. It does however say it still counts as a snapshot, so you cannot fire blasts even though your BS is increased.

Yes, per the new shooting rules you could potentially fire the markerlights first and the lights will be there, since you resolve all guns one by one including wounds and saves (if any) before moving on. Except it says a unit cannot benefit from their own markerlights....in the codex which trumps BRB. Networked ignores that, but like i said thats FW stuff or Skyrays that do that.

An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.

14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys 
   
Made in il
Warplord Titan Princeps of Tzeentch






The sunshark has networked markers too.

As for if you can benefit from your own marks...it actually requires a bit reading into, its not clear-cut ATM, as the limitation is written as a "note" of how things works, but as it was the way they worked in the 6th BRB, and in 7th your regular lights work pretty similar to networked ones.

It will probably be FAQed to be not allowed if they bother to FAQ it, but as it stands, its not quite clear-cut.

can neither confirm nor deny I lost track of what I've got right now. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





 BoomWolf wrote:
The sunshark has networked markers too.

As for if you can benefit from your own marks...it actually requires a bit reading into, its not clear-cut ATM, as the limitation is written as a "note" of how things works, but as it was the way they worked in the 6th BRB, and in 7th your regular lights work pretty similar to networked ones.

It will probably be FAQed to be not allowed if they bother to FAQ it, but as it stands, its not quite clear-cut.


^This.

I have read all the relevant rules. It doesn't flat out say you can't. It gives a note pointing out that since you have to remove the token before taking the shot, the token won't be there before the unit shoots. That is no longer the case. The codex isn't trumping anything. That said..... Reading it this way, I'm fairly certain that the markerlight tokens would only apply to one single shooting attack from the unit. While this wouldn't always matter, in the case of broadsides or anything else firing multiple weapons in one turn, it could. I intend to simply allow tau to chose which interpretation they want to use. And when playing tau I'll allow my opponent to chose. easy enough.
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre






 BoomWolf wrote:
The sunshark has networked markers too.

As for if you can benefit from your own marks...it actually requires a bit reading into, its not clear-cut ATM, as the limitation is written as a "note" of how things works, but as it was the way they worked in the 6th BRB, and in 7th your regular lights work pretty similar to networked ones.

It will probably be FAQed to be not allowed if they bother to FAQ it, but as it stands, its not quite clear-cut.


How so. Shooting Phase tells us to nominate a unit to shoot, choose a target, then pick a weapon and resolve it. Target Acquired tells us to use Markerlight Tokens before a unit shoots. You can not use them in the middle of a units shooting, because as soon as one model shoots, the unit has shot, even though it isn't finished shooting.

If that wasn't clear enough, under target acquired it states, "Units cannot use tokens from their own Markerlights." That isn't a not, not an sola nation, but a hard and fast rule. Period.

40k is 100% Skill +/- 50% Luck

Zagman's 40k Balance Errata 
   
Made in us
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun





Nebraska, USA

Whether it says "note" or not is irrelevant. It still says straight up

"Note that as markerlight counters are removed from the target before the shooting attack is made, it is impossible for a unit to benefit from its own markerlights"

Theres no way you can weasel that in to let you use your own markerlights in the same unit. It still straight up says a unit cannot benefit from their own markerlights.

You dont ignore a paragraph of a rule in a CODEX because the BRB change caused a conflict, unless it is faq'd/eratta'd to do so. Codex trumps brb, dont care if i shoot my weapons after completely resolving the markerlights, its still the same unit thus cannot use them.

Also this really should be in YMDC

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/06/07 17:57:31


An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.

14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





In this case the word as is being used as because. so to translate it to easier to understand : Because the token isn't there yet, you can't remove it to use it when you shoot. This statement is no longer true by the new rules.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





Ok, how about the issue where your unit charges a group of tau, and like 3 squads shoot back, in that case I'm guessing the other 2 squads would get to take advantage of the first squads marker lights?

 
   
Made in ca
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk




Toronto, Canada

The reference page (104 in the Tau codex) doesn't say "note". It just flat out prohibits units from using counters from their own markerlights.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: