Switch Theme:

units utilizing their own marker lights  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





The rule on markerlights reads "Note that as markerlight counters are removed from the target before the shooting attack is made, it is impossible for a unit to benefit from it's own markerlights."

This is no longer the case. Not all shooting attacks are made simultaniously, so it is entirely possible to resolve a markerlight shot, and then resolve your shooting attack.... and the markerlight token will be there to remove.

Am I missing something or did markerlights just turn into networked markerlights?
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre






Nope.

You still declare a unit to shoot. You may fire each weapon type and resolve them in order, but the Target Acquired Markerlight Special rules clearly requires you to use Markerlight Tokens before the Unit Shoots.

It is absolutely impossible to use your own standard Markerlight. The quoted rule is still absolutely correct.


40k is 100% Skill +/- 50% Luck

Zagman's 40k Balance Errata 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




As Zagman said... in addition, if marker lights worked the way you suggest emmagine, (i.e. you could use them after firing within the same unit to apply them to a different weapons shots) then they would then be limited to each type of weapon they are pulled for. (I.e. only the pulse rifles, or only the Smart Missile Systems etc, if you had multible guns in a unit you could only use the markerlight bonus on any one type)
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





chanceafs wrote:
As Zagman said... in addition, if marker lights worked the way you suggest emmagine, (i.e. you could use them after firing within the same unit to apply them to a different weapons shots) then they would then be limited to each type of weapon they are pulled for. (I.e. only the pulse rifles, or only the Smart Missile Systems etc, if you had multible guns in a unit you could only use the markerlight bonus on any one type)


I like this answer. "Before a unit shoots" could be interpreted to mean each weapon very easily. Zagman, you've added verbage to your rule quote that completely changes its interpretation. Doing that always weakens your argument severly. Just fyi
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Ya but the tau codex is clear on this. paraphrasing if you have a networked marker light than yes, if not your unit cannot benefit from its own markerlights. Current iirc the only unit that has network markerlights is the skyray.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in il
Warplord Titan Princeps of Tzeentch






The RAW is not very clear-cut on the subject, due to 7th changes.

The RAI however, is very obvious that markerlights do not assists own unit unless networked.

can neither confirm nor deny I lost track of what I've got right now. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I agree. 90% of my arguments here are so that I can make a strong cases when playing. my tau haven't seen the table in a good 7 months. I've been focusing on eldar. But with so many people playing tau around here, I'm anticipating the discussion. I like the option of giving them the choice between "sure, but then you can only use it for one weapon group" or "play it the old way".
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






as it's declared before they shoot, do they have to decide how they are using the tokens before firing anything?

IE if a skyray chooses to fire his missiles as seekers, using 2 tokens, would he not be able to decide whether to boost his other guns BS after seeing if they seekers worked?

this came up in a game, he fired seeker missiles, rolled snake eyes, then decided to boost the BS on his front guns afterwards. should he have declared it before firing anything?

12,300 points of Orks
9th W/D/L with Orks, 4/0/2
I am Thoruk, the Barbarian, Slayer of Ducks, and This is my blog!

I'm Selling Infinity, 40k, dystopian wars, UK based!

I also make designs for t-shirts and mugs and such on Redbubble! 
   
Made in gb
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot





He should have declared any token usage from other units first, then fired the networked markerlights, then declared if he was going to use them and how before rolling any other dice. As soon as you have rolled a to-hit dice you cannot change your mind on how many tokens you use or what effect they will have
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: