Switch Theme:

7th ed grenades  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Pauper with Promise



Canada

I apologize if this has been asked before.

Is my reading of the 7th edition rules correct when I understand them to say only 1 model can use a grenade in each phase, that is one model can use one in the shooting phase and another one model can use a grenade in the fight sub phase? (For at total of only 2 grenades being used each player turn)

Please advise.

Thnx

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/09 20:07:49


 
   
Made in us
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge




Brooklyn, NY

I cannot speak for 7th ed, as I am still on 6th. In 6th, on pg. 61 of the BRB it says that only one grenade per unit per shooting phase may be used. In the assault phase, each model with an assault grenade (such as a Krak) may use it.

My suspicion is that, like in 6th, 7th will specify this in the section that describes grenades.
   
Made in fr
Repentia Mistress





Santuary 101

I believe you are right, Grel777.

I just read the line that you quoted from of 178. It does indeed seem so. That means if I have a melta bomb and I do use it, I can't even use my krak grenades as well. Quite a buff to vehicles again, it seems?

Edit

Page 180, sorry.
First paragraph, last sentence which is also in bold.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/09 20:21:06


DS:70+S+G+M-B--IPw40k94-D+++A++/wWD380R+T(D)DM+

Avatar scene by artist Nicholas Kay. Give credit where it's due! 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Only one model may throw a grenade per unit per phase. The mechanics of throwing a grenade is described in each grenade's entry.

Note that using a grenade in assault is never described as "throwing" it.
   
Made in fr
Repentia Mistress





Santuary 101

 Cheexsta wrote:
Only one model may throw a grenade per unit per phase. The mechanics of throwing a grenade is described in each grenade's entry.

Note that using a grenade in assault is never described as "throwing" it.


This is true as well, because the following paragraphs mention clamping it in assault.

I think it is confusing because the did mention the fight sub phase as an example, before the sentence in bold. If taken as RAW, and grenades in assault are clamped and not thrown, then it goes back to what it was before.

DS:70+S+G+M-B--IPw40k94-D+++A++/wWD380R+T(D)DM+

Avatar scene by artist Nicholas Kay. Give credit where it's due! 
   
Made in ca
Pauper with Promise



Canada

 Cheexsta wrote:
Only one model may throw a grenade per unit per phase. The mechanics of throwing a grenade is described in each grenade's entry.

Note that using a grenade in assault is never described as "throwing" it.



Yes, I think that is my problem. How to use grenades in the fight sub-phase is not described at all. It is presumed. It is greatly left open for interpretation. Throwing grenades is detailed for the shooting phase and clamping types of grenades is detailed, but a line like "a unit can only throw one grenade per phase" need some explaining IMO.

Than you all so far for your input.


 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






"A model can use such a grenade as a Melee weapon, but can only ever make one attack, regardless of the number of Attacks on its profile or any bonuses."

That is the bold text for "VEHICLES, GUN EMPLACEMENTS AND MONSTROUS CREATURES" subheading, and it couldn't be more clear.

You do not need any extra special rules for using Grenades in close combat because the model uses them as melee weapons. The rules then go on to tell you that those models using them only get 1 attack in the assault phase.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in ca
Pauper with Promise



Canada

Thank you all for your patients. I think I am getting it.

Comparing the the way the rules for grenades are written in both editions there has been some changes but not as drastically I I first thought.

Very cool.
Thanks

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: