Switch Theme:

Can battle brothers start the game on allied transports  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench






Can battle brothers start out embarked on an allied transport? The rules say that they can embark but it doesn't specify about starting the game embarked.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
For example, I'm thinking 3 wolf guard in terminator armour jumping out of a vendetta. Doable to start them out there?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/10 06:19:04


 
   
Made in fr
Repentia Mistress





Santuary 101

Is the Valkyrie bought as a dedicated transport always? I don't have the AM codex. If it is always a dedicated transport, it can only carry the unit it was bought with I believe.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
A pity. A penitent engine in a drop pod would be so nice. :p

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/10 07:00:10


DS:70+S+G+M-B--IPw40k94-D+++A++/wWD380R+T(D)DM+

Avatar scene by artist Nicholas Kay. Give credit where it's due! 
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench






Nope. Valkyrie and vendettas are just vehicles with transport capacities. Not dedicated. They are fast attack choices.
   
Made in fr
Repentia Mistress





Santuary 101

Well, then it seems like it'll work. I checked the "preparing for a battle" section and they only mentioned combined reserve units on pg 135. Which seem to allow it, if combined with the rule that BB can embark on transports. If Valkyries can take terminator armour, then I guess it's a go.

DS:70+S+G+M-B--IPw40k94-D+++A++/wWD380R+T(D)DM+

Avatar scene by artist Nicholas Kay. Give credit where it's due! 
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




Warrington, UK

Allied characters can still go on dedicated transports as long as there is space during deployment.

Website: http://www.northernwarlords.co.uk

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/northernwarlords

Dark Eldar 35,000pts
Craftworld Eldar 27,500pts
+ 10,000pts of Ynnari, Corsairs & Harlequins 
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench






I think I'm good as well. All it says in terms of terminator armor is that they can't embark on a Rhino or razorback but it makes no mention of any other types of transports nor does it say anything about the only transports they CAN ride in, just the two that they can't. Yay!
   
Made in gb
Human Auxiliary to the Empire





doncaster - UK

We played yesterday as "can't start embarked" wasn't too much of a problem, hid the tantalus in cover, first turn banshees jumped in and zoomed over and into the fray.

Wording is a little. . . iffy but so are some of the other wordings in that book.

What needs to be clarified is when exactly is a unit classed as "Embarking" a vehicle, i mean, surely when a unit is deployed and you declare what units are in what, the unit is actually embarked.

TL;DR - Wordings iffy, embarking at first turn isn't bad just.. . .seems pointless
   
Made in au
Missionary On A Mission




Australia

If it's a Dedicated Transport, then only the unit that it was bought for can start the game deployed inside it.

If its a Fast Attack/Heavy Support etc vehicle with transport capabilities then any unit can start the game deployed inside, subject to normal embarkation rules (ie only Infantry models, only Battle Brothers and so on)


 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

GoonBandito wrote:
If it's a Dedicated Transport, then only the unit that it was bought for can start the game deployed inside it.


This is almost universally true, but there is (to my knowledge) one exception: the Dais of Destruction. It's a DT purchased for an IC, which lists a requirement to carry more than just the IC during deployment. (And any unit will work, so BB are fine.)

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





As long as the IC joins the unit that starts inside it, that's fine.
Just like a 5 man SM unit could be joined by ICs in a Rhino they bought.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
The Marine Standing Behind Marneus Calgar





Upstate, New York

I was just researching this for a friend (although he wants to load some SoB into a vendetta) and could find nothing that made it look illegal. Was about to start a thread here asking for second opinions.

All sorts of things are going to start flying the unfriendly skies...

   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Battle Brothers are considered friendly units for all rules purposes. The list of bullet points in the Allies section is not exhaustive - it actually tells you that those are only examples.

So yes, you absolutely can start embarked in a Battle Brother's transport.
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




Warrington, UK

IC's only can be joined to the unit who the dedicated transport belongs to, you cant take some random unit and start them in the dedicated transport, the rulebook clearly states this on page 82.

Also if you look at the deployment rules it states that deployment also includes "deploying" into reserves so you cant deploy the squad on the table and stick another random unit it in.

If you want to use a dedicated transport you would have to stick it on the board empty and jump your guys in it turn 1.

Website: http://www.northernwarlords.co.uk

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/northernwarlords

Dark Eldar 35,000pts
Craftworld Eldar 27,500pts
+ 10,000pts of Ynnari, Corsairs & Harlequins 
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench






We're not talking about dedicated transports. Just allied vehicles with transport capacity.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/16 14:33:36


 
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




Warrington, UK

Simple answer in that case is yes.

Website: http://www.northernwarlords.co.uk

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/northernwarlords

Dark Eldar 35,000pts
Craftworld Eldar 27,500pts
+ 10,000pts of Ynnari, Corsairs & Harlequins 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: