Switch Theme:

Last Man Standing in Close Combat  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Phanobi





Paso Robles, CA, USA

Stelek,

I'm going to direct you to here: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/6158.page,

It's called, "How to have an intelligent rules debate," and it is also stickied to the top of this forum. I mean, at least Ellios is trying to make an argument instead of just saying that "There is no LMS in cc cause I say so!"

I'm totally happy saying that Moz's latest ruling (and therefore Stelek and Ellios) is right and that LMS tests are not taken while in cc but I'm agreeing due to what the RAW says, not the BS intent "argument" that Stelek made.

In the game we did as most players would do, we made a decision based upon the rules we looked up. Then later I came here to get a more in depth analysis to something that clearly isn't covered explicitly by the rules. I'm actually rather surprised this hasn't come up more often. Just FYI, it made no difference on the game we played, he already didn't have any scoring units left at the time.

Ozymandias, King of Kings

My name is Ozymandias, King of Kings.
Look on My works, Ye Mighty, and despair.

Chris Gohlinghorst wrote:Holy Space Marine on a Stick.

This conversation has even begun to boggle my internet-hardened mind.

A More Wretched Hive of Scum and Villainy 
   
Made in us
Using Inks and Washes






Stelek wrote:
Space Marine unit X has 1 man left.
At the start of your turn, you fail your LMS test and since the GW rules don't cover this 'issue' you get to fall back.
Let's say you fall back 7" and are now able to rally.
Since it's still technically start of the turn, do you get to rally automatically?
Don't you also get to move 3" as your 'rally' consolidate?
Can't you also then charge the unit that could not run you down because there was NO close combat?


Note: THIS IS NOT fething FANTASY! IT DOES NOT WORK THIS WAY IN 40K! THIS IS THE SCI FI VERSION OF WARHAMMER!


When does rallying happen compared to LMS?

Also, dude chill a little bit. It is a theory discussion that has some validity and it does happen quite frequently - one man left in a CC that passes a leadership test is not exactly an unheard off thing. Why give yourself a heartattack over a game. "F" bombin' in a non DCM forum just isn't cool or acceptable.

2014 will be the year of zero GW purchases. Kneadite instead of GS, no paints or models. 2014 will be the year I finally make the move to military models and away from miniature games. 
   
Made in us
Widowmaker






Syracuse, NY

ColonelEllios wrote:
colonelellios wrote:
Moz wrote:There's 2 parts to that statement:
1- May only make pile in moves
2- Cannot move in movement phase

Consolidate, sweeping advance, etc... already override the first part. It would be difficult to argue that they would then not override the 2nd part.


Do they override the first part? The unit is no longer "locked" if it's making any consolidation or sweeping advance movement...

In either case, sweeping advance doesn't apply because no combat has been fought!


I'm sorry, was this not good enough for you Moz? Here's a hint...it doesn't require a page number to figure out this one...


If you would even bother to participate in this discussion properly, you could read the assault rules and you might find that LOCKED status is not something that is ever explicitly removed. Sweeping advance rules explicitly detail initiating a movement (a fall back) that is not a Pile In.

Seriously, you're just wrong 2 times, intent 3, baseless conclusion once, and now an ass. Humor me here, read the relevant sections, lets not work off your memory or your desire to talk down to people who don't agree with you.


   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: