Switch Theme:

Shokk Attack Gun  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





budro wrote:Shooting is seperate from wounding. It doesn't have to tell you how to wound because the core rulebook already tells you that. The codex specific rules of the SAG misfire tells you what happens, who is hit, the S of the hit, the AP of the hit. Rolling on the misfire chart is a break from the normal shooting sequence - you don't go back to the shooting sequence after rolling on the table, you go to hits and wounds.

That is wrong.

Check the box on page 15 of the rulebook.
It reads "THE SHOOTING SEQUENCE"

Wounding, saving and removing casualties are as much part of the shooting sequence as rolling to hit.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/01/28 20:12:00


In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... 
   
Made in us
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver





whatever: my point still stands - you don't go back to the "to hit" portion of the shooting sequence once you've already determined whar/where the the shot landed and who got hit. You go on to wounds. Which we know how to do because we know the S and AP of the hits.
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







budro wrote:You know why it seems confusing? Because it's poorly written. It's not supposed to be poorly written but gamers read it and say,"what about scatter? do we still scatter?" and others say, "why wouldn't you scatter?"

It doesn't make sense when you apply scatter rolls to the results of the table because you're not supposed to. Granted by a RAW reading you do because it doesn't explictly tell you not to. (A)Which is why I asked the author of the book. And he said, "Of course not," and looked at me like I was crazy for asking.(A)
(B)Personally when I read the rules for it, it never occured to me that you would roll for scatter because it never tells you to roll for scatter. The obvious counter to that is that it also never tells you to roll to wound either.(B) Which is a straw-man argument IMO. Shooting is seperate from wounding. It doesn't have to tell you how to wound because the core rulebook already tells you that. The codex specific rules of the SAG misfire tells you what happens, who is hit, the S of the hit, the AP of the hit. Rolling on the misfire chart is a break from the normal shooting sequence - you don't go back to the shooting sequence after rolling on the table, you go to hits and wounds.

(---------second post--------------)

whatever: my point still stands - (C)you don't go back to the "to hit" portion of the shooting sequence once you've already determined whar/where the the shot landed and who got hit (C). You go on to wounds. Which we know how to do because we know the S and AP of the hits.


A) Well thats great but he didn't write it down.
B) BGB tell us how to play unless the codex says differently ... in the '5,6 Bzzap' case we are told that unlike normal (for templates) only the model under the hole is hit. nothing more. All template scatter, so that large blast we're holding will scatter.
C) We never got to the hit section we are currently working out the strength.
Let me demenstrate ...first lets order the rule ...
"Roll 2d6 to determine its strength after placing the template but before rolling for scatter"

1)place template
2)roll for strenth
3)roll for scatter

"If a double (or 11) is rolled for the guns strenth, consult the chart below"

... ok got to tweak the order then ...

1)place template
2)roll for strenth
2.5)double or 11 consult the chart
3)roll for scatter

done ... and if you're going to ask why the 5,5 zoink doesn't scatter the big mek? thats easy the template would still scatter but no shots were fired.
   
Made in us
Major






far away from Battle Creek, Michigan

Tri wrote:
B) BGB tell us how to play unless the codex says differently ... in the '5,6 Bzzap' case we are told that unlike normal (for templates) only the model under the hole is hit. nothing more. All template scatter, so that large blast we're holding will scatter.


...unless the Bzzap scatter hits two models in which case, according to you, we ignore the codex and just make things up--both are hit or one is hit (who chooses?), etc. Of course, if we assume the bzzap does not scatter "ONLY THE MODEL" then none of these problems arise.

PROSECUTOR: By now, there have been 34 casualties.

Elena Ceausescu says: Look, and that they are calling genocide.

 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







or we listen to you and ignore "...rolling for scatter" in the codex

... also the person allocating the wound chooses where they go so RAW it would matter that way ...
   
Made in us
Major






far away from Battle Creek, Michigan

Tri wrote:or we listen to you and ignore "...rolling for scatter" in the codex

... also the person allocating the wound chooses where they go so RAW it would matter that way ...



Well the codex says "before rolling for scatter." You left out the "before"--it does matter.

PROSECUTOR: By now, there have been 34 casualties.

Elena Ceausescu says: Look, and that they are calling genocide.

 
   
Made in us
Squishy Squig





You cant say that 5,5 doesn't scatter because it says no shot fired and then not say 1,1 doesn't scatter for the same reason. I would love to follow the brb if it made sense to follow it. If you read the rule in the Necron codex it says "any model under the hole in the middle of the Ordinance template is hit". Again the word "any" suggests that there is some doubt as to it hitting. 5,6 says, "Only the model under the hole is hit". The only time you have a template hole directly over a model is when you place it and with the roll of 5,6 that is the model than takes a str 10 hit. I still have no idea why there is any discussion on 5,6. The model under the template is hit. It can't be much clearer. Why do you feel the need to scatter when you have already been told that you hit and where the hit takes place. As I stated before the chance of it scattering directly over a model is next to impossible. I think it interesting that so many people state that you must follow the brb. Does the armies you play have any special rules in their codex? Did you have to work out how they work or did you disregard them as the brb didn't tell you how to use them. The brb is the foundation of the game. No argument as to that. We must follow the rules in the brb unless instructed otherwise. As I have stated above the codex does just that. The brb cant give us all of the rules, that is why we have codices. (That and sell more books. ). If you can show me where I'm wrong, logically, in my thinking as to how the rule works I will gladly change as that is why I posted this question.
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







... ok before rolling for scatter ...

)place template
)roll a 5 & 6 str
)Bzzap only the modle under the hole is hit
)and then roll for scatter ... hit (2/6) it stay put other wise it scatters 2d6-BS
)if 2 models are under the hole when it stops then we enter no mans land ... i say both would be hit, RAW says only one ... who evers hit it doesn't realy matter wounds are placed and removed by the other player

you can complain about it not making sence or what ever but nothing in the Bzzap rules stops the scatter ... in fact none of the effects in that chart stop the scatter they only stop the shot
   
Made in us
Squishy Squig





Ok can we agree that 3,3 & 4,4 says resolve the shot? And doesn't this seem to tell you that you continue with the brb rules?
   
Made in us
Squishy Squig





Do you plan on scattering 5,5?
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


I just wanted to re-post something that muwhe posted in another thread regarding designers making off-hand rulings:

That reminds me ... Last year with the INAT FAQ one of our more controversial rulings revolved around our interpretation of the Lash of Submission.

Phil Kelly was at AdeptiCon. I will start off saying that both Phil and Graham outstanding special guests. Both of them fantastic with our attendees and staff. We ask a number of things of our special guests depending on their role with in GW. Guest judging, playing some games, holding a seminar, etc… and both Phil and Graham handled it all with class.

Phil happened to be on the floor and got called into a Lash of Submission question. He made the call and then proceeded to come over to the main 40K judging table and told us how he called it. Explained his reasoning and was pretty firm about this position. But also was concerned that he was on the same page as the rest of the AdeptiCon rule judges. His call much to my amusement was exactly the way we had called it. So all was good. All the heat, debate, and long hours of discussion on the council to then to be vindicated by one of GW’s lead designers well frankly it felt pretty good.

Sometime after Adepticon, GW updated the Chaos FAQ/Errata and the ruling / position of Lash was completely different . So it was good while it lasted.

I have thought long about that experience. What if Phil Kelly had written the Chaos FAQ instead? Would the GW “Official” word on Lash be different? I think we as fans and players tend to think of the GW Studio as some oracle on high .. that hands down 40K rulings with the certainty of the ten commandments, everything in lock step agreement. When the reality is there is probably as much disagreement and play differences among the studio as there is within the GW community. With 5th edition we are still dealing with books written and influenced by people now long gone from the company ( Andy Chambers, Pete Haines, Gav Thorpe, ) … new faces are in the studio and working on books. All putting their mark on the games we play. But there has not been a consistent language/terminology/guidance across all the works. Jervis’s vision of 40K is greatly different that Andy’s. It has been made clear to me they are not interested in writing rules to support a tourney environment.



I too heard Phil Kelly talk about the 5,6 result not scattering, but I don't think that he understands that how he wrote the rule does not convey that meaning and to make that ruling has implications to all the other misfire rolls that still result in the weapon being fired.


And Olympia:

I understand that there is a small possibility that two (or more) models could fall under the center hole of a scattering blast at which point the rules are not clear. However this situation does not invalidate the basic logic behind following the steps for shooting. The 5,6 result requires the shooting rules to be used to determine if the model is wounded, how armor saves are resolved (with the SAG's AP of 2), and how casualty removal is handled.

There is just no distinction in the rules saying that you skip over the roll 'to hit' and then jump back into the sequence of shooting, because determining who is hit by a blast is not the same thing as rolling 'to hit' with a blast. Yes 5,6 tells us who is hit by the blast (the model under the center hole) but it does not give players the option to ignore the 'to hit' roll.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







its just very baddly worded ...so is much of the rest of the codex, next you be telling me they didn't mess up the Dakkagun profile by listing 2 conflicting profiles ...

Till you show me some thing that says the scatter stops, it must scatter. But some how i can't see me winning you over ... or you winning me over

edit .... nicely put yakface

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/28 23:26:04


 
   
Made in us
Major






far away from Battle Creek, Michigan

Tri wrote:... ok before rolling for scatter ...

)place template
)roll a 5 & 6 str
)Bzzap only the modle under the hole is hit
)and then roll for scatter ... hit (2/6) it stay put other wise it scatters 2d6-BS
)if 2 models are under the hole when it stops then we enter no mans land ... i say both would be hit, RAW says only one ... who evers hit it doesn't realy matter wounds are placed and removed by the other player

you can complain about it not making sence or what ever but nothing in the Bzzap rules stops the scatter ... in fact none of the effects in that chart stop the scatter they only stop the shot


Here's the problem. When you get to your fifth step above you are making things up (based on your feel for the rules etc). The codex dictates that only one model can be hit so how have you place yourself in a position that makes you try to reconcile this with two models being hit? The answer is because of faulty interpretation. This is why I referenced occham's razor. You've got two choices: no scatter doesn't require you to make up rules to determine what happens--just follow directions, while scatter requires you to make up rules. Throw out the latter. To sum up, you state "nothing in the bzzap rules stops the scatter." This is where you are wrong. As I've explained scattering allows two models to be hit which cannot happen because ONLY THE MODEL under the template hole is hit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/28 23:25:31


PROSECUTOR: By now, there have been 34 casualties.

Elena Ceausescu says: Look, and that they are calling genocide.

 
   
Made in us
Squishy Squig





I will again apologise for how this question has garnered its responses. And in reference to the above I believe you are right. We cannot agree as we both are convinced by our arguements. And thank you Yakface for showing us how even those in the know are often wrong or misguided. As I have discussed both this question and its responses with My friend Vindyboy, we have argeed to settle on "in house rules". We both agree on our interpretation and that is what we will use. I do thank everyone for their input and I hope that the agreeing to disagree does induce any bad feelings.
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







Na don't worry about it, dawgofwagh. Its half the point of YMDC is garner (nice world, must use it more) opions and to try to get RAI. This is, in fact, a very useful thread as there is a problem here.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/29 00:46:42


 
   
Made in us
Major






far away from Battle Creek, Michigan

yakface wrote:

There is just no distinction in the rules saying that you skip over the roll 'to hit' and then jump back into the sequence of shooting, because determining who is hit by a blast is not the same thing as rolling 'to hit' with a blast. Yes 5,6 tells us who is hit by the blast (the model under the center hole) but it does not give players the option to ignore the 'to hit' roll.



" When firing a blast weapon, models do not roll to hit, instead just pick one enemy model visible to the firer and place the blast marker (see diagram) with its hole over the base of the target model, or its hull if it is a vehicle." [emphasis mine] p.30 of my black reach rules.

PROSECUTOR: By now, there have been 34 casualties.

Elena Ceausescu says: Look, and that they are calling genocide.

 
   
Made in us
Dominar






Although I applaud your semantics trap and its brilliant execution , clearly Yakface intended to refer to the scatter roll instead of his ill-quoted "'to hit' roll".

As to the main issue, I'm honestly on the fence. Usually I can see a clear Right/Wrong answer by pure RAW, but the Ork Codex and this bit in particular is wonky enough that I'm kind of stumped. I guess if you put a gun to my head and commanded that I choose one or the other, I'd go with scatter as normal, but this would be worthy of clarification.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/29 01:15:52


 
   
Made in us
Major






far away from Battle Creek, Michigan

sourclams wrote:Although I applaud your semantics trap and its brilliant execution ;D, clearly Yakface intended to refer to the scatter roll instead of his ill-quoted "'to hit' roll".

Unlike the GW writers, Yakface can tell us his intent.

PROSECUTOR: By now, there have been 34 casualties.

Elena Ceausescu says: Look, and that they are calling genocide.

 
   
Made in se
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





The game has one die with a hit symbol on two of its six sides. When you roll it it's obviously not a "to hit" roll...

Stupid GW!

In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... 
   
Made in us
Using Inks and Washes






Webbe wrote:I agree with Yak.

Still the 5, 6 result is troublesome. It says "the model under the template hole is hit", not any model or something similar.
If it scatters there can very well be two models under the template hole, the rules say nothing about that.
This seem to indicate that a 5, 6 result is not meant to scatter.


I think I am in a similar frame of mind. I agree but find the wording for 5/6 very troubling to the point I can easily be persuaded it doesn't scatter. The "model under the template hole" is that before or after scatter. It cannot be after because you have to do the action of 5/6 first before returning to the normal shooting phase - the more I think about the more the INAT ruling doesn't sit well.

2014 will be the year of zero GW purchases. Kneadite instead of GS, no paints or models. 2014 will be the year I finally make the move to military models and away from miniature games. 
   
Made in au
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy






That's right, fullheadofhair.

Because we follow the table result before rolling for scatter - and the table result very clearly tells us that the model under the marker hole is hit. At this point we have not scattered, but we already know what is hit.

We could scatter the marker if we want, but we already know which model is hit. This is exactly how the specifics in the codex ("the model...is hit") override the generalities in the rulebook (all that stuff about scattering the marker).
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Boss Ardnutz wrote:That's right, fullheadofhair.

Because we follow the table result before rolling for scatter - and the table result very clearly tells us that the model under the marker hole is hit. At this point we have not scattered, but we already know what is hit.

We could scatter the marker if we want, but we already know which model is hit. This is exactly how the specifics in the codex ("the model...is hit") override the generalities in the rulebook (all that stuff about scattering the marker).



That isn't what the rule says. It says ONLY the model under the center hole is hit. This clearly is referencing the normal rules for blast weapons in that usually all models under the blast are hit but in this case only the model under the center is hit. There is absolutely no indication in the 5,6 rule that the model is immediately hit without any scatter, just that the only deviation from the normal shooting rules for the SAG are that only the model under the center hole is hit and the shot is S10.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/30 10:53:26


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




Boss Ardnutz wrote:That's right, fullheadofhair.

Because we follow the table result before rolling for scatter - and the table result very clearly tells us that the model under the marker hole is hit. At this point we have not scattered, but we already know what is hit.

We could scatter the marker if we want, but we already know which model is hit. This is exactly how the specifics in the codex ("the model...is hit") override the generalities in the rulebook (all that stuff about scattering the marker).


I'm with you on this one Boss. This seems pretty clear to me.

1. Pick a target
2. Roll for str of weapon
3. If a special result occurs follow the result prior to rolling for scatter
4. Roll for scatter if needed.

The 5,6 result plainly tells us that only the model under the center hole (the one you aimed for because you have to aim for *something*) is hit. Well like Boss Ardnutz said, we already have a hit, and everything else is moot, roll for scatter if you want.

Yakface is right on some accounts, a few of the results still need a scatter roll for, like 6,6 does, because it doesn't specify anything is hit yet so since nothing is hit yet, we have to roll scatter to determine that.

Anyways, this is my opinion on it.

EDIT: I think the big determining factor for me is the word "is" used for the 5,6 result. It references present tense, I mean, if Phil Kelly used the words "can be" or "will be", then I would say without a doubt the hit is yet to be determined, but "is" really sticks me as something that *has* happened or is already happening. While the 6,6 result explanation is in a completely different tense.

I don't know, this is probably just me thinking this.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/30 13:37:34


DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Since this is reaching 'deadlock' phase lemme ask a noob question. Do SAGs require line of sight, or are they considered ordinance and can 'lob' shots?
   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




Only Barrage or "G" weapons can 'lob' shots (without LOS). Ordinance has its own special rules.

DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




So, SAGs are not barrage and require LOS.
   
Made in us
Grovelin' Grot





Vermont

Here's the reply I got back from GW about the question on this:

Hello,

You do not scatter with that result.



Thanks!



John Spencer

Customer Service Specialist



Please do not delete previous email threads as this will help us serve you better!



Games Workshop

Customer Service

6711 Baymeadow Drive Suite A

Glen Burnie MD 21060



Games Workshop Customer Service is open:

Monday through Friday 9:00 Am to 7:00 PM EST



Contact info:

1-888-248-2335

custserv@games-workshop.com



Or visit us online at:

www.games-workshop.com


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------



I have a question regarding the Ork Shock Attack Gun. If you roll doubles or 5,6 do you continue on with the scatter dice? It says place the template, roll for str before scattering and then apply results below if they apply? Thanks



 
   
Made in us
Evasive Eshin Assassin






This is YMDC, yakface makes da call....sorry John Spencer.
too bad this wont sway the majority's decision.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/02/04 17:51:57


 
   
Made in us
Major






far away from Battle Creek, Michigan

I emailed Mr. Spencer a week ago and haven't heard from him yet so thanks for posting his reply. Obviously his judgment is not surprising in the least bit.

PROSECUTOR: By now, there have been 34 casualties.

Elena Ceausescu says: Look, and that they are calling genocide.

 
   
Made in us
Grovelin' Grot





Vermont

Yep I tend to agree when both Phil and John say you don't scatter

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: