Switch Theme:

Are side sponsons one weapon or two?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Things like real warfare have nothing at all to do with wargaming or the rules but please feel free to continue entertaining us with your real world examples. They are very interesting to say the least.



G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





Los Angeles, CA

GWAR! I see your frustration and amuzement and agree with the hilarity. Each sponson is one weapon guys, they are treated as individual weapons, fire independently and so are not counted as a pair. What you are basically arguing is that a lascannon shot rips off the left gun and because the right gun feels left out, it blows up too...

Not true, just as coaxial weapons like next to a baneblade's main cannon, or one of the razorback options, lascannon AND twin linked plasma gun can be destroyed independently.

Armies I play:
-5000 pts
-2500 pts
Mechanicus -1850 pts 
   
Made in us
Unshakeable Grey Knight Land Raider Pilot





Wyoming

Now although I agree with what Gwar has said (although I do not agree with Gwar) Having the two lascannons as one weapons system makes the LR much more assaulty. Now you can fire both of them when you move 6 in or when you use PotMS (if they get destroyed together, they should fire as a unit as well). Heck ya, 12 in and I can still fire all the weapons except for my heavy bolter, I am totally down with that, my grey knights will be better than ever. and if I use PotMS I can still fire the Lascannons at different targets! For firepower like that I wouldnt mind it... alas its still against RAI and RAW.

That is how it would have to be played right?
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






GBF - what's your stance on super heavy tank sponsons? Which, as they are mounted on a super-heavy, can fire at separate targets all day long.
   
Made in us
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman




Novi, Michigan

Scott-S6 wrote:GBF - what's your stance on super heavy tank sponsons? Which, as they are mounted on a super-heavy, can fire at separate targets all day long.


By GBF's logic - all the weapons on a bane blade are purchased in the cost of the tank, therefore, when 1 weapon is destroyed, then they all blow up because they were not line item purchases with separate and individual costs.

I bet GBF will end up posting that he was kidding about his arguments and he got us all - we are all his suckers for arguing with him. Mark my words.
   
Made in us
Dominar






If that happens, just say those three magical words:

"Nemesis Force Weapon"

   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Lancaster PA

Actually GameandWatch, coaxial weapons' fate is tied to the weapons they are coaxial with if I recall. I will double check when I get home, but I think if the main cannon goes, so does the coax.


Woad to WAR... on Celts blog, which is mostly Circle Orboros
"I'm sick of auto-penetrating attacks against my behind!" - Kungfuhustler 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Scott-S6 wrote:GBF - what's your stance on super heavy tank sponsons? Which, as they are mounted on a super-heavy, can fire at separate targets all day long.


Totally different beast.

G


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Flexen wrote:
Scott-S6 wrote:
GBF - what's your stance on super heavy tank sponsons? Which, as they are mounted on a super-heavy, can fire at separate targets all day long.


By GBF's logic - all the weapons on a bane blade are purchased in the cost of the tank, therefore, when 1 weapon is destroyed, then they all blow up because they were not line item purchases with separate and individual costs.

I bet GBF will end up posting that he was kidding about his arguments and he got us all - we are all his suckers for arguing with him. Mark my words.




That's how the people I play here in central Florida play.

G

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/06/19 18:44:26


ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





Florida

Just to throw one more nail in this coffin, look at the Razorback. The lascannon and twin-linked plasma cannons are purchased together, identical to how the Predator side sponson weapons are purchased.

From the C:SM FAQ:

Q. If a Razorback armed with a lascannon and
twin-linked plasma gun suffers a weapon
destroyed result, does it destroy both (ie. the
lascannon and the plasma gun) or just one?

A. Only one weapon – either the lascannon or the
twin-linked plasma gun.


   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





The reason they are treated as two seperate weapons is because if you move and they are lascannons for example you only get to fire one not two. In fact a LR can fire at two seperate targets with them.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

The lascannon/plasmagun is a co-axial set of weapons and as such holds no bearing upon sponson systems. Sorry please try again.

Also stop bringing up the LR as it has a special rule that lets it target separately the sponsons. You are really reaching for some thin air.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





Florida

Sorry, please try again. If it was co-axial they would all be destroyed when one is destroyed. The fact that we are told explicitly that their fate is not tied together means they cannot be co-axial.

The example still stands perfectly. They are weapons purchased together that are not destroyed together because they have no notation that would link them to the same weapon destroyed result like a co-axial weapon or a built-in weapon.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/06/19 20:30:15


   
Made in us
Hunter with Harpoon Laucher




Castle Clarkenstein

Also stop bringing up the LR as it has a special rule that lets it target separately the sponsons. You are really reaching for some thin air.

Nope. If you count sponsons as '1 weapon system', then that 1 weapon can't fire at two different targets. It could move 12, fire the heavy bolter, and both sponsons at another target, assuming arcs of fire allow it. But if the sponsons count as 1 weapon, you could not fire half a weapon at one target, and have the POTMS fire the other half at a different target.

POTMS lets you fire 1 additional weapon, not the same weapon twice.

Sponsons have always been two separate weapons, and still are. You just buy them in pairs, and can't buy them one at a time.


....and lo!.....The Age of Sigmar came to an end when Saint Veetock and his hamster legions smote the false Sigmar and destroyed the bubbleverse and lead the true believers back to the Old World.
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Can you POTMS a Predator? The answer is no. What applies to the LR does not apply to the Predator. Is just taht simply folks.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Oniwaban





Fayetteville

If sponsons really were a single weapon system would they not be twin-linked and only able to fire at a target that both have LOS to?

The Imperial Navy, A Galatic Force for Good. 
   
Made in gb
Fully-charged Electropriest





Somewhere.

So...by the logic that they are a single weapon system, and are destroyed together, that must mean I can fire both as a single weapon, since for all intents and purposes they are a single weapon system? And it lets you fire one weapon if you move? So...a Predetor can move six inches and fire two lascannon shots at something?

Intruiging theory...wrong, as far as I can see, but it might be funny to play that way.
   
Made in ca
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster




BC

saying that the land raider sponsons are different than a predators due to the PotMS rule and cant be used as an example is like like saying that a unit of sternguard cant use lysanders bolter drill rule because they can fire specialized rounds.

sponsons always have been, and probably always will be two separate weapons. (the only fluff reason that most vehicles cant fire at multiple targets is because they generally have 2 crew members, a gunner and a driver. one gunner means one target)
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Oh wow I just don't know what to say at this point.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor







Green Blow Fly wrote:Oh wow I just don't know what to say at this point.

G



Oh, I know the answer to this one, "Oh, I'm sorry, I guess i was mistaken. I'll try to play it right from here on"

THE HORUS HERESY: Emprah: Hours, go reconquer the galaxy so there can be a new golden age. Horus: But I should be Emprah, bawwwwww! Emprah: Magnus, stop it with the sorcery. Magnus: But I know what's best, bawwwwww! Emprah: Horus, tell Russ to bring Magnus to me because I said so. Horus: Emprah wants you to kill Magnus because he said so. Russ: Fine. Emprah's always right. Plus Ole Red has already been denounced as a traitor and I never liked him anyway. Russ: You're about to die, cyclops! Magnus: O noes! Tzeentch, I choose you! Bawwwww! Russ: Ah well. Now to go kill Horus. Russ: Rowboat, how have you not been doing anything? Guilliman: . . . I've been writing a book. Russ: Sigh. Let's go. Guilliman: And I fought the Word Bearers! Horus: Oh shi--Spess Puppies a'comin? Abbadon: And the Ultramarines, sir. Horus: Who? Anyway, this looks bad. *enter Sanguinis* What are you doing here? Come to join me? Sanguinius: *throws self on Horus's power claws* Alas, I am undone! When you play Castlevania, remember me! *enter Emprah* Emprah: Horus! So my favorite son killed my favorite daughter! Horus: What about the Lion? Emprah: Never liked her. Horus: No one does. Now prepare to die! *mortally wounds Emprah*Emprah: Au contraire, you dick. *kills Horus* Dorn: Okay, now I just plug this into this and . . . okay, it works! Emprah? Hellooooo? Jonson: I did nothing! Guilliman: I did more nothing that you! Jonson: Nuh-uh. I was the most worthless! Guilliman: Have you read my book? Dorn: No one likes that book. Khan: C'mon guys. It's not that bad. Dorn: I guess not. Russ: You all suck. Ima go bring the Emprah back to life.
DA:80-S+++G+++M++++B++I+Pw40k97#+D++++A++++/fWD199R+++T(S)DM+  
   
Made in ca
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot




Toronto (GTA), Ontario

Clthomps wrote:They are destroyed together IMO.

As they are purchased at a single cost, therefor they are a single target to be destroyed.

In fact I can not find a single person locally around that thinks otherwise.
....... OK but the price is paying for 2. A predator may take a side sponson Lascannon for 60 points which is normally the price of 2 lascannons which are 30-35 points each (usually). On the other hand, the Predator wording for side sponsons is,
SM codex pg. 142 wrote: May take side sponsons with heavy bolters for........
or Lascannons for.........
"

Where does it say 1 or 2 side sponsons with HB or LC? it only says the words in plural with no limit or minimum or set amount included.
Also I can not find a single person at my FLGS who plays they are 1 weapon.





-Orkishly

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/06/19 23:23:13


Dracos wrote:Codex does not override rulebook. Specific rules (generally those found in codex tend to be more specific) override general rules in case of conflict.
 
   
Made in us
Morphing Obliterator




The Void

Green Blow Fly wrote:Oh wow I just don't know what to say at this point.

G


You could start by giving us page numbers to anything in the book that supports your position.

Always 1 on the crazed roll. 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Okay I am probably wrong here but that is how everyone I play rolls with it. Should I tell them they could be wrongish on this one? It could open up a really big can of worms. I don't want to be that guy if yuo catch my drift.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Morphing Obliterator




The Void

That is of course up to you. I would personally. I'm sure if you ask people will provide the needed page numbers and arguments so that you can properly explain to them the issue and why you've all been doing it wrong.

Always 1 on the crazed roll. 
   
Made in us
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman




Novi, Michigan

Green Blow Fly wrote:Okay I am probably wrong here but that is how everyone I play rolls with it. Should I tell them they could be wrongish on this one? It could open up a really big can of worms. I don't want to be that guy if yuo catch my drift.

G


Your only helping yourself and your friends by telling them the correct rules. If they want to continue playing as a house rule, so be it. If they give you heartburn about it, then they really aren't good friends.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

keep on rocking in the free world!


ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in au
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot






SonofTerra wrote:
the only fluff reason that most vehicles cant fire at multiple targets is because they generally have 2 crew members, a gunner and a driver. one gunner means one target

Sorry to nit pick but that is wrong, at least in the IG tanks. If you read the fluff that accompanies Pasks' entry he mentions "sponsons gunners" after mentioning both the driver and gunner. Also, in the LRMBT area it says that it has a crew of 3 without sponsons and a crew of 5 with sponsons

Many started armies including: / , , ....and Bretonnia 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Very good point!

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Rogue Daemonhunter fueled by Chaos






Toledo, OH

Actually, if you read the entry for the Predator, it simply says: "May take side sponsons with Heavy Bolters for +25 pts or with Lascannons for +60pts"

There appears to be no rule saying how many sponsons, or even how many heavy bolters per sponson.

   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Lascannons are too expensive!

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in ca
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot




Toronto (GTA), Ontario

Polonius wrote:Actually, if you read the entry for the Predator, it simply says: "May take side sponsons with Heavy Bolters for +25 pts or with Lascannons for +60pts"

There appears to be no rule saying how many sponsons, or even how many heavy bolters per sponson.

.....THAT'S WHAT I SAID!!!!

According to RAW you can take 7 sponsons with 10 Lascannons per sponson, or on the flip side, you can only take 1 sponson with 1 Lascannon. Depend's how you read the rule.


EDIT- To the conversion mobile!!!..... Wonder how many people would let me use a Predator with 501 sponsons each with several LC?

EDIT EDIT- Gwar! you are so right that I can't read your whole sig because of it!!!!




-Orkishly

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/06/21 06:08:12


Dracos wrote:Codex does not override rulebook. Specific rules (generally those found in codex tend to be more specific) override general rules in case of conflict.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: