Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/19 12:05:21
Subject: SW power
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Captain Solon - simply having a cover save does not let you use it against hits unless you are *also* obscured.
Vehicle squadrons are also not squads, unless you take squads to mean units. And even then, as above, they could only use it against wounds, not hits. So not much use.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/19 12:37:52
Subject: Re:SW power
|
 |
Roarin' Runtherd
|
wyomingfox wrote:
A better way to say it is that a vehicle does not get a cover save unless said cover is obscuring the vehicle. If obscured, the vehicle is granted a 4+ cover save unless a special ability/power specifically mentions that the cover save would be different.
This isn't correct-though I think I know what you meant.
Cover grants a vehicle the same save it would grant anything else, assuming it covers half of the vehicle. It's only obscurement granted by wargear items that defaults to a 4+ (assuming the item of wargear doesn't specify a different save).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/19 12:51:27
Subject: SW power
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
And MC who also have a specified % in order to be obscured...I am probably jumping the gun on this but what is your oppinion of Spore Clouds effecting MC if the only language they use is "Gives a 5+ cover save to all units with a model within 6" of the Veneomthrope's base?
Vehicles can take cover saves without being obscured but can only take them against wounding hits. Which of course is entirely useless to a vehicle, however to an MC that follows the same rules as Vehicles... Well lets just say the Fex will get that save.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/19 16:42:14
Subject: Re:SW power
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
|
Ordznik wrote:
This isn't correct-though I think I know what you meant.
Cover grants a vehicle the same save it would grant anything else, assuming it covers half of the vehicle. It's only obscurement granted by wargear items that defaults to a 4+ (assuming the item of wargear doesn't specify a different save).
Yeah, good catch
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/20 11:23:31
Subject: SW power
|
 |
Courageous Questing Knight
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Captain Solon - simply having a cover save does not let you use it against hits unless you are *also* obscured.
Vehicle squadrons are also not squads, unless you take squads to mean units. And even then, as above, they could only use it against wounds, not hits. So not much use.
now thats an oxymoron...
"vehicle squadrons are also not squads"
If an entire vehichle squad gets a 50% CS, then it's a squad getting the save yae?
Funny line
|
DR:90S+++G++MB+I+Pw40k096D++A+/areWD360R+++T(P)DM+
3000 pt space marine 72% painted!
W/L/D 24/6/22
2500 pt Bretons 10% painted
W/L/D 1/0/0
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/337109.page lekkar diorama, aye? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/20 11:42:33
Subject: SW power
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Wrong, so wrong.
Squadron /= Squad. They are not the same word and the rulebook does not define a squadron as equivalent to a squad. You have a Vehicle Squadron - not a Vehicle Squad, which you have incorrectly stated. in your 3rd line.
If you believe vehicles in units are called squads, please find a rule to support that - you cant as they are all called "squadrons", but good luck!"
As I said before - the *only* way to make the two equivalent is if you define a Squad as a Unit, which the book implies but does not state (well actually it implies the reverse - units are squads) and then you link Squad and Squadron via Unit (Squad = unit = Squadron) however this is not logically true.
You've also not countered that the vehicles can't actually use the CS against hits, only wounds, but that's the least of the issues - they don't receive the cs in the first place.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/12/20 11:46:49
|
|
 |
 |
|