Gwar! wrote:
Also, a question for you or anyone else who feels the same way: Would you like the INAT FAQ better if they did not change the rulings, but marked [Rules Change] in every place where it currently says [Clarification]?
Yes, it would then at least be honest.
No, it would be incorrect.
I've said this before and I guess I need to say it again...I really need to put this information into the 'afterward' of the
INAT document, so I guess it is my bad that I keep having to repeat myself.
When we put that a ruling is a 'clarification' all it means is that, in the opinion of the council members, there is at least one or more possible ways to interpret the rules for that specific instance, and as such there are differing ways for players to interpret how to play it.
Therefore, we are making a 'clarification' on how to play that issue...even if that involves sometimes 'making up' a rule in order to have things make sense.
So when any one individual person thinks one of our 'clarifications' is actually a 'rules change'...guess what? You're a person who is interpreting the rules version 'A', when we're ruling based on the idea of the rules version 'B'.
So if we were to put 'rules change' instead of clarification, while you might then be saying, okay now at least they're being honest and calling this a 'rules change' like it is, other players are now thinking, what the heck, that's not a 'rules change' that's the '
RAW' as far as I can tell.
I can tell you from experience that I have literally had this happen...where one person writes to me and says I should change a ruling to call it a 'rules change', while another person writes to me and says it should actually be '
RAW'.
Can everyone possibly understand that?
[
RAW] means we think (every member of the council) that there is only one way to interpret the rules in that situation.
[rules change] means that we think (every member of the council) that there is only one way to interpret the rules in that situation but we're ruling against those rules...usually because the vast majority of players don't play the way the
RAW indicate or in cases of extreme absurdity.
[clarification] means that not every member of the council can agree that there is only one way to interpret the rules in this case...so if there seems to be even a small margin of players out there who can possibly have a different interpretation of the rules in this case, then the ruling
by our definition is going to be a 'clarification'.
So let's take the example of a Manticore firing D3 barrage blasts...some people want to think that since the
RAW for barrage weapons only specifies that it works when a unit made up of multiple models is firing barrage weapons, that it doesn't apply to a single Manticore firing multiple blasts.
And you know what? You're right. By the
RAW it doesn't apply. But you know what else? The rules don't tell you
how to play with a single model firing multiple barrage weapons.
Can you default back to the rules for firing regular blast weapons? Sure you can, but that's not the '
RAW'...the rules as written should tell us what to do when a single model fires multiple barrage blasts, but they don't.
So there are two major ways players can tend to interpret this situation...neither of which is actually the
RAW.
One is to use the multiple barrage rules, which also follows how
GW rules with the Eldar Tempest Launcher.
The second way is to default back to the basic blast rules and resolve the weapon like that.
Both work and both would be 'clarifications' as neither is the '
RAW'.
We've obviously decided to go with the first solution, but it is most definitely a [clarification] by our standards.
So is our system perfect? Of course not. I'm sure there is some stuff that should be labeled one thing when it is labeled another, but the system is based on some fundamental principles and we try our best to stick to them when labeling each ruling.
The next time you think one of our 'clarifications' should be labeled a 'rules change' (or even '
RAW') perhaps take a moment and consider if possibly anyone else could interpret the rules for that situation a different way. If the answer could possibly be yes, then 'clarification' is the right label for that ruling.