Switch Theme:

Ork Boarding Plank vs Tau Flechette Discharger  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Pika_power wrote:So does he get Furious Charge?
Read the Boarding Plank Rules, it makes it clear.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in nz
Mutilatin' Mad Dok




New Zealand

Gwar! wrote:
Pika_power wrote:So does he get Furious Charge?
Read the Boarding Plank Rules, it makes it clear.

See below for lack of clarity.

Xca|iber wrote:
Pika_power wrote:FC will always work, because the attacks are made as if he were charging. So he gets to attack as if he were charging. So he gets FC. The enemy does not get to attack as if he were charging, so it doesn't.


If you're saying that FC works, but FD doesn't, that's a double standard if I've ever heard one. FC states "add +1 to both I and S when attacking in close combat"... FD states "any model attacking the vehicle in close combat will be wounded on a D6 roll of 4+"

If you argue that the plank's "make close combat attacks exactly as if he were disembarked and charging" equates "attacking in close combat" and therefore triggers FC, then ergo it should also trigger FD, since the wording of both rules is identical as far as the trigger ("attacking in close combat").

Also, FD isn't an attack. It just states that attacking models suffer a wound on a certain roll. It bypasses the standard method for fighting in close combat.

*Note: I'm fine agreeing that the wording for the boarding plank makes it arguable (for some) that the FD doesn't work, I'm just pointing out that the same logic applies to Furious Charge.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/05 23:58:38


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Omadon's Realm

There would appear to be no absolutely clear answer here, both bits of equipment are outside of the standard of 'close combat'.

I'll go with taking the hit on my ork for now, and await a future GW official ruling on it later.

Thanks for your answers folks.



 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

To avoid going round in circles for another 5 pages, I think this one can use a rest.

If in doubt, discuss it with your opponent.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: