Switch Theme:

Gets hot!  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

So in a simple example:

Unit of 5 with 2 plasma guns (all members have a single Wound).
One Plasma gun rolls double one (armour saves are taken and both failed)

The current debate is that:

a). One plasma gunner is removed
b). Two plasma gunners are removed
c). Members of the squad without plasma guns are removed

That about right? Personaly I've been playing with b). as my interpretation.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yep, that is the debate.

And, as per the requirement in GH!, the FAQ ruling for DT, the answer is a)
   
Made in de
Storm Trooper with Maglight







c). is not the debate

GH and Dangerous Terrain requirements forbid that.

If I have to put the wound on the firing model/the model failing the test, I cannot remove a model different in gaming terms.

and b.) is the correct answer, due to no alternative concerning saving throws.

@Kirsanth

Units get a wound when a model in it fails a save, in most cases, via Remove Casualties.

In these cases, the model suffers the wound


And how do you get to the conclusion, that you remove a casualty at all?
Because when you remove casualties, you do it as the rules say. Everything else is invented.
And the correct wording is: For every MODEL that failed ITS save, the unit suffers an unsaved wound... Not the units save, but the models own save. How do you interpret a unit based rule there?

You can draw a beautiful reference from the Gets Hot rule to that line in the book.

1. The firing model suffers a wound.
2. The firing model makes its save (although the rules dont cover that step)
3. The firing model fails its save (Attention: go to page 24 for every model that fails its save...)
4. The unit suffers an unsaved wound and as described in the whole section, casualties can be (and must be) taken freely amongst those identical.

This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2012/03/20 23:44:21


 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

So far I've been using b).

Otherwise every roll to hit with a plasma gun would have to be done separately. A royal pain if you have many in a unit.

The example of ten Ork Flashgitz with blasta upgrade, rolling to hit for each individual Ork would really slow the game down.
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

-Nazdreg- wrote:And the correct wording is: For every MODEL that failed ITS save, the unit suffers an unsaved wound...

How do you interpret a unit based rule there?
The bold part of your quote is my answer.

The rules in question say the model suffers the wound if it fails.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





rigeld2 wrote:
-Nazdreg- wrote:If this rule is model based, then please refer to a rule for saves based on models.

There isn't one. That's my point.
The rule is model based - read the rule. The model suffers a wound.

Also - the Dangerous Terrain FAQ clarifies Wound, not wound. Interesting, aint it?

In case it got missed.

There are no rules covering this. Therefore we look at the next closest thing - a rule with the exact same wording, except it denies saves.
Oh look - you are forbidden from using the shooting rules to allocate wounds.

Therefore a) above is the right answer. Yes, if you have a ton of plasma guns it can slow the game down.
That doesn't mean it's the wrong answer.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in de
Storm Trooper with Maglight







Oh look - you are forbidden from using the shooting rules to allocate wounds.


Yes I am and I always was. I never denied that.

Also - the Dangerous Terrain FAQ clarifies Wound, not wound. Interesting, aint it?


The Wounds part indeed is interesting, because Wounds are never allocated, I admit, I didnt read it originally (our german translation is a bit imprecise), it was always written with a "w" if quoted.
That makes me change my opinion about dangerous terrain. It is clear, that "wound" isnt meant there. So it is indeed answered correctly. Although there is no reference to invulnerable saves. Do I have to conclude that you cant take any saves against Dangerous Terrain failure? Because I have never taken a save after taking a Wound. This is against everything...

But gets hot still refers to "wounds". And the reference to saving throws is also clear. That makes the wording different.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/21 00:21:41


 
   
Made in us
Liche Priest Hierophant






It's Model by Model.

And I quote:

pg 31 of the Mini Rulebook:

"For each result of a 1 rolled on its to hit rolls, the firing model suffers a wound (normal saves apply)."


Nothing about units, nothing about allocation. If a model rolls a 1, it suffers a wound that it can take an armour save against.

So sorry, Guard players (and other Flash Git users). You're gonna have to start rolling each model seperately.

GENERATION 8: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment.

If yer an Ork, why dont ya WAAAGH!!

M.A.V.- if you liked ChromeHounds, drop by the site and give it a go. Or check out my M.A.V. Oneshots videos on YouTube! 
   
Made in cy
Dakka Veteran





Anvildude wrote:It's Model by Model.

And I quote:

pg 31 of the Mini Rulebook:

"For each result of a 1 rolled on its to hit rolls, the firing model suffers a wound (normal saves apply)."


Nothing about units, nothing about allocation. If a model rolls a 1, it suffers a wound that it can take an armour save against.

So sorry, Guard players (and other Flash Git users). You're gonna have to start rolling each model seperately.


Its the section on Normal Saves that indicates you may decide which model to remove. That is how failed saves are normally done. In the order of events described in the BRB, you put the wound on the model, take its saves, and then according to the "normal saves" rule you choose which model you want to remove. This is where the confusion lies and it appears you may remove any of the "indentical models" in the unit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/21 07:33:34


 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Not quite sure how this isn't clearly shown in the BRB.

Roll separately or with a different color of dice. Any ones will result in Gets Hot! being triggered...

Pretty simple...
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

rigeld2 wrote:There are no rules covering this. Therefore we look at the next closest thing - a rule with the exact same wording, except it denies saves.
Oh look - you are forbidden from using the shooting rules to allocate wounds.

Therefore a) above is the right answer. Yes, if you have a ton of plasma guns it can slow the game down.
That doesn't mean it's the wrong answer.

Yes, you are forbidden from using the shooting rules to allocate wounds. That means you can't put a Get's Hot wound on a different model.

But, the rulebook and the FAQ does nothing to override the Remove Casualties instructions that have you take Casualties from anyone in the wound group.



I think we're going around in circles here. Can someone clearly explain why Dangerous Terrain or Get's Hot requires you to have the model in question be the Casualty and not just the model that is Wounded?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/21 13:26:35


6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Grakmar wrote:But, the rulebook and the FAQ does nothing to override the Remove Casualties instructions that have you take Casualties from anyone in the wound group.

You're still putting the wound on the unit. The rule is model based.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Grakmar wrote: But, the rulebook and the FAQ does nothing to override the Remove Casualties instructions that have you take Casualties from anyone in the wound group.


Using those rules it would have to be an identical model removed (same profile, same equipment), so if a plasma gunner suffers the result, a plasma gunner must be removed (and not someone in the unit without a plasma gun).
   
Made in us
Liche Priest Hierophant






Because it's by model. Not by unit. When firing Gets Hot! weapons, they're basically little Units of 1.

Look, are people arguing this to be clever, or because they think it'll give some sort of advantage? Because the advantage lies in rolling for individual models. That way, if a single model rolls 2 s, only one of them dies.

The rule states "The Model" takes a wound. Then you can take Normal Saves. I doubt Normal Saves have anything to do with Casualties. In fact, there is no "Normal Saves" section. That pair of words simply means that you can take Armour or Invulnerable saves against the wound/s.

GENERATION 8: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment.

If yer an Ork, why dont ya WAAAGH!!

M.A.V.- if you liked ChromeHounds, drop by the site and give it a go. Or check out my M.A.V. Oneshots videos on YouTube! 
   
Made in cy
Dakka Veteran





Anvildude wrote:Because it's by model. Not by unit. When firing Gets Hot! weapons, they're basically little Units of 1.

Look, are people arguing this to be clever, or because they think it'll give some sort of advantage? Because the advantage lies in rolling for individual models. That way, if a single model rolls 2 s, only one of them dies.

The rule states "The Model" takes a wound. Then you can take Normal Saves. I doubt Normal Saves have anything to do with Casualties. In fact, there is no "Normal Saves" section. That pair of words simply means that you can take Armour or Invulnerable saves against the wound/s.


The tenets of this forum are to argue what is written in the rules.

In this case, the section on Saves tells you how to roll on them. It also tells you how to remove casualties.

If you can find a different section that tells you how to remove casualties from failed saves I for one would like to see it. As it stands, the section on saves lets you pick from identical models.
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Grakmar wrote:I think we're going around in circles here. Can someone clearly explain why Dangerous Terrain or Get's Hot requires you to have the model in question be the Casualty and not just the model that is Wounded?


Because on page 27, the rules for weapons show their characteristics; range, strength, AP, type and "Additional Characteristics" (qv.) which says, "...a weapon may have some additional characteristics that define the way they work."

Characteristics like; shooting with rapid fire weapons means you can't assault, template weapons ignore cover saves, a unit can't move and fire heavey weapons, and this one from gets hot!, "For each result ot a 1 rolled on its to hit rolls, the firing model suffers a wound (normal saves apply)."

It doesn't say that the wound can be allocated, placed or suffered by an identical model, or one armed the same, or even that the wound is allocated to the unit like a shooting attack. The additional characteristic of the weapon includes the sentence that defines how the weapon works.

And in the case of gets hot! weapons, the way it works is that if the firing model rolls a 1, it suffers a wound. If it rolls two 1s, the firing model suffers 2 wounds. If the firing model only has 1 Wound on its profile, it suffers the wounds and is removed. This of course is providing the model fails any applicable saving throw it might be able to make.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Nemesor Dave wrote:In this case, the section on Saves tells you how to roll on them. It also tells you how to remove casualties.

If you can find a different section that tells you how to remove casualties from failed saves I for one would like to see it. As it stands, the section on saves lets you pick from identical models.

There isn't one. The section on saves deals with wounds caused to a unit. Gets Hot! causes wounds to a model.

There are no rules governing this.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






New Orleans, LA

grendel083 wrote:So far I've been using b).

Otherwise every roll to hit with a plasma gun would have to be done separately. A royal pain if you have many in a unit.

The example of ten Ork Flashgitz with blasta upgrade, rolling to hit for each individual Ork would really slow the game down.


Unfortunately, the slower way is exactly how you're supposed to do it.

Gets Hot, by rule, is resolved by model.

This debate has gotten silly, IMHO.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/21 15:06:11


DA:70S+G+M+B++I++Pw40k08+D++A++/fWD-R+T(M)DM+
 
   
Made in cy
Dakka Veteran





rigeld2 wrote:
Nemesor Dave wrote:In this case, the section on Saves tells you how to roll on them. It also tells you how to remove casualties.

If you can find a different section that tells you how to remove casualties from failed saves I for one would like to see it. As it stands, the section on saves lets you pick from identical models.

There isn't one. The section on saves deals with wounds caused to a unit. Gets Hot! causes wounds to a model.

There are no rules governing this.


Once you allocate wounds as the first step, you are applying wounds to models. This is no different.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

I'm not saying you allocate the wound. The wound HAS to go on the firing model.

But, re-read the section on Remove Casualties (p24) and Taking Saves in the Complex Unit section (p25).

BGB wrote:Having allocated the wounds, meaning putting them all on the guy that had Gets Hot all of the models in the unit that are identical in gaming terms meaning ALL of the plasma gunners, take their saving throws at the same time, in one batch. Casualties can then be chosen by the owning player from amongst these identical models. meaning you can remove any of the plasma gunners, not just the one that had Gets Hot
(My comments in red)

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in cy
Dakka Veteran





As much as I would like to say it is applied to the model that rolled the 1, I cannot find any reason the owning player doesn't get to choose from 'identical models'.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Grakmar wrote:Taking Saves in the Complex Unit section (p25).

Gets Hot! is a wound on the model. It is not a wound on the unit that gets auto-allocated to the model.
Therefore you can't use unit based rules for this.

Why does no one care about the Dangerous Terrain ruling - or are you all asserting that you remove whole models there as well?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

rigeld2 wrote:
Grakmar wrote:Taking Saves in the Complex Unit section (p25).

Gets Hot! is a wound on the model. It is not a wound on the unit that gets auto-allocated to the model.
Therefore you can't use unit based rules for this.

Why does no one care about the Dangerous Terrain ruling - or are you all asserting that you remove whole models there as well?

I am asserting that Dangerous Terrain works in the same way as Gets Hot. The individual model that rolled poorly takes the Wound, but he is not necessarily the Casualty. Any model in the unit that is identical in gaming terms can be the Casualty.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/21 15:34:54


6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

I think I understand Grakmar's argument. He's saying that (for single wound models) A and B are identical models in all respects. They both fire their plasma guns. "A" rolls two 1's (and fails 1 save). B rolls two 6's. One of the models suffer a wound, however, since they are identical, either A or B can be removed.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Warplord Titan Princeps of Tzeentch





rigeld2 wrote:Why does no one care about the Dangerous Terrain ruling - or are you all asserting that you remove whole models there as well?

Because the dangerous terrain rule doesn't say to remove models, it says that models who fail their test are wounded, but take saves as normally.

Nobody disputes this.

The dispute lies in what happens after you fail an armor save. The rules are clear: for each model that failed its armor save, the unit suffers 1 wound. For each wound in a unit of single-wound models, you remove 1 identical model.

There is no other way to deal with failed armor saves.

time wizard wrote:And in the case of gets hot! weapons, the way it works is that if the firing model rolls a 1, it suffers a wound. If it rolls two 1s, the firing model suffers 2 wounds. If the firing model only has 1 Wound on its profile, it suffers the wounds and is removed. This of course is providing the model fails any applicable saving throw it might be able to make.

What rule are you using to remove models who fail their saving throw?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/21 16:26:09


text removed by Moderation team. 
   
Made in us
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot




Mesa, AZ

I would like to point out page 25, BRB, under "Taking Saving Throws", second paragraph,
"Finally, the player rolls separately for each model that
stands out in gaming terms. If one of these different
models suffers an unsaved wound, then that specific
model must be removed..."


Isn't a model that rolls a 'one' to hit with a Gets Hot weapon or fails it's Dangerous Terrain test now stand out in gaming terms? I think it does. It is subject to a special rule that the rest of the unit is not.

“What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof.”

"All their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad." 
   
Made in de
Storm Trooper with Maglight







Isn't a model that rolls a 'one' to hit with a Gets Hot weapon or fails it's Dangerous Terrain test now stand out in gaming terms? I think it does. It is subject to a special rule that the rest of the unit is not.


Nope, because the model's special rules are taken into account, not the SR of the weapon. So the model has still the same weapon, SR, profile and wargear.

 
   
Made in us
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot




Mesa, AZ

-Nazdreg- wrote:Nope, because the model's special rules are taken into account, not the SR of the weapon. So the model has still the same weapon, SR, profile and wargear.

Of course they are different in gaming terms. Only the models that rolled a 'one' can be subject to the rule (Dangerous Terrain or Gets Hot). That makes them different.

“What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof.”

"All their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad." 
   
Made in de
Storm Trooper with Maglight







Of course they are different in gaming terms.


No they are not according to the rules. The rules have a clear definition what "identical in gaming terms" means. p25 complex units first paragraph. Unfortunately being subject to the gets hot rule is not part of the definition.

 
   
Made in us
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot




Mesa, AZ

-Nazdreg- wrote:No they are not according to the rules. The rules have a clear definition what "identical in gaming terms" means. p25 complex units first paragraph. Unfortunately being subject to the gets hot rule is not part of the definition.

Gets Hot is an additional characteristic of a weapon (as defined on page 29), and weapons are part of the definition of "identical in gaming terms" (which is like you said, defined on page 25). So, Gets Hot must be taken into account when determining if models are "identical in gaming terms".


“What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof.”

"All their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad." 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: