Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/01 00:00:14
Subject: Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Jimsolo wrote:How do multiple combat squads in a rhino interact with the fire points? Can only one squad use both fire points? Can one model fire from one fire point, and another model from the other squad use the other fire point? Or can both squads have two models use the fire points?
Reread the Fire Point rules, GW actually wrote them with the possibility of transports with multiple units inside.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/01 00:00:30
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/01 00:02:08
Subject: Re: Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Jimsolo wrote:How do multiple combat squads in a rhino interact with the fire points? Can only one squad use both fire points? Can one model fire from one fire point, and another model from the other squad use the other fire point? Or can both squads have two models use the fire points?
That.
Is an excellent question.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/01 00:22:39
Subject: Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
MasterSlowPoke wrote: Jimsolo wrote:How do multiple combat squads in a rhino interact with the fire points? Can only one squad use both fire points? Can one model fire from one fire point, and another model from the other squad use the other fire point? Or can both squads have two models use the fire points?
Reread the Fire Point rules, GW actually wrote them with the possibility of transports with multiple units inside.
I'm sorry you think so, but I believe you're incorrect.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/01 01:52:49
Subject: Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Well the last point in Jimsolo's question is denied by the firepoint rules at least, as each firepoint only allows "A single model". So therefore its not 2 per combat squad.
However it is undefined whether the firepoints can be split between squads or must be from the same unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/01 02:05:23
Subject: Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
Kiredor wrote:Well the last point in Jimsolo's question is denied by the firepoint rules at least, as each firepoint only allows "A single model". So therefore its not 2 per combat squad.
However it is undefined whether the firepoints can be split between squads or must be from the same unit.
I included that possibility for completeness.  Although it's the longshot interpretation, it's not like Games Workshop has never 'clarified' a rule in their FAQ to show that their original intent bore no resemblance to the actual wording.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/01 02:05:34
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/01 16:24:47
Subject: Re: Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Probably more of a nitpicking question as I know HIWPI, but I'm curious of the actual interpretation, and it's two-fold:
Combat Squadding is done before Warlord traits are determined. Some Special Characters come with Warlord Traits pre-determined (ex: Vulkan and Iron Resolve).
If a character has a Warlord Trait built in, do I skip the "determine warlord traits" step? If so, since I cannot say "Before I roll for Warlord Traits I need to combat squad." am I still able to combat squad?
HIWPI is to act as though the step is still there. I just get to it, state I already have one and declare it. I'm pretty sure this is how people are playing it now, but I want to make certain on this one because I could see rulings in the other direction.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/01 16:32:54
Subject: Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
No you do not skip the determine warlords traits step(ever).
What happens is you reach that step and have the warlord trait predetermined.
When you take a SC like Vulcan, and you also take a Librarian in your Primary detachment; you have 2 HQ choices tied with LD10, you then have a choice as to which one is your warlord, and then you either roll for the librarian, or you get Iron Resolve.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/01 16:35:51
Subject: Re: Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
nobody wrote:Probably more of a nitpicking question as I know HIWPI, but I'm curious of the actual interpretation, and it's two-fold:
Combat Squadding is done before Warlord traits are determined. Some Special Characters come with Warlord Traits pre-determined (ex: Vulkan and Iron Resolve).
If a character has a Warlord Trait built in, do I skip the "determine warlord traits" step? If so, since I cannot say "Before I roll for Warlord Traits I need to combat squad." am I still able to combat squad?
HIWPI is to act as though the step is still there. I just get to it, state I already have one and declare it. I'm pretty sure this is how people are playing it now, but I want to make certain on this one because I could see rulings in the other direction.
You could? You really could? I'm sure questions like this are why GW doesn't bother updating their FAQs.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/01 17:19:23
Subject: Re: Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No you do not skip the determine warlords traits step(ever).
What happens is you reach that step and have the warlord trait predetermined.
When you take a SC like Vulcan, and you also take a Librarian in your Primary detachment; you have 2 HQ choices tied with LD10, you then have a choice as to which one is your warlord, and then you either roll for the librarian, or you get Iron Resolve.
Thanks, this is the way I was playing it and I'm sure how other people were playing it, but I was reading through the Warlord Traits section of the rulebook the other night and saw the part where it indicated that SCs can come with them built in, so I wasn't sure at that point if I was playing it right because it then went directly into rolling for the traits.
Crimson wrote:nobody wrote:Probably more of a nitpicking question as I know HIWPI, but I'm curious of the actual interpretation, and it's two-fold:
Combat Squadding is done before Warlord traits are determined. Some Special Characters come with Warlord Traits pre-determined (ex: Vulkan and Iron Resolve).
If a character has a Warlord Trait built in, do I skip the "determine warlord traits" step? If so, since I cannot say "Before I roll for Warlord Traits I need to combat squad." am I still able to combat squad?
HIWPI is to act as though the step is still there. I just get to it, state I already have one and declare it. I'm pretty sure this is how people are playing it now, but I want to make certain on this one because I could see rulings in the other direction.
You could? You really could? I'm sure questions like this are why GW doesn't bother updating their FAQs.
Actually yes, I have seen bad rulings on other rules in tournaments, you must be lucky.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/10/01 17:26:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/01 19:09:00
Subject: Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:When you take a SC like Vulcan, and you also take a Librarian in your Primary detachment; you have 2 HQ choices tied with LD10, you then have a choice as to which one is your warlord, and then you either roll for the librarian, or you get Iron Resolve.
That isn't quite right. You choose your Warlord when you build your army, not when it comes time to determine Warlord Traits.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 10:14:07
Subject: Re: Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Why can Techmarines take a Power Axe?
Is it just for the model? Or is the servo arm rule a mistake? Maybe its supposed to work like the old one.
The MotF may have some uses for his axe if he use a beamer. But otherwise its rather useless.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/04 02:49:50
Subject: Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Primered White
|
Ummm ok, so this is just me here, but a lot of these questions are easily solved by common sense. For example, Grav-weapons, DON'T have the rule, "Ignores Cover", so the question involving whether vehichles can ignore the effects of a Gravgun is, well, obvious haha When it comes to shooting Grav-weapons, it only wounds differently than other guns. And I don't see how it would cause 2 hull points, it specifically says, "loses a single hull point".
Black Templars follow the BT set of allies in the BRB.
The Forgefather rule would apply to combi-meltas, because the gun is ONE weaon, with two profiles.
Pedro Kantor has a Crimson Fist symbol, he has the Chapter Tactics(Imperial Fist) special rule. Yes, he is allowed in a Fist army.
If a FMC is hit in the shooting phase, by a shooting attack, it takes a grounded test, so yes, a savant locked FMC that gets hit in a subsequent friendly shooting phase takes a grounded test.
"Only one of each of the following items may be chosen per ARMY". That encompasses all detatchments. You can have only one of each.
You have the option to take champion and apothecary, once they take the upgrade, they are no longer vets, so they don't keep upgrades that are givin to vets.
Grenades are weapons, therefore they can be replaced with relics. Pistols are not melee weapons since they lack a melee profile. It, nor grenades can be exchanged for special weapons.
Cenobyte servitors are purchased along side Grimaldus, nothing says they must stay with him, soooo for all intents and purposes, they are their own unit, and Grimaldus can leave it.
Sword brothers don't count as initiates or neophytes, they are sword brothers.
I apologize if I sound dickish, it's just that a lot of these questions are solved with a little rules hunting. I hope you revise the list for better questions.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/04 03:46:24
Subject: Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Raging Ravener
|
Savant lock is not a shooting attack, It is a special rule attributed to a weapon that only activates when the weapon MISSES. Why would i take a grounding test from something that is not a shooting attack? The shooting attack misses. The book clearly states that. Just because something seems clear via common sense or fluff does not mean it is so cut and dry RAW wise. May not matter for you in a social environment but for tournaments it can make or break a game.
|
Never underestimate the Genestealers ability to sweeping advance EVERYTHING! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/04 03:52:05
Subject: Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
painkiller66678 wrote:Ummm ok, so this is just me here, but a lot of these questions are easily solved by common sense. For example, Grav-weapons, DON'T have the rule, "Ignores Cover", so the question involving whether vehichles can ignore the effects of a Gravgun is, well, obvious haha When it comes to shooting Grav-weapons, it only wounds differently than other guns. And I don't see how it would cause 2 hull points, it specifically says, "loses a single hull point".
So... Thanks for admitting you declined to read the threads discussing why these questions exist?
If a FMC is hit in the shooting phase, by a shooting attack, it takes a grounded test, so yes, a savant locked FMC that gets hit in a subsequent friendly shooting phase takes a grounded test.
I'm sure you can quote a rule saying that the Savant Lock is a shooting attack. How about you find the thread where it was discussed and enlighten the rest of the class.
Grenades are weapons, therefore they can be replaced with relics. Pistols are not melee weapons since they lack a melee profile. It, nor grenades can be exchanged for special weapons.
Now this I'd love an explanation for. Feel free to start a new thread.
I apologize if I sound dickish, it's just that a lot of these questions are solved with a little rules hunting. I hope you revise the list for better questions.
Yes, you sound dickish. Instead of pretending you can read better than anyone else, how about you prove your assertions in the threads where they're being discussed? I've quoted the "hot" issues that you proved literally zero proof for. I'll be waiting to see your posts in those threads.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/04 03:52:26
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/09 05:13:57
Subject: Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Primered White
|
Send the links to the posts, or something, and yes, I will prove my assertions, as quoted by yourself.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/09 11:31:54
Subject: Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Happyjew wrote: Kommissar Kel wrote:When you take a SC like Vulcan, and you also take a Librarian in your Primary detachment; you have 2 HQ choices tied with LD10, you then have a choice as to which one is your warlord, and then you either roll for the librarian, or you get Iron Resolve.
That isn't quite right. You choose your Warlord when you build your army, not when it comes time to determine Warlord Traits.
Ah, yes; That is correct, I was thinking that you choose the warlord when it comes time to roll for traits and did not double check myself. I usually only play with one eligible Warlord( CCS commander in guard, or only 1 SM HQ)
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/09 12:19:32
Subject: Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
painkiller66678 wrote:Send the links to the posts, or something, and yes, I will prove my assertions, as quoted by yourself.
No, you'll have to spend some time searching. If you had started off polite I'd help, but starting off on the wrong foot means you get to either start your own threads or find the previous ones
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/10 22:15:06
Subject: Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine
|
painkiller66678 wrote: Grenades are weapons, therefore they can be replaced with relics. Pistols are not melee weapons since they lack a melee profile. It, nor grenades can be exchanged for special weapons.
I agreed with most of your points until I got to this one. While Grenades are listed in the Weapons chapter of the BRB, the Space Marine Codex clearly lists them under Special Issue Wargear. Weapon profile or not, I think grenades are considered wargear for the purposes of Codex: Space Marines, and thus cannot be traded for relics.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/24 17:27:19
Subject: Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Adolescent Youth on Ultramar
Pennsylvania
|
Command Squads have veterans, which is addressed in the 1st Errata Insert "All Veterans may select from the special weapons list."
Page 164 – Command Squads, options Add the following option to this list.
“Any Veteran may take items from the Special Weapons lis
|
Luckier than the average smurf. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/31 08:22:10
Subject: Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Primered White
|
The OP of this thread discussed certain things with me, and I will admit, some of those rules are debatable, definently. As for the FMC, grounding test thing let me RAI qoute this sucker.
"If a flying Monstrous Creature that is Swooping suffers one or more HITS from a units shooting attack, it must take a grounding test immediatly after that Shooting attack has been resolved"
Savant Lock, third sentence: "On a 5+, the counter is removed and the target unit suffers a HIT (using it's rear armour value if it's a vehichle) with the profile above."
So the argument raised is, that Savant lock is a special rule for the Skyspear missle launcher, and that the Savant lock hit isn't the weapon itself dealing the blow. My question is, how? It's still the Skyspear missle hitting, it's a rule attached to the weapon, it's not like if the missle misses, it becomes a neatral entity or something. It counts as hit, and therefore takes the test.
I'll continue tomorrow, since my comp is gonna die.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/31 08:58:43
Subject: Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You didnt bold the critical word, which is "units"
The missile is NOT a unit. Absolutely.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/31 09:31:26
Subject: Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Primered White
|
So you're telling me, that once the turn is up, and the missle missed, that the missle becomes a free flying missle, that no longer counts as coming from a tank, or Space marines army in general? It's just, there, actually from what people are saying, it's no longer even a missle, just a special ability. When it's still a Skyspear missle, that came from a Space Marines Hunter.
Anyways. moving on. ClassicCaroway raises a good point I overlooked, grenades are listed in the Wargear part of a Space Marine, but so is a Boltgun, and a Boltpistol, so with that logic, you can't exchange the Space Marines Boltgun or pistol for anything. And before anyone says it, yes it lists grenades under the Special Issue Wargear, it also says to refer to the BRB for further info, and what's a grenade listed under in the BRB? Weapons.
For pistols, it says on pg.51, "a pistol can be used as a close combat weapon. if this is done, use the profile given above--the strength, AP, and special rules of the pistols shooting profile are ignored(SEE PG.52)", I cannot stress the bracketed area enough, it is a very important part.
Pg.52, Pistols, sentence 1: "All pistols are effectivley Assault 1 weapons. A Pistol also counts as a Close Combat Weapon IN THE ASSAULT PHASE(see pg24 and 51).
So in the assault phase, a pistol can be used as an assault weapon, NOT DURING LIST BUILDING, not even close. That's really not hard to grasp.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/31 09:36:55
Subject: Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The missile has its own rule, which does not state it is fired from a unit. So yes, the 5+ cannot currently cause a grounding test.
Not sure what youre arguing with the pistol - the pistol is always an Assault weapon.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/31 09:39:46
Subject: Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Primered White
|
It clearly states, "A Pistol also counts as a Close Combat Weapon IN THE ASSAULT PHASE", nowhere does it say that a pistol is always a melee weapon.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/31 09:43:27
Subject: Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, and "melee" is not same as "Assault", which is a type of shooting weapon. I am wondering what your point is.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/31 09:53:56
Subject: Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Primered White
|
People argue, saying that a pistol can be exchanged as a melee weapon for other options, when it is not a melee weapon, sorry for the confusion on that one.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/31 13:38:36
Subject: Space Marine 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Khorne Veteran Marine with Chain-Axe
|
Not to sound like a butthead, but the the weapons for relics question doesnt seem specific enough. As the question reads, it seems like you are asking if you can trade in more than one weapon for one relic, as in in give up your bolt pistol and chainsword for a burning blade and I know the intent of the question isnt that.
Perhaps it should read "Can model replace one weapon per relic to take mulitple relics? Or is the model restricted to only being able to take one relic period regardless of the number of weapons swapped?"
just my opinion...
|
"I ayn't so eezy ta kill... heheheh..."
BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD!!!! SKULLS FOR THE SKULL THRONE!!!! |
|
 |
 |
|