Switch Theme:

Adaptive Subroutines in Canoptek Harvest formation  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





UK

Mordaem wrote:
 Frozocrone wrote:
A better example would be Cursed Earth: '...targets the Psyker. Whilst the power is in effect, all models with the Daemon special rule (friend or foe) within 12" of the Psyker have a +1 invulnerable save."(pg 195, BRB). Note that Cursed Earth's wording is more similar to Adaptative Subroutines than any of the Psychic Powers you specified.

So would a Pink Horror models continue to receive a bonus of +1 to invulnerable save if said Psyker moved more than 12" away?


The difference is that Cursed Earth states that all models within 12" have +1 invulnerable save. Thats it. So anyone who moves outside of that range would lose it.

If it was worded that all models within 12" have +1 invulnerable save until the start of the next psyker phase it would be another story.


Yet that same wording is used within Adaptative Subroutines. Which is my argument regarding why they wouldn't gain Fleet/RP/Shred if they are outside 12" of the Spyder. As it has been mentioned, until the next movement phase is the duration for the benefit of the rules (since there is no specified duration in the BRB), not the check at which you see whether the units are within 12".
Also it's not necessary for it to say 'until the start' of the next Psyker phase' as (A) that would stop it during the opponents turn and (B) it's already covered in the Blessing rules anyway.

Hollimason, I genuinely did not understand that comment

YMDC = nightmare 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

It means that all of those powers the reason that they keep working when the unit moves out of 12 or out of the range of the power is because blessing says that it lasts until the next Psychic phase.

You keep comparing a rule to it that is not the same thing at all. The Tyranid rule has no clause on how long it works the reason it only works when you are within 12" is because it has no clause on how long it works.

If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





UK

As does Cursed Earth - and has been pointed out, stops working on a model if it moves more than 12" away from the Psyker that cast it.

The reason why the powers you stated last until the next Psychic phase is that they target the unit and state that they gain the rules/have permission to do what the Power grants. Until the next phase is simply how long they get the rules for.

AS states they benefit from said rules. Not that they actually get the rules.

YMDC = nightmare 
   
Made in us
Disgusting Nurgling




The specific wording on Cursed Earth is the difference. Whilst this power is in effect means that while the power is active it is constantly affecting any model with the demon special rule that is within 12". The power states that it is constant and only affecting units in 12 inches. AS is not worded that way. It is worded that at the beginning of the movement you pick a power from the list. The spyder and any units in its formation and within 12 inches gain the benefits of that power until the controlling player's next movement phase. At that point all models fulfilling those criteria gain the benefit of the power. The second part of that sentence specifies that they retain that benefit until that player's next movement phase. There is no other criteria for gaining or losing the ability. Any models that gained it have it until the player's next movement phase regardless of what else happens. Also if the spyder moves and brings more models into coherency they do not gain the power because they did not meet the criteria when the special rule was activated. It does not state that whilst the power is effect all models in 12" gain its benefit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/12 03:04:58


"Oh, you can't help that," said the Cat: "we're all mad here."

"If a mouth could have super powers, yours would." -my ex

"I know not all that may be coming, but be it what it will, I'll go to it laughing." 
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





Id have to agree with the "keeps the ability"

It seems from your examples that the benefit mimics a blessing more so than an area of effect power.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

It works almost exactly like a blessing actually.

If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Not as Good as a Minion






Brisbane





Round and round and round we go, where do we stop? At a locked thread. This is going nowhere, both sides are entrenched and all valid points have been made.

I wish I had time for all the game systems I own, let alone want to own... 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: