Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 14:00:30
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
Clemson SC
|
pumaman1 wrote:Hmm....Saviour Protocols: If a <Sept> Drones unit is within 3" of a friendly <Sept> Infantry or <Sept> Battlesuit unit when an enemy attack successfully wounds it, you can allocate that wound to the Drones unit instead of the target. If you do, that Drones unit suffers a mortal wound instead of the normal damage.
I don't have the rules with me today, but does it say anywhere that smite/psychic powers are an attack? permissive rule sets, things aren't/can't until they specifically can. The manifest powers, pass tests results happen, but I can't recall if psyker abilities are called out as attacks. Maybe we cannot savior protocol any from psychic attacks?
That said really, Tau could use something to do/some basic defense in the psychic phase. We don't even have a talisman of atras molach for 50 points anymore.
The subsection on Mortal Wounds says
"Some attacks inflict mortal wounds"
By implication, Smite is an attack, as it inflicts mortal wounds.
|
3000 pts
>1000 pts
:tyranid: <1500 pts
How do I own these?:
~2000 pts
~1000 pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 14:03:39
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
|
Overheal wrote: pumaman1 wrote:Hmm....Saviour Protocols: If a <Sept> Drones unit is within 3" of a friendly <Sept> Infantry or <Sept> Battlesuit unit when an enemy attack successfully wounds it, you can allocate that wound to the Drones unit instead of the target. If you do, that Drones unit suffers a mortal wound instead of the normal damage.
I don't have the rules with me today, but does it say anywhere that smite/psychic powers are an attack? permissive rule sets, things aren't/can't until they specifically can. The manifest powers, pass tests results happen, but I can't recall if psyker abilities are called out as attacks. Maybe we cannot savior protocol any from psychic attacks?
That said really, Tau could use something to do/some basic defense in the psychic phase. We don't even have a talisman of atras molach for 50 points anymore.
The subsection on Mortal Wounds says
"Some attacks inflict mortal wounds"
By implication, Smite is an attack, as it inflicts mortal wounds.
not necessarily, that's over-stepping the permissive rule set. Some attacks cause mortal wounds, like non-tau snipers to wounds of 6s, or rail-weaponry rolls of 6s. Those attacks inflict mortal wounds. The nova reactor inflicts a mortal wound, but its not an attack. So the ability to cause a mortal wound does not make it an attack. Automatically Appended Next Post: Unit1126PLL wrote: pumaman1 wrote: Unit1126PLL wrote: Talamare wrote: Unit1126PLL wrote:
A single Devastator Squad firing 4 Lascannons at a target is a singe 'attack'. Each lascannon can get an unsaved wound: 4. Each lascannon also does d6 damage, giving a potential 4d6 damage. However, a nearby drone can take one of the wounds and turns all of its damage into 1 mortal wound, killing the drone and leaving only 3d6 damage on whatever the drone savior'd.
I want to say "No" to so much of this.
4 Lascannons is not a single Attack, it's 4 Attacks.
A Flamer is d6 Attacks, 5 separate Flamers is 5 separate Attacks.
Each Lascannon deals d6 damage, giving each Lascannon a potential of d6 damage.
You do NOT add up each separate Lascannon damage. Since there does exist weapons that deal 2d6 damage.
This is important so that you can understand that each d6 damage can at most kill only a single model.
Your first two lines contradict themselves. Is a single Flamer d6 attacks, or are 5 flamers 5 attacks? Or 5d6 attacks?
And you might as well add up the lascannon damage. Against one of the tanks in my 3-baneblade company, most people roll 4 dice, then 4 dice, then I roll my saves, then they roll 4d6 damage, and my baneblade is hurt (again for brevity I am assuming every roll comes out in the opponent's favor).
4d6 damage is anywhere from 4-24 damage, meaning that it may very well not be enough to kill even an SM captain or a Sororitas canoness, or it could be enough to one-shot a Knight. If they're all firing at the same unit, you might as well roll them together (unless your opponent interrupts your shooting process with Savior Protocols or whathaveyou).
since every model has split fire, and every gun really has split fire, every gun that fires is an attack. That gun that fires can be combined with other guns that fire for multiple attacks from 1 multi-model unit. But the attack is either assault 3 (3 chances to hit) or d6 ( d6 chances to hit) its still 1 attack from 1 gun.
4 lascanons from 4 devastators shoot is 4 attacks, 1 centurion shooting 2 las cannons and 2 heavy bolters is 4 attacks. the heavy bolters shooting 3 times each is sitll 1 attack, becusae when the gun attacks it gets 3 chances to "hit", it cannot chose to shoot more or less.
So attacks are done by models, not units?
Because 4 lascannons is one 'unit's' attack, but 4 'model's' attacks.
I recognize that a single unit's attack can be split. That doesn't make it more than one attack, in my opinion.
(see the rabbit hole we're going down when you apply colloquial definitions to the rules?)
Not really, its pretty plain every model makes its own attacks in the rules. we just use fast dice because we are not idiots. and some units are capable of attacking multiple times, such as 3 weapon crisis suits. 1 attack to unit a, 1 attack to unit b, 1 attack to unit c. you attack with a weapon, with set characteristics, but you attack with a weapon, or bare fists in the assault phase
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/11 14:06:14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 14:12:41
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
Clemson SC
|
pumaman1 wrote:
not necessarily, that's over-stepping the permissive rule set. Some attacks cause mortal wounds, like non-tau snipers to wounds of 6s, or rail-weaponry rolls of 6s. Those attacks inflict mortal wounds. The nova reactor inflicts a mortal wound, but its not an attack. So the ability to cause a mortal wound does not make it an attack.
Actually, RAW, Nova Reactor would be an attack - it would not be an enemy attack, just a self-inflicted attack.
‘Saviour Protocols: If a <Sept> Drones unit is within 3"
of a friendly <Sept> Infantry or <Sept> Battlesuit
unit when an enemy attack successfully wounds it, you
can allocate that wound to the Drones unit instead of
the target. If you do, that Drones unit suffers a mortal
wound instead of the normal damage.'
|
3000 pts
>1000 pts
:tyranid: <1500 pts
How do I own these?:
~2000 pts
~1000 pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 14:33:04
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
|
Overheal wrote: pumaman1 wrote:
not necessarily, that's over-stepping the permissive rule set. Some attacks cause mortal wounds, like non-tau snipers to wounds of 6s, or rail-weaponry rolls of 6s. Those attacks inflict mortal wounds. The nova reactor inflicts a mortal wound, but its not an attack. So the ability to cause a mortal wound does not make it an attack.
Actually, RAW, Nova Reactor would be an attack - it would not be an enemy attack, just a self-inflicted attack.
‘Saviour Protocols: If a <Sept> Drones unit is within 3"
of a friendly <Sept> Infantry or <Sept> Battlesuit
unit when an enemy attack successfully wounds it, you
can allocate that wound to the Drones unit instead of
the target. If you do, that Drones unit suffers a mortal
wound instead of the normal damage.'
Lets review the nova reactor rules again, you may choose to use a nova reactor, if you do, the riptide suffers a mortal wound.
no notes of an attack, its just a result. its not a friendly attack, which you cannot do anyway. Mortal wounds can be caused by non-attacks. and since this is a RAW thread, being YMDC, find in the rules where psyhic powers are in fact attacks.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 14:44:12
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
"Pages 53, 56, 57, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73 and 74 – Saviour Protocols
Change this rule to read:
Saviour Protocols: If a <Sept> Drones unit is within 3" of a friendly <Sept> Infantry or <Sept> Battlesuit unit when an enemy attack successfully wounds it, you can allocate that wound to the Drones unit instead of the target. If you do, that Drones unit suffers a mortal wound instead of the normal damage."
It says you allocate "that wound" singular, not wounds plural. It does not say "you allocate that attack". One wound gets allocated and instead of damage, it gets converted to one mortal wound. With Smite, you have a wound that will deal some amount of damage plus d3 mortal wounds. These would be allocated separately, since Savior protocols specifies "that wound". You would convert the one wound doing normal damage to one dealing a mortal wound. Each mortal wound is allocated separately, and each mortal wound is converted to...a mortal wound, no difference from what you allocated. So, if you had 3 mortal wounds and one wound doing normal damage, you would need a drone unit with at least 4 models because you're allocating 4 mortal wounds.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 15:04:51
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
Clemson SC
|
"Mortal wounds can be caused by non-attacks."
speaking of permissive rulesets, where is this stated?
"its not a friendly attack, which you cannot do anyway."
Don't Orks and IG both have seargants that kill underlings for the sake of morale?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/11 15:05:34
3000 pts
>1000 pts
:tyranid: <1500 pts
How do I own these?:
~2000 pts
~1000 pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 15:07:35
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
pumaman1 wrote:Not really, its pretty plain every model makes its own attacks in the rules. we just use fast dice because we are not idiots. and some units are capable of attacking multiple times, such as 3 weapon crisis suits. 1 attack to unit a, 1 attack to unit b, 1 attack to unit c. you attack with a weapon, with set characteristics, but you attack with a weapon, or bare fists in the assault phase
So a single Battlecannon shot is an 'attack' that shoots d6 times and does d3 damage, does that mean that a drone can absorb all of the Battlecannon's shooting and turn it into one mortal wound?
That may be a better example, and seems to be my understanding of what the 'a single drone can block all of smite's wounds' camp believes.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 15:11:51
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
|
Overheal wrote:"Mortal wounds can be caused by non-attacks."
speaking of permissive rulesets, where is this stated?
"its not a friendly attack, which you cannot do anyway."
Don't Orks and IG both have seargants that kill underlings for the sake of morale?
They have special rules that cause an effect, lose 1 model etc, not "make an attack using the commissars bolt pistol" its a rule that has a result in removing a model. It's not an attack, its like necrons getting back up, its a rule that results in a change in model count. but its not an attack.
mortal wounds are cuased by a good-deal of non-attacks. Heck, even gets hot on Leman russes plasma overcharge, while connected to making an attack, is the result of the rule having a result. the tank was not subject to an attack. cannot lookout sir a gets hot, its not an attack. Automatically Appended Next Post: Unit1126PLL wrote: pumaman1 wrote:Not really, its pretty plain every model makes its own attacks in the rules. we just use fast dice because we are not idiots. and some units are capable of attacking multiple times, such as 3 weapon crisis suits. 1 attack to unit a, 1 attack to unit b, 1 attack to unit c. you attack with a weapon, with set characteristics, but you attack with a weapon, or bare fists in the assault phase
So a single Battlecannon shot is an 'attack' that shoots d6 times and does d3 damage, does that mean that a drone can absorb all of the Battlecannon's shooting and turn it into one mortal wound?
That may be a better example, and seems to be my understanding of what the 'a single drone can block all of smite's wounds' camp believes.
yeah, the battle cannon attacks 1ce, it gets d6 shots with d3 damage, but the battle cannon doesn't get "fired"/initiated/rolled for/etc more than 1ce. If it had the old storm surge you can fire 2ce if your are planted then it could. But your tanks heavy bolters are a seperate attack, and the lascannon on the hull is another attack.
a vulcan mega bolter shooting is 1 attack, with 15/30 "shots" within the attack or chances to hit
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/11 15:16:05
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 15:20:09
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
Clemson SC
|
"cannot lookout sir a gets hot, its not an attack."
Actually, RAW a Crisis Bodyguard could eat the Gets Hot from a self-inflicted wound by any <SEPT> CHARACTER
Unless the Lookout, Sir rule you're reading on someone else's datacard says "enemy" attacks, it can do this as well.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/11 15:22:27
3000 pts
>1000 pts
:tyranid: <1500 pts
How do I own these?:
~2000 pts
~1000 pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 15:41:47
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: pumaman1 wrote:Not really, its pretty plain every model makes its own attacks in the rules. we just use fast dice because we are not idiots. and some units are capable of attacking multiple times, such as 3 weapon crisis suits. 1 attack to unit a, 1 attack to unit b, 1 attack to unit c. you attack with a weapon, with set characteristics, but you attack with a weapon, or bare fists in the assault phase
So a single Battlecannon shot is an 'attack' that shoots d6 times and does d3 damage, does that mean that a drone can absorb all of the Battlecannon's shooting and turn it into one mortal wound?
That may be a better example, and seems to be my understanding of what the 'a single drone can block all of smite's wounds' camp believes.
No, Savior protocols turns one wound into a mortal wound, not one shot or one attack. You shoot d6 times, let's say you hit 5 times and ended up with 4 wounds. Each wound could be transferred to the drone unit; in that case instead of d3 damage it would be 1 mortal wound for each wound you transferred. If you were transferring 3 wounds, instead of 3d3 damage on the origiinal target, you'd do 3 mortal wounds on the drone unit
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 15:45:09
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
doctortom wrote: Unit1126PLL wrote: pumaman1 wrote:Not really, its pretty plain every model makes its own attacks in the rules. we just use fast dice because we are not idiots. and some units are capable of attacking multiple times, such as 3 weapon crisis suits. 1 attack to unit a, 1 attack to unit b, 1 attack to unit c. you attack with a weapon, with set characteristics, but you attack with a weapon, or bare fists in the assault phase
So a single Battlecannon shot is an 'attack' that shoots d6 times and does d3 damage, does that mean that a drone can absorb all of the Battlecannon's shooting and turn it into one mortal wound?
That may be a better example, and seems to be my understanding of what the 'a single drone can block all of smite's wounds' camp believes.
No, Savior protocols turns one wound into a mortal wound, not one shot or one attack. You shoot d6 times, let's say you hit 5 times and ended up with 4 wounds. Each wound could be transferred to the drone unit; in that case instead of d3 damage it would be 1 mortal wound for each wound you transferred. If you were transferring 3 wounds, instead of 3d3 damage on the origiinal target, you'd do 3 mortal wounds on the drone unit
I agree with you, man. I am just trying to understand the logic of the people who say "only one drone absorbs the smite attack" rather than d3 or d6 drones (however many the Smite rolls).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 16:00:45
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
|
doctortom wrote: Unit1126PLL wrote: pumaman1 wrote:Not really, its pretty plain every model makes its own attacks in the rules. we just use fast dice because we are not idiots. and some units are capable of attacking multiple times, such as 3 weapon crisis suits. 1 attack to unit a, 1 attack to unit b, 1 attack to unit c. you attack with a weapon, with set characteristics, but you attack with a weapon, or bare fists in the assault phase
So a single Battlecannon shot is an 'attack' that shoots d6 times and does d3 damage, does that mean that a drone can absorb all of the Battlecannon's shooting and turn it into one mortal wound?
That may be a better example, and seems to be my understanding of what the 'a single drone can block all of smite's wounds' camp believes.
No, Savior protocols turns one wound into a mortal wound, not one shot or one attack. You shoot d6 times, let's say you hit 5 times and ended up with 4 wounds. Each wound could be transferred to the drone unit; in that case instead of d3 damage it would be 1 mortal wound for each wound you transferred. If you were transferring 3 wounds, instead of 3d3 damage on the origiinal target, you'd do 3 mortal wounds on the drone unit
no, it transmits the "normal damage" into 1 mortal wound, so it can do 700000000 damage, it is all summed into 1 mortal wound, if it was just the 1 "shot" at the very least. if not full attack. Doesn't matter if your lascannon rolled a 6 on damage this time, its still just 1 attack. If your make an attack with a heavy 3d6 s8 ap-4, you sitll have 1 attack that can be summed into 1 drone with 1 mortal wound. if you have 2 models/ guns shooting heavy 3d6 s8 ap-4 attacks, then you will need 2 drones
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 16:01:55
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It seems they're reading "the attack" when it says "the wound" , perhaps? I would think that it saying "the wound" should be enough of an indicator that something's wrong if you're trying to convert more than one wound into one mortal wound.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 16:06:10
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: doctortom wrote: Unit1126PLL wrote: pumaman1 wrote:Not really, its pretty plain every model makes its own attacks in the rules. we just use fast dice because we are not idiots. and some units are capable of attacking multiple times, such as 3 weapon crisis suits. 1 attack to unit a, 1 attack to unit b, 1 attack to unit c. you attack with a weapon, with set characteristics, but you attack with a weapon, or bare fists in the assault phase
So a single Battlecannon shot is an 'attack' that shoots d6 times and does d3 damage, does that mean that a drone can absorb all of the Battlecannon's shooting and turn it into one mortal wound?
That may be a better example, and seems to be my understanding of what the 'a single drone can block all of smite's wounds' camp believes.
No, Savior protocols turns one wound into a mortal wound, not one shot or one attack. You shoot d6 times, let's say you hit 5 times and ended up with 4 wounds. Each wound could be transferred to the drone unit; in that case instead of d3 damage it would be 1 mortal wound for each wound you transferred. If you were transferring 3 wounds, instead of 3d3 damage on the origiinal target, you'd do 3 mortal wounds on the drone unit
I agree with you, man. I am just trying to understand the logic of the people who say "only one drone absorbs the smite attack" rather than d3 or d6 drones (however many the Smite rolls).
The logic is, smite isn't an attack, so ineligible to be savior protocoled at all. The psyker performs a psychic test, successfully manifests, the nearest enemy unit takes mortal wounds. It's never defined as an attack, like summary execution is never defined as an attack, like gets hot is never defined as an attack, like nova reactor is never defined as an attack. Unlike how most sniper weapons/railguns get to cause mortal wounds as the result of an attack. Its a special rule that results in mortal wounds w/o an attack.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
doctortom wrote:It seems they're reading "the attack" when it says "the wound" , perhaps? I would think that it saying "the wound" should be enough of an indicator that something's wrong if you're trying to convert more than one wound into one mortal wound.
Happens all the time bro, quantum shielding, nice 11 damage, too bad its 1 now, also literal wording: "that Drones unit suffers a mortal wound instead of the normal damage." so normally 2 damage becomes 1 mortal wound
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/08/11 16:13:19
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 16:30:03
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
"Attack" has literally nothing to do with savior protocols. Nothing in the rule says it absorbs an attack. the word is used in the rule in a way that has no effect on what the rule does. Stop reading that much into it.
The rule makes a drone absorb the wound. A wound is not damage. A wound is what happens when an opponent hits and then beats the strength vs toughness rule.
After all that THEN you activate savior protocols to try and negate that WOUND with a drone. If you pass, great! If you fail..the opponent then shows you the damage going into that drone.
Mortal wounds! WOUNDS. PLURAL. Sure you could take them and have one drone tank them, but you have to make every save (At least I believe drones have that weird 5+ FNP or something by the FAQ). If any wound is not passed the drone will take damage. Mortal wounds are each separate wounds and are resolved separately as such. So if a drone doesn't pass it's fnp, it dies and the wounds go toward their original target or carry on to other drones if that is what you want to do.
It's extremely clear how all these different rules work, the book actually defines what a wound is, how mortal wounds work, how damage works, and the FAQ/indexes show how Savior Protocols work. How is this an issue?
|
Sisters and Wolves 4000
~4000 points of Skaven
~2000 Kaptain Gitklaw's Grots
~2400 Kharadron Overlords
4x Imperial Knights
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 16:30:25
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
pumaman1 wrote:If your make an attack with a heavy 3d6 s8 ap-4, you sitll have 1 attack that can be summed into 1 drone with 1 mortal wound. if you have 2 models/ guns shooting heavy 3d6 s8 ap-4 attacks, then you will need 2 drones
Let's say you have a 3d6 shot weapon, and you roll 10 total. That's 10 attacks. If 3 drones absorb 3 of those hits, there's still 7 remaining.
Under 'Weapon types' which comes after the Shooting rules, we are given an example. "Heavy 3" weapons make 3 attacks. They specifically say 3 "attacks." If drones absorb one attack, there are still 2 remaining, from one model's Heavy 3 weapon. Assault 1 weapons make 1 attack. This is explicitly given to us as information. 3d6 shots? 3d6 attacks.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 16:39:48
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Savior protocols can't treat smite as a normal attack by the RAW, as smite is not a normal attack.
Normal attacks that cause a wound do damage. All of the damage is applied at once to the model which suffers the wound, on a failed save of course.
A attack that causes mortal wounds gives no saves, and the damage is a pool that is applied one at a time to the unit, resulting in all of the damage not being applied to a single model but rather to the unit one point at a time. This is inferred from the rules as written and clarifies in the FAQ to be the case.
As such if a model suffers a wound that does d6 damage, a drone with saviour protocols can intercept the wound and convert it to 1 mortal wound. This would have to happen before the damage is rolled because at that point the drone can not intercept damage, but wounds.
If a unit suffers 3 mortal wounds as they are applied one at a time the unit, and not applied to a model, the first one would kill a drone leaving 2 more mortal wounds.
From the FAQ drones don't intercept hits, they intercept successful wounds. An attack that hits and does d6 damage is one wound that becomes d6 damage. An attack that hits and does 3 mortal wounds are three separate wounds that do 1 damage each.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/11 16:40:16
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 16:50:01
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I would actually argue that smite is a psychic attack. It's just an attack that it's "hit" is the test itself and it deals mortal wounds. It's like any other attack that would deal purely mortal wounds instead of needing to roll dice to wound.
So basically smite is a 5+ on two dice to hit, auto wounding, and 1 damage attack.
Sure this isn't explicitly stated, but it's how it's described in the rules. I would therefore say it's fine to have a drone intercept the wound..even though it really makes no sense fluff wise to let a drone intercept spooky warp psychic magic. Or just go by the other rule GW established: If you can't agree, roll a die to decide if it works for drones or doesn't.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/11 16:50:48
Sisters and Wolves 4000
~4000 points of Skaven
~2000 Kaptain Gitklaw's Grots
~2400 Kharadron Overlords
4x Imperial Knights
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 16:53:42
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I believe drones can intercept the wounds, but not all of them at once - just one wound per drone.
Also, this makes sense to me because smite is just 'mind bullets' and not really magic in the strictest sense (like Dominate or Gaze of the Emperor). This is why almost anyone can use it - it's an abstraction of the psyker's ability to telekinetically throw rocks / shoot lightning / mind daggers / whatever
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 16:54:59
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
|
mmzero252 wrote:"Attack" has literally nothing to do with savior protocols. Nothing in the rule says it absorbs an attack. the word is used in the rule in a way that has no effect on what the rule does. Stop reading that much into it.
The rule makes a drone absorb the wound. A wound is not damage. A wound is what happens when an opponent hits and then beats the strength vs toughness rule.
After all that THEN you activate savior protocols to try and negate that WOUND with a drone. If you pass, great! If you fail..the opponent then shows you the damage going into that drone.
Mortal wounds! WOUNDS. PLURAL. Sure you could take them and have one drone tank them, but you have to make every save (At least I believe drones have that weird 5+ FNP or something by the FAQ). If any wound is not passed the drone will take damage. Mortal wounds are each separate wounds and are resolved separately as such. So if a drone doesn't pass it's fnp, it dies and the wounds go toward their original target or carry on to other drones if that is what you want to do.
It's extremely clear how all these different rules work, the book actually defines what a wound is, how mortal wounds work, how damage works, and the FAQ/indexes show how Savior Protocols work. How is this an issue?
HA, attack has nothing to do with it: Saviour Protocols: If a <Sept> Drones unit is within 3" of a friendly <Sept> Infantry or <Sept> Battlesuit unit when an enemy attack successfully wounds it, you can allocate that wound to the Drones unit instead of the target. If you do, that Drones unit suffers a mortal wound instead of the normal damage.
And thank you Blaktoof: From the FAQ drones don't intercept hits, they intercept successful wounds. An attack that hits and does d6 damage is one wound that becomes d6 damage. An attack that hits and does 3 mortal wounds are three separate wounds that do 1 damage each.
"Let's say you have a 3d6 shot weapon, and you roll 10 total. That's 10 attacks. If 3 drones absorb 3 of those hits, there's still 7 remaining. " a 3d6 shot weapon is still only firing once, with 1 attack, its profile states the 1 attack gets to roll 3d6 dice for "to hits" and then roll to wound. It isn't 3d6 attacks, its 1 attack. if i swing at you once with a sword with 1 balde or 11 blades, i am making 1 attack, not 11.
IF drones could intercept smite, which i am in the camp of they cannot at all, then i can see 1 drone per mortal wound. But since i contest currently in 8th psychic powers are not defined as attacks (like they were with 7th and 6th at least for offensive powers i npart by the weapon profile, make a shooting attack etc) that it ultimately is moot because drones cant detect or stop mind bullets
Automatically Appended Next Post: Unit1126PLL wrote:I believe drones can intercept the wounds, but not all of them at once - just one wound per drone.
Also, this makes sense to me because smite is just 'mind bullets' and not really magic in the strictest sense (like Dominate or Gaze of the Emperor). This is why almost anyone can use it - it's an abstraction of the psyker's ability to telekinetically throw rocks / shoot lightning / mind daggers / whatever
I envisioned being an arcane application of force to the inner squishy organs/vital component, a dagger is easily defeated by power armor, but there are no saves. lighting a warpfire on your insides
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/11 16:58:30
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 16:59:08
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
You say ha..but I'm still right. It's only there to signify that you can't save against things like Nova Reactor.
|
Sisters and Wolves 4000
~4000 points of Skaven
~2000 Kaptain Gitklaw's Grots
~2400 Kharadron Overlords
4x Imperial Knights
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 17:00:28
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
I told you where to find it in the rules, but I'll tell you again. Under "weapon types" after the Shooting rules, we are explicitly told that a Heavy 3 weapon makes 3 attacks.
Therefore, a 3d6 weapon is making 3d6 attacks. This is very clear.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 17:04:18
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
pumaman1 wrote: Unit1126PLL wrote:I believe drones can intercept the wounds, but not all of them at once - just one wound per drone.
Also, this makes sense to me because smite is just 'mind bullets' and not really magic in the strictest sense (like Dominate or Gaze of the Emperor). This is why almost anyone can use it - it's an abstraction of the psyker's ability to telekinetically throw rocks / shoot lightning / mind daggers / whatever
I envisioned being an arcane application of force to the inner squishy organs/vital component, a dagger is easily defeated by power armor, but there are no saves. lighting a warpfire on your insides
That's just a matter of interpretation. A mind-dagger could slice through power-armour because power armour exists in the physical realm and the dagger exists half-in-the-warp, half not. A drone could, say, interpose itself, and disrupt or destroy the part that is in reality anyways (though it suffers for it!).
Arguably, AI even have souls (which is why Imperial AI can be possessed) which means they'd just be throwing their 'soul' under the bus to save the 'soul' of their commander.
Smite still needs Line of Sight so obviously it somehow 'travels' to the target on a trajectory, rather than just simply affecting it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 17:12:16
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
All TAU AI are programmed with saviour protocols, and James Brown protocols.
So yes, they have Soul to spare
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 17:27:28
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
This was resolved in the second reply to this thread. (just seeing if anyone cares)
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 17:29:10
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
Clemson SC
|
Overheal wrote:"cannot lookout sir a gets hot, its not an attack."
Actually, RAW a Crisis Bodyguard could eat the Gets Hot from a self-inflicted wound by any <SEPT> CHARACTER
Unless the Lookout, Sir rule you're reading on someone else's datacard says "enemy" attacks, it can do this as well.
Oh speaking of this: Longstrike's Gunship is a CHARACTER. So if you were so inclined, Crisis Bodyguards could take the mortal wound suffered from an Ion Cannon overcharge RAW.
|
3000 pts
>1000 pts
:tyranid: <1500 pts
How do I own these?:
~2000 pts
~1000 pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 17:30:20
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
People are fickle and don't want their precious models killed so they will argue every tiny little thing just to keep them alive. Just go look at the thread about not being able to charge a hover tank because you can't get a base within 1" of the hull...
|
Sisters and Wolves 4000
~4000 points of Skaven
~2000 Kaptain Gitklaw's Grots
~2400 Kharadron Overlords
4x Imperial Knights
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 17:33:16
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
|
mmzero252 wrote:People are fickle and don't want their precious models killed so they will argue every tiny little thing just to keep them alive. Just go look at the thread about not being able to charge a hover tank because you can't get a base within 1" of the hull...
i guess reading is hard? because i was saying you cannot save smite with drones at all.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 17:34:19
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
Clemson SC
|
pumaman1 wrote: mmzero252 wrote:People are fickle and don't want their precious models killed so they will argue every tiny little thing just to keep them alive. Just go look at the thread about not being able to charge a hover tank because you can't get a base within 1" of the hull...
i guess reading is hard? because i was saying you cannot save smite with drones at all.
By arguing (poorly?) that Smite is not an enemy attack.
|
3000 pts
>1000 pts
:tyranid: <1500 pts
How do I own these?:
~2000 pts
~1000 pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 17:38:04
Subject: Saviour protocol vs. Smite
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Smite is definitely an attack. It's not a hug or a bunch of roses. It's designed to kill.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
|