Switch Theme:

Tyranid Flyrant Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Ferocious Blood Claw






So a hive tyrant has 2 pairs of scything talons, and typically can swap them both out to run 2x TL devourers. That being said after assembling my new flyrant I noticed the wings were meant to be placed where a pair of scything talons would normally be. Unless I modify the wings/model I can only fit 1x TL devourer on the model which brings me to my question, do flyrants lose a weapon to gain wings? The codex just lists it as an upgrade with no swapping needed.

Also if flyrants can still take 2x weapons will I get in trouble in tournaments for not being WYSIWYG or will the wings + 1x devourer be ok to show wings + 2x devourer as it is the model GW provides?

3000 Points
1000 Points 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Hive tyrants with wings do not lose a weapon to gain said wings.

Hive tyrants with wings can still take 2x weapons.

As far as WYSIWYG goes, that is up to the TO.

Maybe try the 2x devourer and green stuff the wings to the back of the model?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





No, tyrants don't loose a set of arms to take wings. One nice thing about 6th ed codex, shrikes can take deathspitters and boneswords/lashwips.

They really should have made the model with a socket between the first and third ... smoke tower (? whatever in the hell those stacks are supposed to be on the carapace) and had the tower be a separate piece that could be added.

Its a bit of work but you can cut off that second tower, carve out a socket, then use a short section of metal rod as a pin for each wing. Then fill in the gaps around the carapace and wing ball with some green stuff and shape a bit to look like tendons.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Idaho

http://www.dakkadakka.com/gallery/516972-Hive%20Tyrant%2C%20Tyranids%2C%20Warhammer%2040%2C000.html

Simple and easy conversion if you have a spare set of claw arms.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/18 08:11:15


2200
4500
3500 
   
Made in au
Raging Ravener






I've modeled all my twin linked devourers by using a normal devourer arm (or a heavier one if you have spare bitz) with two devourers back to back..If you keep the pipes while trimming the devourers off of their original arms you can use them to strengthen the glue up and tie the remodel together nicely without needing green stuff. Looks good and fits the model.
   
Made in gb
Tough Tyrant Guard



UK

 mekugi wrote:
I've modeled all my twin linked devourers by using a normal devourer arm (or a heavier one if you have spare bitz) with two devourers back to back..If you keep the pipes while trimming the devourers off of their original arms you can use them to strengthen the glue up and tie the remodel together nicely without needing green stuff. Looks good and fits the model.


Plus you keep your Tyranids with a total of six limbs
   
Made in gb
Tunneling Trygon





Nottinghamshire- England

A lot of people like to use the Tyrannofex Fleshborer Hive

Looks nasty enough, keeps the 6 limbs rule intact, and they're relatively easy to get hold of

Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.


A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else.
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Or take the Forgeworld arms which include a twin linked devourer in each arm. Models with 8 limbs are not Tyranids who have 6 limbs.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Gods above and below forbid that the adaptable, built by the genome up, Tyranids have eight limbs when it suits their purpose.
   
Made in gb
Tough Tyrant Guard



UK

Rumbleguts wrote:
Gods above and below forbid that the adaptable, built by the genome up, Tyranids have eight limbs when it suits their purpose.


It's not the end of the world and you can convincingly argue that wings coming out of the carapace are some sort of symbiote attached to the Tyrant but still... it does kind of break the trend with the rest of the fairly unified theme running through the army. A matter of taste, I suppose.
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

Rumbleguts wrote:
Gods above and below forbid that the adaptable, built by the genome up, Tyranids have eight limbs when it suits their purpose.


I dunno, you'd have to change a lot of stuff to make a six-limbed organism turn into an eight-limbed one. You can't just stick a couple of arms on it, you have to drastically overhaul the skeletal and muscular structures, plus make sure the circulatory system can handle it.

If I wanted my Hive Tyrants to have wings and 4 sets of arms I would either split the lower set of arms in two at the elbow joint or give them insectoid wings rather than the chiropteran ones in the kit.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 PrinceRaven wrote:
Rumbleguts wrote:
Gods above and below forbid that the adaptable, built by the genome up, Tyranids have eight limbs when it suits their purpose.


I dunno, you'd have to change a lot of stuff to make a six-limbed organism turn into an eight-limbed one. You can't just stick a couple of arms on it, you have to drastically overhaul the skeletal and muscular structures, plus make sure the circulatory system can handle it.

If I wanted my Hive Tyrants to have wings and 4 sets of arms I would either split the lower set of arms in two at the elbow joint or give them insectoid wings rather than the chiropteran ones in the kit.


Almost how mine is done, except split at the shoulder. Keeps most of the aesthetic.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




A tyrant (or Fex) having 4 devourer guns is actually a throwback to the 4th edition dex. As of the last couple of codices.... they should only have 2 guns. A TLDev on the left, and a TLDev on the right. That leaves a socket open for the wings without an issue.


(History: Nids used to have a rule that taking two of the same weapon meant the 'acted' like a single twin-linked version. Hence you would take 4 devourers which would act like 2 TL devourers. That, like so many 'nid' rules, has been removed.)

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: