Switch Theme:

Death Ray Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Stalwart Strike Squad Grey Knight



Arkansas

I have read through some of the Death Ray posts. I have one simple question... does the death ray have an arc of fire.... It does not appear to be mounted on a turret. I have seen people play it where they are able to shoot objects behind them... any thoughts on this?

In the name of the Emperor I will smite you with my Fu**, GW took that away too!  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It is a hull mounted weapon, so 45 degrees total arc in either plane

You cannot wound out of LOS.
   
Made in us
Stalwart Strike Squad Grey Knight



Arkansas

That is what I told the guy that it was played against... I was under the assumption it would still have to adhere to the rules of vehicles.



Automatically Appended Next Post:
So I am running a tournament this week and am getting push back on this one. I am leaning towards the post mentioned above... that the weapon can not swivel and therefore is required to remain within the 45 degree arc.

Here is the pushback...

The Death Ray rule states:

To fire the death ray, nominate a point on the battlefield anywhere within the weapon's range, then nominate a second point within 3D6 " of the first. Then, draw a straight line between the two points.... blah blah

My thoughts towards the ruling is that the weapon cannot pick a point that It would not be able to normally choose since it states "within the weapon's range". Is this also what everyone else thinks. I just do not see it making ass end shots with a weapon that cannot swivel.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/18 17:34:47


In the name of the Emperor I will smite you with my Fu**, GW took that away too!  
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Azactaylor,
The issue stems not from the alternative method to determine the To Hit results, but from the Requirement that Wounds be allocated to Models within Line of Sight.

If the Model has an alternative method of determining if a Model is hit then the Model still uses that method to determine how many Hits are generated against which Targets/Units. In this situation we have a Rule granting special permission to draw a line and count the number of Models underneath to determine the number dice we Roll to determine Wounds and nothing more. That Rule can be evoked as much as the players want to draw the line behind the vehicle, unless the specific Rule states it needs Line of Sight to function, but that still prevents those Wounds being allocated.

On that note:
Do Smart Missiles Systems still lack the ability to Allocate wounds outside of Line of Sight?

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/06/18 17:59:58


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




I've never been sure how to play it in regards to firing arcs.

I play it as hull mounted for the purpose of being fair. But I expect my opponent to accept that I can hit, wound and remove models as casualties beyond the weapon's range / firing arc.

I have had a situation where someone has tried to argue that if the death ray goes beyond 12" of the weapon then it's out of range or if it goes beyond the 45 degree firing arc then it's out of range.

HIWPI:

The start point must be within range and the firing arc of the death ray as though it were hull mounted but everything after that should be treated as a turret mounted weapon with a range of 12 + 3D6".
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




RAW is clear - it is at best a hull mounted weapon, and this you follow the rules limitign fire arcs etc as per a hull mounted weapon. Anything else you need your opponents consent to change the rules in your favour
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: