Switch Theme:

Old Newbie Q about transports counts and FoC, darn it.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Los Angeles

I knew what it meant in previous editions, but now I'm flipping through the damned 7e RB and can't find it.

a. Can a SM army, just the one C.A.D., take 6 tactical squads and their rhinos?

b. For an ally, can you take two troops choices, but *also* have transports for them?

Examples:

aa. Ultras:
6 tac squads and 6 rhinos
their allies, 2 A.M. chimeras, each full of dorks

bb. Eldar / Dark E
with the D.E. as allies, 2 troops, like Kabs and Wyches. One has a venom the other a raider?

Cited page numbers?

Or is this all Codex beats RB, as (as far as I know) the transport entries all state that they don't take up a FoC spot, so 'yes' to all of the above?

"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.

"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013

Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Alaska

Dedicated transports for CAD troops don't take up a troop slot but still gain the objectice secured rule.
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Page 82, Dedicated Transports box. "Thhese Dedicated Transports do not use up a slot...."

Is that what you're looking for?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/25 11:57:53


Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Los Angeles

 don_mondo wrote:
Page 82, Dedicated Transports box. "Thhese Dedicated Transports do not use up a slot...."

Is that what you're looking for?
Cripes, Don. I think you have been finding or citing stuff for me, for years now. Often, very obvious rulings.

Thanks. If our paths ever cross (a GT someplace?) I am buying you a beer.

"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.

"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013

Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Brothererekose wrote:
I knew what it meant in previous editions, but now I'm flipping through the damned 7e RB and can't find it.

a. Can a SM army, just the one C.A.D., take 6 tactical squads and their rhinos?

b. For an ally, can you take two [Three] troops choices, but *also* have transports for them?

Examples:

aa. Ultras:
6 tac squads and 6 rhinos
their allies, 2 [3] A.M. chimeras, each full of dorks
(Emphasis mine)

Fixed that for you

Allied Detachments can have up to three allied troop choices.

But the answer is yes, as don_mondo has cited.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/25 16:03:47


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

 Brothererekose wrote:
 don_mondo wrote:
Page 82, Dedicated Transports box. "Thhese Dedicated Transports do not use up a slot...."

Is that what you're looking for?
Cripes, Don. I think you have been finding or citing stuff for me, for years now. Often, very obvious rulings.

Thanks. If our paths ever cross (a GT someplace?) I am buying you a beer.


Always glad to help. And also glad to drink beer.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 DeathReaper wrote:
[

Fixed that for you

Allied Detachments can have up to three allied troop choices.

No, allies get 2 troops. As it is written, so it will be.

   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Los Angeles

coredump wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
[Fixed that for you
Allied Detachments can have up to three allied troop choices.
No, allies get 2 troops. As it is written, so it will be.

Yeah, DR, I appreciate the input, but page 122 has the same FoC charts from 6e, showing 2 boxes for Allied troops, one for E, 1HQ, 1 FA & 1 HS.

Care to cite from where you get three?


"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.

"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013

Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

There is a known issue with the digital release containing different Force Organization Chart images depending on the source, but the text was constant over all of them.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/26 15:53:51


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Brothererekose wrote:
coredump wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
[Fixed that for you
Allied Detachments can have up to three allied troop choices.
No, allies get 2 troops. As it is written, so it will be.

Yeah, DR, I appreciate the input, but page 122 has the same FoC charts from 6e, showing 2 boxes for Allied troops, one for E, 1HQ, 1 FA & 1 HS.

Care to cite from where you get three?


Yes, I was looking at my copy of the digital release and it has 3 boxes for troops, 3 for elites, 3 for fast attack and 3 for heavy.

Never even looked at the text that contradicts the picture in the book, because why would they be different...

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Los Angeles

 DeathReaper wrote:
 Brothererekose wrote:
coredump wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
[Fixed that for you
Allied Detachments can have up to three allied troop choices.
No, allies get 2 troops. As it is written, so it will be.

Yeah, DR, I appreciate the input, but page 122 has the same FoC charts from 6e, showing 2 boxes for Allied troops, one for E, 1HQ, 1 FA & 1 HS.

Care to cite from where you get three?


Yes, I was looking at my copy of the digital release and it has 3 boxes for troops, 3 for elites, 3 for fast attack and 3 for heavy.

Never even looked at the text that contradicts the picture in the book, because why would they be different...
Huh, so according to the digital, DE Allies could be:

An HQ, then Kabalites, wyches & kabalites, x3 venoms, 3 units of reavers, x3 Trublasters (and their venoms), *and* 3 ravagers? All that to go along with a normal FoC fulla eldar? Just points pending?

I love it that GW's rules are written by some archon cackling away in Commorragh. The strife, arguments and confusion at game tables and on the 'Net invigorating the soul-deprived pit fiend.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/26 18:48:48


"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.

"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013

Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: