Switch Theme:

Various basic Necron questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





USA

So a couple of interesting scenarios here that the BRB doesn't really clarify very well.

1) Look out sir. Lets say that a group of 10 Necron warriors fires on a squad of 5 tactical marines joined by Brother Corbulo. Let's say the Necrons incur 9 wounds. Can I choose to use a Look Out Sir for all 9 wounds and sink them into Corbulo on a 2+ roll check one by one? The BRB seems to say any time that a wound is taken. Does this work for other independent characters?

2) Our Weapons Are Useless. Last night I charged a group of Necron warriors with a CCB. Being that I chose to take all hits on the barge, and it being AV13, the warriors could do nothing to it. I miss all three of my attacks (garbage rolls lol) and he cannot do anything. Can he break away from combat sustaining no wounds, or does the morale check have to be activated by a 25% loss? Also, if he chooses to fail because of OWAU, can I then sweeping advance him?

3) Night Scythes. The BRB (6th edition, haven't gotten 7th yet) states that no unit may embark or disembark from a zooming flier. Well the Night Scythe is in perpetual zoom. Does this mean that units can only embark or disembark before the Scythe moves and not after it moves?

4) what exactly is the firing arc of a Night Scythe? In other words, while I know that it can only pivot before the move, and only 90 degrees at that, but what about if a unit it wishes to target is slightly to the left or to the right of the guns?

Thanks again guys!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/26 23:10:36


The original R€4P€RK1NG


 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

These are all 6th ed answers you're looking for, correct?

 Murdius Maximus wrote:
1) Look out sir. Lets say that a group of 10 Necron warriors fires on a squad of 5 tactical marines joined by Brother Corbulo. Let's say the Necrons incur 9 wounds. Can I choose to use a Look Out Sir for all 9 wounds and sink them into Corbulo on a 2+ roll check one by one? The BRB seems to say any time that a wound is taken. Does this work for other independent characters?
Wounds are allocated to the closest model. Any that are allocated to the IC can be reallocated to another model on a 2+.
Almost sounds like your trying to allocated from a model to the IC, which you can't do.

2) Our Weapons Are Useless. Last night I charged a group of Necron warriors with a CCB. Being that I chose to take all hits on the barge, and it being AV13, the warriors could do nothing to it. I miss all three of my attacks (garbage rolls lol) and he cannot do anything. Can he break away from combat sustaining no wounds, or does the morale check have to be activated by a 25% loss? Also, if he chooses to fail because of OWAU, can I then sweeping advance him?
Models attacking the chariot choose if they're hitting the chariot or rider in close combat.

3) Night Scythes. The BRB (6th edition, haven't gotten 7th yet) states that no unit may embark or disembark from a zooming flier. Well the Night Scythe is in perpetual zoom. Does this mean that units can only embark or disembark before the Scythe moves and not after it moves?
There was an 6th ed FAQ that detailed how this works. It should still be in the new one as well.

4) what exactly is the firing arc of a Night Scythe? In other words, while I know that it can only pivot before the move, and only 90 degrees at that, but what about if a unit it wishes to target is slightly to the left or to the right of the guns?
They're Hull Mounted weapons, so have a 45* arc of sight.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/26 20:41:25


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

From the 6th ed FAQ:

Page 51 – Night Scythes.
Add the following special rule:
“Invasion Beams: A unit that begins its Movement phase
embarked upon a Night Scythe can disembark before or after
the vehicle has moved (including pivoting on the spot, etc) so
long as the vehicle has not moved more than 36". If the Night
Scythe moves more than 24" in the same turn, the
disembarking unit can only fire Snap Shots.”

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: