Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/27 11:50:24
Subject: Land Raider Prometheus and -1 to cover saves
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
The rule reads as thus:
Battle Auspex: ...........In addition, the cover saves of enemy targets it fires on are reduced by 1 (so a 4+ cover saves becomes a 5+ and so on)
My question to you is how long does this last? Is it only the Raider that can make use of this -1 save or can any unit subsequently after that as well?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/27 11:55:12
Subject: Land Raider Prometheus and -1 to cover saves
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
If the wording is correct, yes, any unit firing on that same target afterwards will benefit of the -1 Cover Save.
That makes it pretty much like tau Markerlights no ?
The big question would be: do those debuffs stack ?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/27 11:56:28
Subject: Land Raider Prometheus and -1 to cover saves
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
IF you rule it that is affects all shooting, then you will have to rule it that it affects all shooting for the rest of the game. There is no duration stated so you either rule it just that shooting attack, or rule it for the rest of the game.
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/27 12:10:10
Subject: Land Raider Prometheus and -1 to cover saves
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
RAW there's nothing to prevent it from stacking AND from counting for the rest of the game.
Pretty nice FAQ material I guess.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/27 12:13:58
Subject: Land Raider Prometheus and -1 to cover saves
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I believe there is a line in the BRB that states if an effect does not state how long it lasts; it lasts until the next phase of when it was used. It might just apply to psychic powers and such though. Also, for people saying that it stacks, the special rules section states that unless a special rule states otherwise it can only be applied once.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/06/27 12:15:13
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/27 12:31:05
Subject: Land Raider Prometheus and -1 to cover saves
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
BRB SR: "Unless specifically stated, a model cannot gain the benefit of a special rule more than once. However, the effects of multiple different special rules are cumulative."
That would not apply to this rule, no model is gaining the benefit of a special rule, at all.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/27 12:33:41
Subject: Land Raider Prometheus and -1 to cover saves
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
morgoth wrote:BRB SR: "Unless specifically stated, a model cannot gain the benefit of a special rule more than once. However, the effects of multiple different special rules are cumulative."
That would not apply to this rule, no model is gaining the benefit of a special rule, at all.
Is your contention that a Battle Auspex is not a special rule or that it's not a benefit?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/27 12:46:18
Subject: Land Raider Prometheus and -1 to cover saves
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
sonicaucie wrote:
Is your contention that a Battle Auspex is not a special rule or that it's not a benefit?
is your contention that it's either ???
It's not a special rule, it's a weapon with a special rule.
Its special rule does not benefit any model, so how do you expect the BRB's SR quote to apply to it ?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/27 12:55:06
Subject: Land Raider Prometheus and -1 to cover saves
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
morgoth wrote:sonicaucie wrote:
Is your contention that a Battle Auspex is not a special rule or that it's not a benefit?
is your contention that it's either ???
It's not a special rule, it's a weapon with a special rule.
Its special rule does not benefit any model, so how do you expect the BRB's SR quote to apply to it ?
Battle auspex is quite obviously a special rule.
"Whenever a creature or weapon has an ability that breaks or bends one of the main game rules, it is represented by a special rule"
"Most of the more commonly used special rules in Warhammer 40,000 are listed here, but this is by no means an exhaustive list. Many troops have their own unique abilities, which are laid out in their codex or Army List Entry."
And it obviously benefits the models shooting at the unit. Maybe they should have worded it to be "benefits or penalties", but the battle auspex in my eyes is obviously a special rule that does not state that it stacks and thus it can only ever get -1 to its cover save no matter how many battle auspexes are used.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
The way I see it, you have two interpretations.
Eiher the LR itself only has the battle auspex rule or it applies the battle auspex rule to the enemy it fires on.
The first meaning that only the LR can gain the benefit of the battle auspex(as only it has the SR / ability) and therefore nullifying all notions of stacking and duration. Which is easily backed up by the fact that the rule only ever references the LR's shooting and never explicitly mentions a duration or subsequent shooting.
Or the second meaning that it applies the rule to the enemy unit and can only be applied once as per the SR section of the BRB.
I am more inclined to go with the former interpretation:
- Only affects the LR's shooting
- LR can only gains its effect once (which is redundant anyway)
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/06/27 13:06:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/27 13:36:44
Subject: Land Raider Prometheus and -1 to cover saves
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
That's word twisting, not RAW.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/27 14:19:24
Subject: Land Raider Prometheus and -1 to cover saves
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
sonicaucie wrote:Eiher the LR itself only has the battle auspex rule or it applies the battle auspex rule to the enemy it fires on.
I would go with the first one too, but disagree that it would be the LR only: the rule specifies an effect on the target, not the LR.
ie similar to quite a few maledictions, Strikedown USR, or Concussive.
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/27 14:21:06
Subject: Land Raider Prometheus and -1 to cover saves
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I thought that Battle Auspex was a weapon of some sort. I think I don't have that codex though, which one is it ?
|
|
 |
 |
|