Switch Theme:

Dark Angels Standard of Devastation  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Wicked Canoptek Wraith






does the standard of dev make death wing terms stormbolters go salvo 2/4. the rule says boltguns but the big book says there are many types of boltguns ie bolt pistols heavy bolters etc.

sorry if this has been covered. could not find it

Planet 40k
 
   
Made in us
Three Color Minimum




Panama City, fl

It specifies in the faq that its weapons firing with the classic "bolter" profile, so 24" s4 ap25 rapid fire.
this is to include: twin linked bolters (on bikes) combi- weapons (the bolter part) standard issue bolsters and hurricane bolters (counts as 3 twin linked bolters, so it would be 24" s4 ap5 3/6 salvo)

Dark angels 70/100 of deathwing, 50/100 ravenwing, 80-100 3rd company
IG +6k pts
and a sampling of different armies
warmachine, 40-50 points of:
protectorate, legion, and convergence armies 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Gealgain, the 7th edition FAQ doesn't include that answer from the 6th edition FAQ (quoted below). As a number of FAQ's are missing other important items, I'll be continuing to use it as a sign of intent.
Q: The Standard of Devastation states that ‘all friendly Codex: Dark Angels units within 6” of the standard treat their boltguns as Salvo 2/4 weapons’. Which boltguns does this apply to? (p66)
A: This applies to the standard boltgun (24” range, S4, AP5, Rapid Fire), twin-linked boltguns on bikes, the bolter component of combi-weapons, and hurricane bolters.
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






lukily for you, deathwing termies can trade in their stormbolter for combi-bolters of the varying types.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in au
Raging Ravener






Eihnlazer wrote:
lukily for you, deathwing termies can trade in their stormbolter for combi-bolters of the varying types.

Where does it say that Deathwing can take non storm bolters? I just had a look at my codex but couldn't find that rule.
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






I thought they had allowance to upgrade to combi weapons?


If im wrong i apologize.


Combi-storm bolters dont exist though, so if they are allowed to upgrade to combi weapons, their storm bolters are replaced with the profile found in the BRB for combi-bolters.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Massachusetts

Standard bolter is rapid fire. Storm bolter is assault. Only rapid fire bolter gets boosted by SoD.


No member of a DWTS has access to wargear so no combis for them.

<--Bolt on Cuteness: S:20,No armour save, no invul save, no cover save, Range:unlimited---DEAL
Enough too have fun
 
   
Made in gb
Poisonous Kroot Headhunter





Manchester uk

 jason1977 wrote:
Standard bolter is rapid fire. Storm bolter is assault. Only rapid fire bolter gets boosted by SoD.


Where does the banner say it's rapid fire Bolters only? In fact due to GW removing the FAQ from 6th the whole argument that it covers all weapons listed as Boltguns is completely valid again. Although I believe that it just covers the standard bolter.

Would definitely give Deathwing a bigger bang for their buck if it did effect them.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

PastelAvenger wrote:
In fact due to GW removing the FAQ from 6th the whole argument that it covers all weapons listed as Boltguns is completely valid again.

The FAQ was a clarification, not a rules change. So the existence (or lack thereof) of that FAQ entry makes no difference to the way the rule works.

 
   
Made in gb
Poisonous Kroot Headhunter





Manchester uk

Without the clarification though it does open the rule back open to a bit of ambiguity again, so for people that hadn't seen the FAQ before will think their argument is valid.
   
Made in es
Regular Dakkanaut





Boltguns are different weapons from the storm bolter. So it only applies to units which have "boltgun" in their wargear.

Also, would not hurricane bolters become twin-linked, salvo 6/12, not salvo 3/6 (since it is 3 boltguns fire as a single weapon).

3500 pt - Angels of Light - DA successor chapter 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: