Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/29 21:52:15
Subject: 7 edition, can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Smokin' Skorcha Driver
|
New to 7th, and I've heard you can't charge first turn, even if you go second.
I had a friend tell me this isn't true, but I couldn't find the rule in the BRB.
Can someone confirm with page number please?
Thank you.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/29 21:57:55
Subject: 7 edition, can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
You can, providing that the unit did not inflitrate, or scout.
|
4000 points: Craftworld Mymeara |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/29 22:10:32
Subject: Re:7 edition, can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Extremefreak has it right.
You can charge providing you did not infiltrate or scout.
It's difficult, but not impossible.
|
If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/29 22:11:56
Subject: 7 edition, can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
mrfantastical wrote:New to 7th, and I've heard you can't charge first turn, even if you go second.
I had a friend tell me this isn't true, but I couldn't find the rule in the BRB.
Can someone confirm with page number please?
Thank you.
There is no general restriction on charging first turn. Only if you infiltrate, scout.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/29 23:06:11
Subject: 7 edition, can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
Also worth mentioning that If you arive from reserves turn 1 (Drop Pods come to mind) you can't charge either.
|
4000 points: Craftworld Mymeara |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/29 23:09:12
Subject: 7 edition, can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:mrfantastical wrote:New to 7th, and I've heard you can't charge first turn, even if you go second.
I had a friend tell me this isn't true, but I couldn't find the rule in the BRB.
Can someone confirm with page number please?
Thank you.
There is no general restriction on charging first turn. Only if you infiltrate, scout.
And Deep Strike for those few armies that can Deepstrike on turn one, as you can't assault out of Deep striking either.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/29 23:36:38
Subject: 7 edition, can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
not as hard as you might think. scouts can wind up 12" away, and moving & disembarking puts you in an unfailable charge distance from them. infiltrators can also be a mere 18" away, not a problem for trukkas.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/30 00:36:26
Subject: 7 edition, can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
some bloke wrote:not as hard as you might think. scouts can wind up 12" away, and moving & disembarking puts you in an unfailable charge distance from them. infiltrators can also be a mere 18" away, not a problem for trukkas.
? You can't assault turn 1 if you scout or infiltrate as has been pointed out in this thread several times so I don't get what you're trying to say?
Basically pivot trick + moronic opponent + lucky dice is the only way still left I think.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/30 00:44:32
Subject: 7 edition, can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Think Some Bloke might have been pointing out that ones opponent can bring the target closer for your convenience.
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/30 00:50:47
Subject: 7 edition, can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
There are a number of special units that gain extra movement and can assault more than 24" in turn one. I wanna say the ork jump packers can, though I'm not positive.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/30 01:06:39
Subject: 7 edition, can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Not anymore for Stormboyz.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/30 01:29:27
Subject: 7 edition, can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
It's also worth noting that Infiltrators who Infiltrate cannot charge in "their" first turn, which means no charging regardless of whether they go first or second.
This restriction is also in play on Scouts, who may not charge in the "first game turn."
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/30 01:51:21
Subject: 7 edition, can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
FlingitNow wrote: some bloke wrote:not as hard as you might think. scouts can wind up 12" away, and moving & disembarking puts you in an unfailable charge distance from them. infiltrators can also be a mere 18" away, not a problem for trukkas.
? You can't assault turn 1 if you scout or infiltrate as has been pointed out in this thread several times so I don't get what you're trying to say?
Basically pivot trick + moronic opponent + lucky dice is the only way still left I think.
The pivot trick is no longer legal.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/30 03:56:14
Subject: 7 edition, can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Resentful Grot With a Plan
|
What was the pivot trick?
|
Insert inspiring text here.
3K |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/30 04:30:46
Subject: 7 edition, can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Starting a vehicle sideways right up to the deployment line, then in the movement phase pivoting the vehicle before moving it forward effectively gaining an inch or more of displacement depending on the vehicle.
this used to be legal in 6th, but it is no longer legal in 7th ed.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/30 07:05:54
Subject: 7 edition, can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker
|
at work with no brb, what ruling makes it illegal?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/30 07:12:30
Subject: 7 edition, can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
That is being discussed in this topic:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/602413.page
no need to go into it here.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/30 09:24:02
Subject: 7 edition, can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
barnowl wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:mrfantastical wrote:New to 7th, and I've heard you can't charge first turn, even if you go second.
I had a friend tell me this isn't true, but I couldn't find the rule in the BRB.
Can someone confirm with page number please?
Thank you.
There is no general restriction on charging first turn. Only if you infiltrate, scout.
And Deep Strike for those few armies that can Deepstrike on turn one, as you can't assault out of Deep striking either.
That isn't a restriction on charging first turn, just from reserves or from deepstrike.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/30 16:30:28
Subject: 7 edition, can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
FlingitNow wrote: some bloke wrote:not as hard as you might think. scouts can wind up 12" away, and moving & disembarking puts you in an unfailable charge distance from them. infiltrators can also be a mere 18" away, not a problem for trukkas.
? You can't assault turn 1 if you scout or infiltrate as has been pointed out in this thread several times so I don't get what you're trying to say?
Basically pivot trick + moronic opponent + lucky dice is the only way still left I think.
Play against ravenguard sometime. a full army of enemy rhinos moves 12" closer to you. you move 6", disembark 6" and are now 1" away from these rhinos. trukks are open topped, turn 1 assault, unfailable.
enemy infiltrators deploy 12" away, behind some rocks. you drive 6" closer, dismbark 6" to where you can see them, unfailable charge.
enemy drop pod arrives in the opponents first turn, you can charge it in yours.
opponent moves flat-out to your face in the first turn, you can assault them in yours.
etc, etc, etc.
edit- Added "enemy" as I can see where the confusion could be.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/30 16:31:20
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/30 16:50:07
Subject: 7 edition, can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
some bloke wrote: FlingitNow wrote: some bloke wrote:not as hard as you might think. scouts can wind up 12" away, and moving & disembarking puts you in an unfailable charge distance from them. infiltrators can also be a mere 18" away, not a problem for trukkas.
? You can't assault turn 1 if you scout or infiltrate as has been pointed out in this thread several times so I don't get what you're trying to say?
Basically pivot trick + moronic opponent + lucky dice is the only way still left I think.
Play against ravenguard sometime. a full army of enemy rhinos moves 12" closer to you. you move 6", disembark 6" and are now 1" away from these rhinos. trukks are open topped, turn 1 assault, unfailable.
enemy infiltrators deploy 12" away, behind some rocks. you drive 6" closer, dismbark 6" to where you can see them, unfailable charge.
enemy drop pod arrives in the opponents first turn, you can charge it in yours.
opponent moves flat-out to your face in the first turn, you can assault them in yours.
etc, etc, etc.
edit- Added "enemy" as I can see where the confusion could be.
That makes sense now. Though I'd just consider those charges an idiot tax.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|