Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/30 22:56:58
Subject: Necron Veil of Darkness from Reserves
|
 |
Oozing Spawning Vat
North East PA
|
The old Necron 6th ed. FAQ used to state:
Q: Can a veil of darkness be used instead of moving onto the board
when a unit arrives from reserve? (p84)
A: Yes.
Since the FAQ was updated, it appears as though this was removed. Is this somehow no longer the case 7th edition, or am I missing something?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/30 23:07:03
Subject: Re:Necron Veil of Darkness from Reserves
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Not sure, but just based on the veil of darkness rule I would say no. I'm not sure how that was ever considered possible. The veil says "The Cryptek and his unit are removed from the tabletop and immediately Deep Strike back onto the battlefield. To me that only sounds useable if they were already on the field. They got rid of all the questions so yeah, not positive.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/01 01:22:03
Subject: Necron Veil of Darkness from Reserves
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Unless there was a change in the rules that govern the timing or use of abilities it's probably just better to assume the old clarifications still apply unless you want to rehash everything and probably still end at the same point.
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/01 06:50:04
Subject: Necron Veil of Darkness from Reserves
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
VoD is used instead of movement, so yes it can be used the turn the unit arrives from reserves.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/02 15:28:15
Subject: Re:Necron Veil of Darkness from Reserves
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I resubmitted this to the FAQ email when I noticed it's exclusion. Hopefully we'll get another round of FAQs soon and it'll be re-added.
The point of contention that I've had to deal with local rules lawyers is that the rules aren't explicit when reserves truly move onto the board. Some interpret it being the movement phase, the rules lawyers I have to deal with on occasions state it's at the "Start of Turn" after you roll. If they move onto the board during the movement phase, the Veil can be used since it states the movement phase. If the move on at the "Start of Turn" then you can't.
I try to avoid those rules lawyers and play it as the 6th ed FAQ presented it. Again though - hopefully it'll be readded to the FAQs and clarified soon (preferably sooner than a year).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/03 06:34:55
Subject: Necron Veil of Darkness from Reserves
|
 |
Repentia Mistress
|
I think someone pointed out that Errata were corrections and FAQ were clarifications. If it was previously clarified and there were no rule changes, the same clarification should stand.
Of course, this is pure reasoning; I cannot cite a rule that FAQ are clarifications etc. Still, this is one way of thinking about it.
Another way is to see if there are rule changes in the electronic codex as that may be more up to date than the physical codex.
|
DS:70+S+G+M-B--IPw40k94-D+++A++/wWD380R+T(D)DM+
Avatar scene by artist Nicholas Kay. Give credit where it's due! |
|
 |
 |
|