Switch Theme:

Aun'Va and A Unit of ICs  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot




Vior'la Sept

So Aun'Va is a character, not an IC. I was thinking of a super fun unit to play for like a really funny maelstrom mission or something like that, and I was wondering if this would work. So take Farsight Allies to get Farsight and the Command Team, then get Oblitie (Broadside guy), and O'Vesa. Then take a Buffcommander and Aun'Va in a Tau Primary detachment.

So can you join all of the ICs into one unit. I believe that this is done by attaching everyone to Aun'Va. Is this how you do it? Does it work? Thanks and happy war gaming.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, the rule about attaching to units on only one model is gone.
   
Made in us
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot




Vior'la Sept

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Yes, the rule about attaching to units on only one model is gone.


Ok, then since they are all with him (in the same unit) they all benefit from the Paradox of Duality save correct?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




If that is how his save is worded, yes.
   
Made in us
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot




Vior'la Sept

Thanks!
   
Made in br
Fireknife Shas'el




Lisbon, Portugal

I believe this works. The rule says Aun'Va's unit, not Aun'Va model or only him

AI & BFG: / BMG: Mr. Freeze, Deathstroke / Battletech: SR, OWA / Fallout Factions: BoS / HGB: Caprice / Malifaux: Arcanists, Guild, Outcasts / MCP: Mutants / SAGA: Ordensstaat / SW Legion: CIS / WWX: Union

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
"FW is unbalanced and going to ruin tournaments."
"Name one where it did that."
"IT JUST DOES OKAY!"

 Shadenuat wrote:
Voted Astra Militarum for a chance for them to get nerfed instead of my own army.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Of course if O'Vesa joins then nobody else will be able to join until he leaves.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot




Vior'la Sept

 Happyjew wrote:
Of course if O'Vesa joins then nobody else will be able to join until he leaves.


How did you come to this conclusion? The plan is like I discribed above. O'Vesa 2+ save, FnP, and the Paradox Save. Does is not work?
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Joining Units containing Monstrous Creatures are forbidden, O'vesa can still join other Units because nothing is said about an Monstrous Creature doing the joining.
I would also like to point out that Aun'va also comes with Ethereal Guards, so he never belonged to a Unit that consisted of a single Model to begin with.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/07/03 03:34:28


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot




Vior'la Sept

JinxDragon wrote:
Joining Units containing Monstrous Creatures are forbidden, O'vesa can still join other Units because nothing is said about an Monstrous Creature doing the joining.
I would also like to point out that Aun'va also comes with Ethereal Guards, so he never belonged to a Unit that consisted of a single Model to begin with.


Sorry, I still don't get how making the super unit I discribed in my initial post can't be made because its illegal. It is it legal?
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 Commander_Farsight wrote:
JinxDragon wrote:
Joining Units containing Monstrous Creatures are forbidden, O'vesa can still join other Units because nothing is said about an Monstrous Creature doing the joining.
I would also like to point out that Aun'va also comes with Ethereal Guards, so he never belonged to a Unit that consisted of a single Model to begin with.


Sorry, I still don't get how making the super unit I discribed in my initial post can't be made because its illegal. It is it legal?

Its legal, it also was legal last edition too
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Commander_Farsight wrote:
JinxDragon wrote:
Joining Units containing Monstrous Creatures are forbidden, O'vesa can still join other Units because nothing is said about an Monstrous Creature doing the joining.
I would also like to point out that Aun'va also comes with Ethereal Guards, so he never belonged to a Unit that consisted of a single Model to begin with.


Sorry, I still don't get how making the super unit I discribed in my initial post can't be made because its illegal. It is it legal?

7th edition stats ICs cannot join units with a monstrous creature in them. So you have to join ovesa last
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

CrownAxe is correct on what I was stating, it was always legal.
In this case however, just make sure that O'vesa joins last.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/03 13:17:14


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Alexandria, VA

JinxDragon wrote:
CrownAxe is correct on what I was stating, it was always legal.
In this case however, just make sure that O'vesa joins last.


ie; 1st turn?
   
Made in us
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot




Vior'la Sept

Are they not all joined at the same time? Or do you declare who you are adding to the unit in the order you are doing so?
   
Made in nl
Confessor Of Sins






IC rules are muddled by the fact they join at the 'end of their movement phase', which some interpret as the end of their move and others as at the end of the movement phase overall.

Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog
   
Made in us
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot




Vior'la Sept

 Shandara wrote:
IC rules are muddled by the fact they join at the 'end of their movement phase', which some interpret as the end of their move and others as at the end of the movement phase overall.


So it sounds like yes it does work, but its questionable due to the RAW and RAI? Essentially I just wan't to know if I can try fielding it, legally.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 Commander_Farsight wrote:
 Shandara wrote:
IC rules are muddled by the fact they join at the 'end of their movement phase', which some interpret as the end of their move and others as at the end of the movement phase overall.


So it sounds like yes it does work, but its questionable due to the RAW and RAI? Essentially I just wan't to know if I can try fielding it, legally.

The only issue here is O'vesa because its a MC and you can't join ICs to MCs now.
   
Made in us
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot




Vior'la Sept

 CrownAxe wrote:
 Commander_Farsight wrote:
 Shandara wrote:
IC rules are muddled by the fact they join at the 'end of their movement phase', which some interpret as the end of their move and others as at the end of the movement phase overall.


So it sounds like yes it does work, but its questionable due to the RAW and RAI? Essentially I just wan't to know if I can try fielding it, legally.

The only issue here is O'vesa because its a MC and you can't join ICs to MCs now.


Right, but your not doing that. Your joining an IC to a Character. It works that way if he is joined last, no matter who else is in the unit. Also, no matter, they are all joining a Character (Aun'Va), there abilities are conferred on the unit because everyone else is joined to him.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/03 18:19:50


 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 Commander_Farsight wrote:
 CrownAxe wrote:
 Commander_Farsight wrote:
 Shandara wrote:
IC rules are muddled by the fact they join at the 'end of their movement phase', which some interpret as the end of their move and others as at the end of the movement phase overall.


So it sounds like yes it does work, but its questionable due to the RAW and RAI? Essentially I just wan't to know if I can try fielding it, legally.

The only issue here is O'vesa because its a MC and you can't join ICs to MCs now.


Right, but your not doing that. Your joining an IC to a Character. It works that way if he is joined last, no matter who else is in the unit. Also, no matter, they are all joining a Character (Aun'Va), there abilities are conferred on the unit because everyone else is joined to him.


Not quite. It's not that you can't join IC's to MC's, it's that you can't join ICs to units containing MCs. So while you may be joining your ICs to Aun'va, once O'Vesa joins the unit contains an MC and no more ICs can join.
   
Made in us
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot




Vior'la Sept

Chrysis wrote:
 Commander_Farsight wrote:
 CrownAxe wrote:
 Commander_Farsight wrote:
 Shandara wrote:
IC rules are muddled by the fact they join at the 'end of their movement phase', which some interpret as the end of their move and others as at the end of the movement phase overall.


So it sounds like yes it does work, but its questionable due to the RAW and RAI? Essentially I just wan't to know if I can try fielding it, legally.

The only issue here is O'vesa because its a MC and you can't join ICs to MCs now.


Right, but your not doing that. Your joining an IC to a Character. It works that way if he is joined last, no matter who else is in the unit. Also, no matter, they are all joining a Character (Aun'Va), there abilities are conferred on the unit because everyone else is joined to him.


Not quite. It's not that you can't join IC's to MC's, it's that you can't join ICs to units containing MCs. So while you may be joining your ICs to Aun'va, once O'Vesa joins the unit contains an MC and no more ICs can join.


Ok, I get it, thanks for the help guys!
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

Of course, it gets a bit hairy given that the rules don't cover what happens when a unit you joined becomes a unit you are forbidden from joining while you're still attached. Or what happens when the ability to join together isn't transitive. O'Vesa can join any IC he wants to form an IC super unit, but no IC can ever join a unit containing O'Vesa.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

If O'vesa joins, first last or any other way an IC and MC ARE NOT Allowed to be in the same unit. Aun' VA has body guards and is iirc not allowed to join others.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in us
Wise Ethereal with Bodyguard




Catskills in NYS

I'm pretty sure it's 'not allowed to join'. Besides, in that case, O'vessa ceases to exist because he can't be in a unit with himself.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/04 01:07:01


Homosexuality is the #1 cause of gay marriage.
 kronk wrote:
Every pizza is a personal sized pizza if you try hard enough and believe in yourself.
 sebster wrote:
Yes, indeed. What a terrible piece of cultural imperialism it is for me to say that a country shouldn't murder its own citizens
 BaronIveagh wrote:
Basically they went from a carrot and stick to a smaller carrot and flanged mace.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Lungpickle wrote:
If O'vesa joins, first last or any other way an IC and MC ARE NOT Allowed to be in the same unit. .

There is no rule preventing ICs and MCs from being in the same unit, just the one that says that IC's can't join them. If they happen to find themselves in the same unit without the IC having joined the MC, that's perfectly legal as the rules currently stand.


I would be fairly confident that it's an oversight, though, and that if GW ever bother to update their FAQs again it will be closed out.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Chrysis wrote:
Of course, it gets a bit hairy given that the rules don't cover what happens when a unit you joined becomes a unit you are forbidden from joining while you're still attached.

They don't need to. A rule forbidding you from entering a building doesn't apply to someone who is already in the building.


Or what happens when the ability to join together isn't transitive. O'Vesa can join any IC he wants to form an IC super unit, but no IC can ever join a unit containing O'Vesa.

That one just comes down to whether you interpret the bit about the 'end of their movement phase' as meaning their [the IC's] movement phase or their [the IC's army's movement phase.


Which actually makes me reconsider my stance on this one... The IC doesn't have a movement phase of their own... there is only the one movement phase per turn. So the IC rule has to be referring to the latter interpretation above.

If that's the case, then if you have multiple ICs joining a unit in the same turn, they would all be joining at the same time. In which case, the regular IC is joining the MC IC at the same time as the MC IC is joining the other... Which would render the combination impossible.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/04 01:13:05


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Just a reminder:
If multiple Rules trigger at the same point in the time-line we have instructions to determine which occurs first.
Multiple versions of the same Rule are still multiple Rules needing to be resolved.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot




Vior'la Sept

JinxDragon wrote:
Just a reminder:
If multiple Rules trigger at the same point in the time-line we have instructions to determine which occurs first.
Multiple versions of the same Rule are still multiple Rules needing to be resolved.


So with multiple ICs joining, you can detirmine which one joins first? Then letting O'Vesa join last, and having it work!?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




It only works if you ignore both context and definition. The end result whether you join first or last, is that you have a IC and a MC joined together.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




So basically everything works if O'vesa joins last and falls apart if O'vesa joins first. I don't think anyone with a straight face can say this is RAI.

This just seems to take advantage of imprecise language on GW's part.

Spoiler:
Independent Characters can join other units. They cannot, however, join units that
contain vehicles or Monstrous Creatures


should read

Spoiler:
Independent Characters can join other units. They cannot, however, be joined to units that
contain vehicles or Monstrous Creatures


In order to have a decent set of rules we need to be bold and clean up the obvious messes like this one.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/05 22:28:33


 
   
Made in us
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot




Vior'la Sept

Where does it say that if the same of one rule goes off at once we have to allocate which is first/last etc.?
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: