Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/08 20:05:59
Subject: 7th edition rules questions - blasts, scatter, order of operations, etc.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Several small points came up in our game last weekend:
* page 158 says wounds allocated from blast weapons are applied to the "closest" model, is that the closest to the attacking unit or closest to the blast? If it's closest to the attacking unit, does that mean there's no point in trying to blast characters, just try to cover as many models as possible in the target unit?
* If two penetrating hits are scored against a vehicle with only one hull point remaining, both hits would roll on the penetration table anyway, leaving the possibility of explosion, correct?
* A dreadnought's power fist has a strength of 2 x 6. Is that actually 12 or is there a maximum of 10 for Strength? Page 8 looks like there's a maximum.
* If it's actually strength 10, does it always score a glancing hit against AV 10? Or would an armor penetration roll of 1 always fail like other rolls?
* Page 162 says Deep Striking units "roll to scatter", but doesn't specify how. Is this Hit or Miss 2d6" just like blast weapons?
* When must my Sergeant decide whether to fire his one-shot combi-plasma? When the unit's bolters fire, or when the unit's plasma gun fires, or afterward? This entire 7th edition shooting sequence makes me want a flowchart.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/08 20:09:15
Subject: 7th edition rules questions - blasts, scatter, order of operations, etc.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
axisofentropy wrote:Several small points came up in our game last weekend:
* page 158 says wounds allocated from blast weapons are applied to the "closest" model, is that the closest to the attacking unit or closest to the blast? If it's closest to the attacking unit, does that mean there's no point in trying to blast characters, just try to cover as many models as possible in the target unit?
Correct. Note that Barrages allocate from the center of the first blast.
* If two penetrating hits are scored against a vehicle with only one hull point remaining, both hits would roll on the penetration table anyway, leaving the possibility of explosion, correct?
Yes
* A dreadnought's power fist has a strength of 2 x 6. Is that actually 12 or is there a maximum of 10 for Strength? Page 8 looks like there's a maximum.
10.
* If it's actually strength 10, does it always score a glancing hit against AV 10? Or would an armor penetration roll of 1 always fail like other rolls?
It actually always pens against AV10. Not everything fails on a 1.
* Page 162 says Deep Striking units "roll to scatter", but doesn't specify how. Is this Hit or Miss 2d6" just like blast weapons?
Yes. Remember that Blast weapons often subtract the firers BS from the result - Deep Strike doesn't.
* When must my Sergeant decide whether to fire his one-shot combi-plasma? When the unit's bolters fire, or when the unit's plasma gun fires, or afterward? This entire 7th edition shooting sequence makes me want a flowchart.
Target an enemy unit. Decide which weapon to resolve first. If Bolters, SGT must decide to fire bolter or not now. If Plasma Guns, SGT must decide to fire bolter or not now. If Bolt Pistols, SGT can wait on deciding.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/08 20:12:38
Subject: 7th edition rules questions - blasts, scatter, order of operations, etc.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
1. Closest to the firing unit. Unless the weapon is Barrage.
2. Yes
3. All (non-AV) stats, except Wounds, Attacks, and Save cap out at 10.
4. Against AV10 or less it is an auto-pen (however, if you do decide to skip the pen roll in these cases, make sure you tell your opponent). Only certain things auto fail on a 1, Penetration rolls are not on of them.
5. Scatter is always the Scatter dice and 2D6, unless otherwise specified.
6. The sarge fires with the rest of his unit firing hte same profile. So, if you fire the boltguns first, you would decide then whether or not the Sarge is firing the bolter,. When you go to do the plasma gun shots, if the sarge has not fired yet, you decide if he is firing his plasma gun or not. If after this the Sarge still has not fired, but has another weapon (like a bolt pistol) you can choose to fire one of them.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/16 05:30:23
Subject: Re:7th edition rules questions - blasts, scatter, order of operations, etc.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
My Dark Eldar friend and I played another learning game this evening, and got a few more clarifications:
Can transport vehicle passengers fire overwatch? I see where it says vehicles themselves cannot, but I don't see anything specific to their passengers. This is a big deal for my friend's Dark Eldar. (We didn't let them this game but I wanted to confirm.)
If an Independent Character is joined to a squad, and all members of that squad die from enemy shooting except for the IC, must the IC make a morale check? I see that he becomes his own unit "at the start of the following phase" but that's after the morale check would happen.
My Librarian tried to use Telepathy against vehicles but many of those powers seemed inapplicable. A vehicle can never take a pinning test (nor go to ground) even through a psychic power such as Hallucination, amirite?
Also, Psychic Shriek wiped out a jetbike squad easily in one shot; that power is incredible! But can it affect vehicles at all? Their passengers? How about open-topped vehicles?
Jink works against blast and template weapons, right? How about witchfire?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/16 05:34:46
Subject: 7th edition rules questions - blasts, scatter, order of operations, etc.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
axisofentropy wrote:* If two penetrating hits are scored against a vehicle with only one hull point remaining, both hits would roll on the penetration table anyway, leaving the possibility of explosion, correct?
Yes, but adding something the others missed:
Remember that only AP2 or 1 weapons can score an explodes result.
If you have two penetrating hits from an AP- to AP3 weapon, against a vehicle with only one hull point remaining, there really is no need to roll. Automatically Appended Next Post: axisofentropy wrote:Can transport vehicle passengers fire overwatch? I see where it says vehicles themselves cannot, but I don't see anything specific to their passengers. This is a big deal for my friend's Dark Eldar. (We didn't let them this game but I wanted to confirm.)
vehicles chapter, Transports section, Transports and Assaults sub-section answers this question.
If an Independent Character is joined to a squad, and all members of that squad die from enemy shooting except for the IC, must the IC make a morale check? I see that he becomes his own unit "at the start of the following phase" but that's after the morale check would happen.
correct morale check needed.
My Librarian tried to use Telepathy against vehicles but many of those powers seemed inapplicable. A vehicle can never take a pinning test (nor go to ground) even through a psychic power such as Hallucination, amirite?
Check the Vehicles section, Vehicles in the Assault Phase section, Vehicles, Leadership and Morale sub-section will tell you what you need to know.
Also, Psychic Shriek wiped out a jetbike squad easily in one shot; that power is incredible! But can it affect vehicles at all? Their passengers? How about open-topped vehicles?
Do vehicles have wounds?
Jink works against blast and template weapons, right? How about witchfire?
It depends on the weapon.
Some weapons ignore cover saves this will be noted in the weapons entry.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/16 05:40:42
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/08 02:30:42
Subject: 7th edition rules questions - blasts, scatter, order of operations, etc.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
If a unit without grenades, like Dark Eldar Reavers, charges a unit that's in cover, when does their Hammer of Wrath hits happen? At initiative 10 or one?
We played it at 10, since HoW is more specific and also a special rule.
Also, bikes can jink against overwatch shots because they are "selected as a shooting attack" amirite?
When a unit loses a close combat, is there a limit to their leadership penalty? Or could they test at -6 if they lost badly?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/08 03:24:02
Subject: 7th edition rules questions - blasts, scatter, order of operations, etc.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
axisofentropy wrote:If a unit without grenades, like Dark Eldar Reavers, charges a unit that's in cover, when does their Hammer of Wrath hits happen? At initiative 10 or one?
We played it at 10, since HoW is more specific and also a special rule. HoW is not affected so it is still at I10
Also, bikes can jink against overwatch shots because they are "selected as a shooting attack" amirite?
Of course they can use Jink against Overwatch.
When a unit loses a close combat, is there a limit to their leadership penalty? Or could they test at -6 if they lost badly?
No limit, but rolling double 1's (Insane Heroism!) still pass the test no matter what.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/08 09:55:49
Subject: 7th edition rules questions - blasts, scatter, order of operations, etc.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Denmark
|
Happyjew wrote:
5. Scatter is always the Scatter dice and 2D6, unless otherwise specified.
So if you have to "re-roll scatter" its both but "re-roll scatter dice" its only the scatter die itself?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/08 13:36:05
Subject: 7th edition rules questions - blasts, scatter, order of operations, etc.
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
Lisbon, Portugal
|
FunJohn wrote: Happyjew wrote:
5. Scatter is always the Scatter dice and 2D6, unless otherwise specified.
So if you have to "re-roll scatter" its both but "re-roll scatter dice" its only the scatter die itself?
Everything
|
AI & BFG: / BMG: Mr. Freeze, Deathstroke / Battletech: SR, OWA / Fallout Factions: BoS / HGB: Caprice / Malifaux: Arcanists, Guild, Outcasts / MCP: Mutants / SAGA: Ordensstaat / SW Legion: CIS / WWX: Union
Unit1126PLL wrote:"FW is unbalanced and going to ruin tournaments."
"Name one where it did that."
"IT JUST DOES OKAY!"
Shadenuat wrote:Voted Astra Militarum for a chance for them to get nerfed instead of my own army. |
|
 |
 |
|
|