Switch Theme:

Mawloc TftD vs. Invisibility  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

Yesterday in a game, my opponent wanted to bring his Mawloc onto one of my units that was Invisible. After briefly considering the matter, and reading TftD and Invisibility and Snap Shooting, we decided that it would be legal, since it's not a shooting attack.

1) Was this the right call?

2) The Mawloc blast generates hits: which section of the rules do we reference to resolve the wounding process? Shooting? Assault? And if Shooting, does that actually prevent the Mawloc from targeting Invisible units?

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Shunting Grey Knight Interceptor





USA

i would say that it was the right call. The Mawloc is simply deep striking...and then the special rules kicks in....Terror From the Deep...which says that the Mawloc chooses to deep strike onto an enemy model and becomes a blast template...like the OP said it isn't a shooting attack and I would think its the right call.
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




Warrington, UK

The deep strike doesn't target anything, you can deep strike on or off models so yeah you can do it.

Website: http://www.northernwarlords.co.uk

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/northernwarlords

Dark Eldar 35,000pts
Craftworld Eldar 27,500pts
+ 10,000pts of Ynnari, Corsairs & Harlequins 
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





New Orleans

Yeah I would say that was the right call also.

01001000 01101001 00100000 01110100 01101000 01100101 01110010 01100101 00101110  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




2) as the mawloc never targets anything, you cannot evoke a rule to do with targeting.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: