Switch Theme:

Wyrdvane psykers, primaris psyker, and perils  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Dakka Veteran





If a Primaris Psyker joins a unit of Wyrdvane Psykers, does the PP gain the "protection" of the WPs when a Perils of the Warp occurs.

Independent Character special rule makes it clear that the PP does not get the Brotherhood of Psykers special rule when he joins.

If either the WP or the PP manifests a power that results in a PotW, p25 makes it clear that it is the unit that suffers the Perils. Also on p25, the PotW section says that provided the unit has Brotherhood of Psykers, the Perils targets a random model with that special rule.

So, if the PP manifests a power resulting in a PotW, the Perils would always apply to a WP - of course, the PP could also be affected by the Perils according to what is rolled, but my reading is that the WPs are acting like a psychic meat shield for the PP.

RAI I can see that this might not be correct, but RAW I can't see the flaw. Anyone else been down this path and come to the same or different conclusion?
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






Depends on your interpretation.

You could interpret a psychic unit to either be the psycher/brootherhood themselves (which seems to be the intention). In this case, no, he cant pass on the perils.

However if you interpret it the other way (that you count the unit as a whole), then he would get protection. You also could never attach a psychic IC to any unit other than a brotherhood of psychers or other psycher without loosing the ability to manifest powers (almost 100% probable that this is not the intended way.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Who knows.

Right now the rules for Psychic Powers is all sorts of whacked up.

HIWPI, the Psyker casting the power is the one who suffers Perils.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





Eihnlazer wrote:
Depends on your interpretation.

You could interpret a psychic unit to either be the psycher/brootherhood themselves (which seems to be the intention). In this case, no, he cant pass on the perils.

However if you interpret it the other way (that you count the unit as a whole), then he would get protection. You also could never attach a psychic IC to any unit other than a brotherhood of psychers or other psycher without loosing the ability to manifest powers (almost 100% probable that this is not the intended way.


When an IC joins a unit, he is part of that unit for all rule purposes - they are not 2 separate units in any sense, until the IC leaves the unit. So any rule that applies to the unit applies to them all.

If one PP joins another PP and suffers a PotW, it seems pretty clear that the Perils effects apply to the PP manifesting the power (the other one might suffer collateral damage). Conversely, the Brotherhood rule seems to be telling us to randomly apply the Perils (whatever it's source) to a model in the unit with the Brotherhood rule.

Regardless, I can't find any rule that would ever stop an IC joining a unit of non-pskers.

   
Made in fi
Longtime Dakkanaut




Snapshot wrote:
I can't find any rule that would ever stop an IC joining a unit of non-pskers.


You wouldn't because that is not what he meant. Psyker units manifest powers, a psyker IC joining a unit of non-psykers do not make it a psychic unit.
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





Naw wrote:
Snapshot wrote:
I can't find any rule that would ever stop an IC joining a unit of non-pskers.


You wouldn't because that is not what he meant. Psyker units manifest powers, a psyker IC joining a unit of non-psykers do not make it a psychic unit.


Are you suggesting that a Psyker who is a member of a unit with non-Psykers can't manifest psychic powers? p22 makes it clear that a Psyker unit is any unit with the Psyker (or related) special rules, and that Psyker units are permitted to manifest powers. Any unit with at least one model with Psyker satisfies the definition of Psyker unit. In fact, it would be bizarre if it were otherwise for Astra Militarum - astropaths can only be members of a Company Command Squad.

Anyway, I must be misunderstanding what's been said.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Snapshot wrote:
Any unit with at least one model with Psyker satisfies the definition of Psyker unit. In fact, it would be bizarre if it were otherwise for Astra Militarum - astropaths can only be members of a Company Command Squad.

No, you understood correctly.
I'm sure you can cite rules support for the underlined. Since you're so convinced it's true and all.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: