Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 20:02:24
Subject: Tyranid Synapse Rule clarification...
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
ok. is this some sort of typo...
Instinctive Behavior: At the beginning of each turn, units that are outside of the range of a friendly synapse creature must take a leadership test unless in combat, falling back, gone to ground, or arrived by reserve.....
Synapse creature: 12" blah blah Fearless.... Unit's automatically rally if they are within synapse range when they begin their move.
So, lemme get this right. If fearless creatures can't go to ground, i'd have to move my units outside of synapse and then go to ground (even though they cannot move if they've gone to ground, can they move AND THEN go to ground?)
And then rally... so, basically... that sentence in Synapse creature is pointless. Because basically if i took my instinctive behavior test at the beggining of my turn, moved my synapse creature into range before doing the morale check at the beggining of the other units movement phase, it rallys.... or... bleh
so big mistake GW.
Once a unit has Regrouped (like by automatically rallying), it cannot move. nor run, nor assault. but it can shoot.
so, when a unit automatically rallys when it begins its move if it is in synapse...
thats too fething funny.
Automatically Appended Next Post: so, instinctive behavior 'hunt'..
it goes to ground.... synapse moves into range and its fearless... is it up from ground or gone to ground and fearless? Automatically Appended Next Post: THATS IT PEOPLE... TYRANIDS CAN'T MOVE AND ALWAYS EAT THEMSELVES ALIVE.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/07/14 20:06:57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 20:07:54
Subject: Tyranid Synapse Rule clarification...
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
There is a few timing issues that you need to first take into account for all of this to make sense. The largest being that any Special Rule which begins with the 'At the start of the Phase' terminology must be resolved before any other action can take place. In this situation it means you would resolve the leadership tests, which are very different to Moral tests that fearless affects, of every single Unit outside of Synapse range before any Unit moves. Should the Unit then move outside of Synapse range it doesn't matter, because the moment for making those tests have already passed so it will no longer be required to make them. As for Going to Ground, that requires the Unit to be the subject of an attack before they can evoke it as the timing requires To Wound rolls to be made before the Unit decides if it is going to kiss the earth.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/07/14 20:14:11
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 20:10:38
Subject: Re:Tyranid Synapse Rule clarification...
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
STILL, it can't. its fearless if its in synapse. thus can't go to ground. check your rulebook under fearless.
still, technically if all units rally under synapse, they can't move.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 20:13:42
Subject: Re:Tyranid Synapse Rule clarification...
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
What's the question?
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 20:15:36
Subject: Tyranid Synapse Rule clarification...
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
In your situation the Unit moved out of the 12 inch radius, so why would it still be Fearless? Your original question concerning Going to Ground was to ask if a Unit can Move then decide to go to ground immediately afterwards. The answer is no, but instead of just stating that and leaving a misconception that these Units would never be able to go to Ground I wanted to point out that the timing is the reason why it is currently unable to do so. As the Unit decides to go to ground when it is the target of a Shooting attack, after To Wound Rolls are made, it doesn't get to make that decision until the opponents Turn. Besides, why would one want to make that decision prior to knowing if the attack even Wounds the models given there are negatives to doing so?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/07/14 20:19:24
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 20:15:45
Subject: Re:Tyranid Synapse Rule clarification...
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
...or they get to move 3" automatically. i don't get this help.
i mean, first off theirs no clarification for 'automatically rally', so i'm using regrouping in the rulebook.
basically i guess it means if tyranids who are out of synapse and falling back no longer fallback and don't have to pass a leadership test.
but, at the same time, if the turn starts and then they do instinctive behaviors, a synapse creature moves into range, then they're still under the effects of instinctive behavior, and pass any morale checks for falling back and can do their 3" move.
and i guess if you have no independent character you can only rally with double 1's... harsh.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/07/14 20:19:48
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 20:32:00
Subject: Tyranid Synapse Rule clarification...
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Unit moves out of synapse. Unit is no longer Fearless.
Unit goes to ground when shot at because bullets are scary without mommy in your brain.
Unit passes Leadership for Instinctive Behavior (or fails in a way that doesn't cause them to fall back).
Synapse unit moves forward, bringing the GTG unit back into range. The GTG unit is no longer GTG and can move and act normally.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 20:38:22
Subject: Re:Tyranid Synapse Rule clarification...
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
...you know when you barely slept and not even synapse makes sense any more.
yea.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 20:59:45
Subject: Tyranid Synapse Rule clarification...
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
This is not something that is all of a sudden new man. Fearless units have never been able to go to ground voluntarily.
There are other ways to improve your cover save without penalty though *cough* Venomthrope *Cough* so why would you even want to go to ground??
|
Tau
Votann
World Eaters
Khorne Daemons
Custodes |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 21:27:14
Subject: Tyranid Synapse Rule clarification...
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Gray1378 wrote:This is not something that is all of a sudden new man. Fearless units have never been able to go to ground voluntarily.
There are other ways to improve your cover save without penalty though *cough* Venomthrope *Cough* so why would you even want to go to ground??
Because Venomthropes aren't much use to Infiltrating Genestealers.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 22:00:54
Subject: Tyranid Synapse Rule clarification...
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
rigeld2 wrote:
Because Venomthropes aren't much use to Infiltrating Genestealers.
You're somehow getting Genestealers into synapse range without them also not being close enough to Venomthrope's range? While certainly possible, the factor preventing that is in your chair, not the rules.
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 22:08:48
Subject: Tyranid Synapse Rule clarification...
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DarknessEternal wrote:rigeld2 wrote:
Because Venomthropes aren't much use to Infiltrating Genestealers.
You're somehow getting Genestealers into synapse range without them also not being close enough to Venomthrope's range? While certainly possible, the factor preventing that is in your chair, not the rules.
Hint: Flyrants. Infiltrate Stealers in your opponent's deployment zone in cover, GTG when shot, fly up and get them in Synapse so they can move and assault.
Venomthropes move 6" with a 6" bubble. Flyrants move 24" with a 12" bubble. I wonder which one is easier to get coverage... (it's absolutely the rules preventing it and not the chair. Thanks for the insult though!)
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 22:39:42
Subject: Tyranid Synapse Rule clarification...
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Poolatka, I am pretty sure your OP is not correct. But I am not sure exactly what you are claiming or asserting....
Perhaps it was fully clarified by the other posters.
As for the 'stealer trick' it has been a known Nid tactic for awhile now. Particularly useful with the stealer formations in RL 1.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 22:47:25
Subject: Tyranid Synapse Rule clarification...
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Put one Genestealer within 12" of the Venomthrope. But the other one ~60" away. Fill in the line with his squadmates.
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/15 03:43:56
Subject: Tyranid Synapse Rule clarification...
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DarknessEternal wrote:
Put one Genestealer within 12" of the Venomthrope. But the other one ~60" away. Fill in the line with his squadmates.
Which one is easier and more reliable - Infiltrate and GTG in terrain with a Flyrant for synapse, or conga line stealers across the board?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
|