Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/18 06:53:26
Subject: Lobbas and ammo runts and 7th Ed artillery rules.
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
So you have your Lobbas. Can't move and shoot. You have 5 and 3 ammo runts. Per rules you fire w closest (most close?) gun first. Then that means either the geometry of the target has changed relative to your unit, or you (we) are cheating if we use more than one re roll for a runt.
We have to move if we use 2 ammo runts. Automatically Appended Next Post: I hate being the good guy but thems the rules.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/07/18 06:54:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/18 08:58:14
Subject: Re:Lobbas and ammo runts and 7th Ed artillery rules.
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Illinois
|
I actually noticed this the other day watching a batrep through FLG. Well, you can just move 1 model and fire the rest of the guns and then repeat.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/18 15:18:53
Subject: Lobbas and ammo runts and 7th Ed artillery rules.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You really only need to use 1 Runt per turn anyways, just to land that first shot.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/18 15:46:12
Subject: Lobbas and ammo runts and 7th Ed artillery rules.
|
 |
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk
|
More Dakka wrote:You really only need to use 1 Runt per turn anyways, just to land that first shot.
The issue is that the closest gun always has to fire first. So if you use the reroll then next turn, unless your next target is way off the first, the gun that fires first (and thus is the one determining scatter) is the same one that already used its runt on the turn before. This means that you have to move that lobba back and not shoot with it to regain precision, or else not get to use your runt.
The only solution i can see atm is to attach a mega armoured character to them, granting them SnP. SAG meshes more with KMKs than lobbas though, and it increases the value of targeting the unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/18 15:54:31
Subject: Lobbas and ammo runts and 7th Ed artillery rules.
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
ammo runts dont occupy physical space IIRC, they are like attack squigs and grot orderlys, their physical position on the board is irrelevant.
I dont think there is anything saying that the specific gun that bought the runt has to be the one to use it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/18 16:01:54
Subject: Re:Lobbas and ammo runts and 7th Ed artillery rules.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
The physical location of the runts isn't the problem. Ammo Runts are bought per MODEL not per unit.
So once the gun closest to the enemy has used its Runt, you can't use another Runt for the first shot of the volley. The only way around this is to shuffle the gun who already used its Runt backwards, such that another gun that hasn't used its Runt yet is now the closest to the enemy.
That certainly is a bit irritating.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/18 16:03:56
Subject: Lobbas and ammo runts and 7th Ed artillery rules.
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
While i dont think it specifically notes that the model that purchased it gets to use it, the ammo runts themselves are purchased on a per model basis.
I dont know......this is a toughy.
I would however not be finicky about it if the ork player had all his guns lined up at the same distance away so that there was not a closest model.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/18 16:05:58
Subject: Lobbas and ammo runts and 7th Ed artillery rules.
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
yes, you can buy one runt per gun, 5 guns = 5 runts....
nothing says each gun must use the runt they specifically bought IIRC, please correct me if the runt rule says "the model that bought this can re roll" but I think it just says it entiles you to reroll one to hit.
the unit now has 5 runts, each runt lets you reroll a hit roll, again, it does not specifiy that the particular model who "bought" it must be the one to use it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/18 16:54:51
Subject: Lobbas and ammo runts and 7th Ed artillery rules.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
easysauce wrote:yes, you can buy one runt per gun, 5 guns = 5 runts....
nothing says each gun must use the runt they specifically bought IIRC, please correct me if the runt rule says "the model that bought this can re roll" but I think it just says it entiles you to reroll one to hit.
the unit now has 5 runts, each runt lets you reroll a hit roll, again, it does not specifiy that the particular model who "bought" it must be the one to use it.
Yeah... unfortunately they changed the wording on the Ammo Runt. Now it reads:
"One use only. A model with an ammo runt can re-roll one To Hit roll when shooting."
So if a model buys an ammo runt it doesn't look like it can be used by any model in the unit other than the model who bought it.
|
|
 |
 |
|