Switch Theme:

Assaulting a unit behind another  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





So this happened to me the other day:



O - Ork Boys
g - grots

G1 - Unit of genestealers
G2 - Unit of genestealers

I assaulted the unit of grots with G1. I then assaulted the the boys with G2. I was told the G2 unit HAD to also assault the grots since the G2 unit could not "wrap" around to get in base contact with the boys. As a result, the G2 unit did not get a charging attack bonus since it was attacking multiple units. Mind you, I only wanted to attack the unit of boys with G2.

I understand models within the assaulting unit need to move in the most direct path to get in base contact with the assaulted unit, this could result in moving through terrain, but does this include forcing moving through another unit.

tl;dr - Can the G2 unit assault the boys without being forced to assault the grots?



If you game in North Alabama check us out!

Rocket City Gamers 
   
Made in dk
Dakka Veteran




Yes of course you could assault the boys. At most you could be forced to make a disordered charge by the circumstances. If at least one G2 can see at least one O and the shortest route around the grots is 12" or less then you can declare a normal charge.

Edit: Remember that it says that you can move within 1" of enemy models when moving charging models, and it doesn't state that there's only referred to the enemy unit being charged, so shortest route could be right up against a grot; though I don't know whether this is intended or not.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/18 18:22:33


Andy Chambers wrote:
To me the Chaos Space Marines needed to be characterised as a threat reaching back to the Imperium's past, a threat which had refused to lie down and become part of history. This is in part why the gods of Chaos are less pivotal in Codex Chaos; we felt that the motivations of Chaos Space Marines should remain their own, no matter how debased and vile. Though the corrupted Space Marines of the Traitor Legions make excellent champions for the gods of Chaos, they are not pawns and have their own agendas of vengeance, empire-building vindication or arcane study which gives them purpose. 
   
Made in sg
Brainy Zoanthrope





Exactly. You can't go through but you can go round, if there is enough charge distance.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




No need for a disordered charge. You declare you are charging the boyz, and if the roll is enough to get around the grots and into base with at least 1 boyz squad, then you are fine**.

If you do not declare a multi-assault, then you can't get into base with the grots, but you *can* get within 1". (.0001" is fine)

**Technically, if the grots are at least 26mm apart, you don't have to go around, you could charge "through" the grotz to base the boyz.
   
Made in us
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator



Thornton Colorado

You cannot come in base contact with a unit you are not trying to assault. So a few things could have happened if you could get in base contact with O with out coming into base contact with unit g then everything is good and it would be a normal charge. if however you could not and you got in base contact with unit g with out declaring them as a target as well then you actually would not have been able to charge at all. seeing what you opponents response was it sounds like the second option was what happened and in that case your opponent gave you a break by allowing you to charge both units by allowing a disordered charger.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/18 18:24:12


10000
1250
Check out my Blog for local events and other 40K things
http://lightofterra.blogspot.com
 
   
Made in nl
Confessor Of Sins






You can always charge around other units by the shortest possible detour, providing you have enough charge distance.

See page 46, 1st column, 3rd paragraph.

Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

There's a common misconception that the charging models need to move in a straight line.


So long as you have sufficient charge range to get into contact with the unit you want to assault, there is nothing stopping you from charging around another unit.

 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

Is charging in a straight line a misconception? i thought RaW was "by the shortest route", so if you had to clip a wood, you would still have to go through, you can't always charge around?

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in nl
Confessor Of Sins






Read page 46, 1st column. It has to be the shortest possible route, avoiding enemy units you are not charging, impassable terrain and friendly units.

Nothing about a straight line at all, but often that will be the shortest route.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/18 21:38:13


Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

So we would agree that: Straight line unless Impassable / Other units would still be the best way to think about it?

ED: Just confirming that even though there is no "need" for a straight line, it "should be" a straight line.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/18 21:50:28


DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




It 'should be' a straight line, except for the times is 'should be' a curve...

The rule is pretty explicit, the shortest possible route.

It means you go through/over the things you can go through/over. And you go around the things you can't go through/over.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: