Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/21 14:02:17
Subject: Units inside Transports claiming objectives
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
I heard in the Necron tactics thread that the Ghost Ark could claim two objectives (due to being 9" long and able to "reach" 2 objectives that were placed close enough, with the Ark claiming one objective and the unit inside claiming the other). I assumed that this was generally accepted, since I had heard that the restriction on embarked units controlling objectives had been removed from the sixth edition rulebook in the transition to seventh edition. I don't see the restriction in seventh, but I also don't see explicit permission anywhere that does allow them to claim/contest an objective.
What happened was that one of my opponents claimed that since the unit embarked on the ark isn't actually on the board, it can't contest. My counter-point was that how can a flamer hit them if they're not actually on the board? He said that it was a specific rule for the flamer that circumvented this. So rather than having it out, I just let him have his way. It didn't matter in the end anyhow.
That being said, I would still like to know how it should be resolved. Was he correct? Am I/is he missing something in the rules?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/21 14:02:43
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/21 14:22:05
Subject: Units inside Transports claiming objectives
|
 |
Yellin' Yoof on a Scooter
|
It is not specifically mentioned in the rules. However:
Point out in the rules that units transported inside of zooming flyers cannot score (p134). This implies that units inside of not-zooming flyers can score, otherwise the restriction would not be specifically mentioned. As per measuring to the unit inside, you measure to the hull of the vehicle (p80).
|
: 7000+ : 2200+ : 570 : 400+
Fortifications: 400+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/21 14:23:31
Subject: Units inside Transports claiming objectives
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
While the Unit is not technically on the board per-say, being hit by a flamer is not the only Rule which can interact with them. Any Rule which the conditions within can be met will trigger on Units within a Transport, assuming they do not have some sort of Restriction preventing embarked Uni from being affected of course. One very important Rule is found in the Transpiration Rules themselves and reads; If the players need to measure a range involving the embarked unit (except for its shooting), this range is measured to or from the vehicle’s hull. As it is actually the inability to measure to a Unit that is not physically on the table which prevents the vast majority of Rules from functioning in such situations, it highlights just how important this Rule is. By granting the ability to measure to the Embarked Unit, it has granted us permission to evoke any Rule which requires measurements to the Unit within to trigger. For Controlling Objectives the Unit must be withing 3 Inches of the Objective, so we measure to the Hull to see if this condition has been met and check it off. At that point it now comes down to a Restriction against Embarked Units, which is only for Zooming Flyers....
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/07/21 14:33:25
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/21 14:28:12
Subject: Units inside Transports claiming objectives
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Capturing an objective requires you to measure to the unit.
The transport rules cover measuring to an embarked unit.
Perfectly legal.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/21 14:37:57
Subject: Units inside Transports claiming objectives
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
I just had to point that one out and chuckle.
You get an exalt, and i'm now wandering if you were talking about the exhaust ports, or whether that rule set involves Water.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/21 14:38:28
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/21 14:51:06
Subject: Units inside Transports claiming objectives
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Ah spell check, you are both my greatest ally and my worse enemy.
At least it was clean, and while I should edit it out I will leave it in there.
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/22 01:56:03
Subject: Units inside Transports claiming objectives
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
I'm very glad to have this rule known. There was an issue recently where I parked a dirge caster rhino next to a battlewagon full of orks and charged it. I claimed they couldn't overwatch, he said they could since we couldn't measure to the orks inside.
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/22 23:35:27
Subject: Units inside Transports claiming objectives
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Nevermind, just saw the rule.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/22 23:37:16
|
|
 |
 |
|