Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/23 04:28:35
Subject: Dedicated transports must be destroyed to count as removing a unit?
|
 |
Guardsman with Flashlight
|
So it's been a common rule intruptation at my local store that dedicated transports are part of the unit as far as scoring points via unit destruction. It's also played that destroying a dedicated transport doesn't count for first blood.
This is normally in relation to drop pods.
My concern is that other dedicated transports can simply split off from a unit and pick up other models after deployment and therefor not be attached to the original.
Was this an old rule or am I missing something in the current rule book?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/23 04:30:57
Subject: Dedicated transports must be destroyed to count as removing a unit?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Dedicated transports have never been considered a part of the same unit as the unit that 'owns' then.
That would create all sorts of paradoxes that would lead to the end of civilisation as we know it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/23 04:37:36
Subject: Re:Dedicated transports must be destroyed to count as removing a unit?
|
 |
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk
|
Your store's local interpretation couldn't be more wrong. While dedicated transports may be purchased specifically for a unit, said unit doesnt have to start the game in it. They dont even have to touch it. They roll as reserves together, yes, but do not have to come in even close to one another. You could drop an empty pod on the field if you so chose, and they can definitely let other units hitch a ride turn one onwards. The only limitation on dedicated transports is they may not start the game or come in from reserve containing a unit it was not purchased for. That's it.
Dedicated transports definitely count for kill points and First Blood. I think you're being scammed by the local marine player who doesn't want to start every game down a VP because of reckless pod placement. Thats the price you pay if you want to get in the enemy's face turn one.
|
2016 Score: 7W; 0D; 2L |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/23 05:21:33
Subject: Dedicated transports must be destroyed to count as removing a unit?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Not meaning to hijack the OPs thread, but I hear all the time that "my FLGS says the rule means such-and-such", as if the employees have some deeper insight into the rule book than the rest of us. It is pretty clear that FLGS employees do not have a hot-line to the GW rules gurus, so I wish people would desist from attributing more value to assertions from these people than they deserve (ie, if they can quote the rules to back up their claims, excellent, if not......).
/rant
and apologies to the OP - no offence intended.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/23 05:33:20
Subject: Dedicated transports must be destroyed to count as removing a unit?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
curt1893 wrote:So it's been a common rule intruptation at my local store that dedicated transports are part of the unit as far as scoring points via unit destruction.
If they're part of the unit you run into the paradoxes Insaniak mentioned. The transport has to embark with the rest of the unit, and no one's yet managed to figure out how a drop pod or rhino embarks on itself. And ofc the troops could never move out of coherency with the transport... Good luck on charging anyone, or even taking an objective if the transport can't get close enough. When it's immobilized you're done for unless you're somewhere useful.
Dedicated Transports ( BRB pg 82, 120) are clearly stated to be units themself. A Troop's DT counts as a Troop unit and so on. There's also the "multiple units in one FOC" mentioned on page 121 - if a unit entry lets you buy multiple units they take up one FOC but otherwise are all separate units.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/23 05:34:17
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/23 08:45:10
Subject: Dedicated transports must be destroyed to count as removing a unit?
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
Bulleted rules things
-They are not the same unit.
-Killing a DT can reward first blood without the unit.
-Killing a unit can reward first blood without the DT
If they are part of the unit then...
-The drop pod must remain in unit coherence
- The drop pod must embark as all the unit embarks to the transport.
-The drop pod must charge with the unit
-The drop pod must shoot the same target as the unit.
-And... you get the idea. Many problems.
|
It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.
Tactical objectives are fantastic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/23 12:27:30
Subject: Dedicated transports must be destroyed to count as removing a unit?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Ask them about an IG platoon, if I happen to field a maxed out platoon with all the units that the force org slot is capable of possessing. Does that mean you would have to kill the platoon command, all 5 Infantry squads, all 6 chimeras, the 50 man conscript squad, the special weapon squads and the heavy weapons squads, just to get one kill point or First Blood?
No, that's just wrong.
Also,
Bolg da Goff wrote:They roll as reserves together, yes, but do not have to come in even close to one another.
Don't believe this is correct. They would roll for reserves together if the unit is embarked but otherwise roll separately.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/23 12:28:51
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/23 13:53:29
Subject: Dedicated transports must be destroyed to count as removing a unit?
|
 |
[DCM]
Moustache-twirling Princeps
Gone-to-ground in the craters of Coventry
|
If you cast Prescience on a drop pod, do the troops that deployed with it benefit?
Do 'wounds' against the troops spill over onto the drop pod?
Etc.
No, the transport is not part of the unit, even though they (can) deploy together.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/23 19:34:19
Subject: Dedicated transports must be destroyed to count as removing a unit?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Should your local group want even more Rule supported evidence point them to the 'Army List Explained' section in every Codex. It will contain two Rules which show the Dedicated Transport is a Unit in it's own right, one being the Dedicated Transport entry stating as much.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/23 19:34:45
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/25 04:53:03
Subject: Dedicated transports must be destroyed to count as removing a unit?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Maybe this was answered above, but can a tactical squad deploy normally while their empty (objective secured) drop pod lands without them?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/25 06:39:12
Subject: Re:Dedicated transports must be destroyed to count as removing a unit?
|
 |
Drone without a Controller
|
axisofentropy wrote:Maybe this was answered above, but can a tactical squad deploy normally while their empty (objective secured) drop pod lands without them? You're right, it was answered above.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/25 06:39:46
1500 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/25 11:09:15
Subject: Re:Dedicated transports must be destroyed to count as removing a unit?
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
Not having dedicated transports count for first blood unless the unit it was purchased with is killed as well is a pretty hefty boost, as that is one of the few drawbacks to drop-pods, rhinos, chimeras, and the like. (aka: they are relatively fragile vehicles)
Perhaps you should ask your FLGS clerk or whomever vetted that rule what it's purpose is and if it is a pure house rule or if they have some actual justification for that stance found somewhere in a rule-book? (if they believe it is the latter case you'll want to then ask them to show you the rule)
Seems like you may want to stuff anything and everything possible into dedicated transports at your store going forward.
|
|
 |
 |
|