Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/26 04:04:46
Subject: Problem with Typhus and his generation of Psychic Powers
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
Okay this came up in my head and has been rolling around like a rock in a 50 gallon drum , specifically like one of those you'd see in a movie with like fire in it and homeless people surrounding it right before one of the guys admits he's only homeless to pick up chicks.
Anyway
Typhus is a LEVEL 2 Psyker. Does he get Force ability? Does he get Chaos Focus? Can he pick from Malefic.
The key thing is that it states not in the army listing but in the book listing that he MUST generate all powers from Nurgle.
Here's the Problem, well I am pretty sure he gets Chaos Focus but can he generate 2 Psychic powers from Nurgle?
So Typhus is a Level 2 but only get's 2 powers because he can only roll half of his powers on nurgle? Or does he have the option to roll Malefic or Sanctic?
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/26 04:37:50
Subject: Problem with Typhus and his generation of Psychic Powers
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Typhus is L2 psyker with access to Nurgle only (so no Daemonology). He can generate two powers from the Nurgle discipline and get Chaos focus as well. He has a Force weapon, so also gets the Force power.
I'm sure where this rolling half on nurgle came from (older edition perhaps, have seen it a few times). The restriction for psykers with a mark is they must generate at least one power from that discipline (then get Chaos focus), but Typhus must generate all of his powers from the nurgle discipline.
Summary: Typhus gets 2 rolls on nurgle chart, nurgle primaris (chaos focus) and Force.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/26 11:08:40
Subject: Problem with Typhus and his generation of Psychic Powers
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Typhus can roll on daemonology because the FAQ sais he can and FAQ trumps codex.
|
You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/26 11:11:01
Subject: Problem with Typhus and his generation of Psychic Powers
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
DaPino wrote:Typhus can roll on daemonology because the FAQ sais he can and FAQ trumps codex.
Typhus has a rule that says he must generate all of his powers from Nurgle
Specific trumps general
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/26 15:06:25
Subject: Problem with Typhus and his generation of Psychic Powers
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
Yeah it straight up states he must generate all psychic powers from Nurgle.
There is in fact a restriction on how many powers you can roll on a chart for Chaos Powers.
And may roll up to half
Yeah he is a Level 2, he can roll once and he gets Chaos Psychic Focus for the Primaris.
So even though he is a Level 2, he has 2 Spells he can cast.
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/26 15:12:10
Subject: Problem with Typhus and his generation of Psychic Powers
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
CrownAxe wrote:DaPino wrote:Typhus can roll on daemonology because the FAQ sais he can and FAQ trumps codex.
Typhus has a rule that says he must generate all of his powers from Nurgle
Specific trumps general
Which does not mean the codex rule applies.
A 7th edition rulebook trumps any older codex. However, any codex that was updated by FAQ to 7th would then trump BRB. You will note that the CSM FAQ states that any Pskyer has access to Daemonology in addition to any others listed in their entry. There is no exception listed for Typhus preventing that.
Therefore Typhus can indeed get Daemonology.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/26 15:12:46
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/26 15:12:31
Subject: Problem with Typhus and his generation of Psychic Powers
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
No, he automatically gets the primaris power because he will be rolling all his powers on there and he gets to roll for 2 powers on the nurgle table.
In essence he really has 4 powers
Primaris
Force
And the other 2 powers you rolled for. Automatically Appended Next Post: I was responding to holimason
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/26 15:13:38
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/26 19:35:01
Subject: Problem with Typhus and his generation of Psychic Powers
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
CrownAxe wrote:DaPino wrote:Typhus can roll on daemonology because the FAQ sais he can and FAQ trumps codex.
Typhus has a rule that says he must generate all of his powers from Nurgle
Specific trumps general
That's not true necessarily, as you also have to use the latest avaible rules, which is the FAQ.
There is a rule in the codex that sais Typhus can only take from Nurgle.
Then there is a FAQ that sais ANY psyker can take powers from daemonology.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/26 19:49:05
You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/26 19:38:13
Subject: Problem with Typhus and his generation of Psychic Powers
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
DaPino wrote: CrownAxe wrote:DaPino wrote:Typhus can roll on daemonology because the FAQ sais he can and FAQ trumps codex.
Typhus has a rule that says he must generate all of his powers from Nurgle
Specific trumps general
That's not true, advanced trumps simple.
There is a rule in the codex that sais Typhus can only take from Nurgle.
Then there is a FAQ that sais ANY psyker can take powers from daemonology.
No, Typhus's entry says "Must generate all powers from Nurgle"
Even if the FAQ gives him Demonology, he won't get to roll on it because he has to roll everything on Nurgle
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/26 19:50:15
Subject: Problem with Typhus and his generation of Psychic Powers
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
do you think that his " Must Roll" overrides the can only roll up to?
I think it does
It's also pretty clear in the Psychic rules that if a Psyker has that restriction then that's all he can roll on.
My question is more does he get to roll twice or once because he can't generate more than half his powers according to the codex.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/26 19:52:13
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/26 19:53:18
Subject: Re:Problem with Typhus and his generation of Psychic Powers
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
You may think it does, but your opponent would have to agree. This is something that until FAQ two sides will fight bitterly. "Oh he can roll on whatever can rules" "oh no only nurgle cause rules"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/26 20:25:00
Subject: Problem with Typhus and his generation of Psychic Powers
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Chaos psykers generally can generate powers from Biomancy, Telepathy, Pyro, and their gods chart. They were also given general access to Daemonology in the current faq.
Typhus specifically must roll them all on nurgle.
For the same reason he may not generate powers on Biomancy, pyro, or telepathy he may not roll on Daemonology powers.
its in his entry "must roll all of his powers on nurgle" if you roll on anything else you are not following his RAW.
its not a discussion between opponents.
Typhus -may- have access to all the disciplines a normal chaos sorcerer has, but he MUST ROLL ALL OF HIS POWERS ON NURGLE.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/26 20:27:02
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/26 20:30:07
Subject: Problem with Typhus and his generation of Psychic Powers
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
Yeah there's no disagreement on that the question is whether he get's to roll twice on nurgle or not. I think the must roll overrides the restriction of only being able to generate half your powers on the chart.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/26 20:30:37
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/26 20:42:38
Subject: Problem with Typhus and his generation of Psychic Powers
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I agree with you.
As it says he must generate all his powers from nurgle.
if he generates only half his powers from nurgle he has powers he has not generated. However he must generate all his powers form nurgle.
So only generating half would leave him with ungenerated powers, which is against RAW.
As his rules are more specific than the general rules for generating powers he must follow his rules.
|
|
 |
 |
|