Switch Theme:

How do I measure "within 3 inches of an objective" if the objective is elevated?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




If an objective is placed on the second (or higher) level of a ruin, or or on top of a cliff/hill/banana, how do I measure "within 3 inches" of it?

Should I measure a 3" radius in all directions, creating a sphere of influence?
Should I measure a 3" radius in horizontal directions, ignoring vertical space, creating a cylinder of influence?
Can a hovering skimmer with a stem taller than 3" ever secure an objective?

Also, what page would I find this on in the rulebook?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/28 19:37:26


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

3 inches is 3 inches, be it vertical or horizontal distance.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Sorry, that's not very clear. Are you suggesting a sphere or a cylinder?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Krall wrote:
Sorry, that's not very clear. Are you suggesting a sphere or a cylinder?


Within 3 inches is not clear?

It would not be a cylinder because you could have a model 5 inches below an objective and it would not be within 3 inches of that objective.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






In other words, it is a sphere.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

General principles chapter, Measuring Distances section.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




 DeathReaper wrote:
Krall wrote:
Sorry, that's not very clear. Are you suggesting a sphere or a cylinder?


Within 3 inches is not clear?

It would not be a cylinder because you could have a model 5 inches below an objective and it would not be within 3 inches of that objective.


Thanks. In the future, though, maybe don't be a jerk and imply that I'm stupid for asking questions.

Within 3 inches is not clear?


This was the reason I posted the question.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/28 19:43:04


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Krall wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Krall wrote:
Sorry, that's not very clear. Are you suggesting a sphere or a cylinder?


Within 3 inches is not clear?

It would not be a cylinder because you could have a model 5 inches below an objective and it would not be within 3 inches of that objective.


Thanks. In the future, though, maybe don't be a jerk and imply that I'm stupid for asking questions.

Within 3 inches is not clear?


This was the reason I posted the question.


I wasn't being a jerk. I was simply asking if "Within 3 inches is not clear?" to you.

Within 3 inches can never be a cylinder.

check the general principles chapter about measuring distances, it will tell you how to measure within 3 inches.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




 DeathReaper wrote:
General principles chapter, Measuring Distances section.


I don't see anything that clarifies vertical distance in this section. Do you have something more specific I can look up?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

This part covers it "Distances between models and all other objects (which can be other models, terrain features and so on) are always measured from the closest point on one base to the closest point on the other base." (General principles chapter, Measuring Distances section.)

So you measure from the closest model's base to the closest point on the objective marker, If the marker is on the second level you would need to hold your ruler/measuring tape etc at an angle to measure this distance.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Why does differentiating between horizontal and vertical matter? You just measure it. Is the model within 3" at all? Yes? Then he's on the objective.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




 CrownAxe wrote:
Why does differentiating between horizontal and vertical matter? You just measure it. Is the model within 3" at all? Yes? Then he's on the objective.


There are several exceptions to measuring vertical distances in the rules (in this and in past editions), such as unit coherency. I was trying to find if this was another case, or a mis-remembered rule from another edition. As it turns out, it seems like people play this as angled measurements.

You just measure it.

This is what I'm trying to figure out how to do. Again, there's no need to treat me like I'm stupid for acting questions on the basics.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





I usually just play infinitely high objectives. Picture a 3" radius cylinder extruding from above and below the objective. That way there's no shenanigans with 10-story ruins and crap.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Krall wrote:
 CrownAxe wrote:
Why does differentiating between horizontal and vertical matter? You just measure it. Is the model within 3" at all? Yes? Then he's on the objective.


There are several exceptions to measuring vertical distances in the rules (in this and in past editions), such as unit coherency. I was trying to find if this was another case, or a mis-remembered rule from another edition. As it turns out, it seems like people play this as angled measurements.


An exception was given for unit coherency. This is not the case for objectives (since it doesn't say so)

Just measure it
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




 CrownAxe wrote:

Just measure it


Repeating this is not helpful when the question is, "how do I measure it?"

Side question: Does this mean I can place an objective on top of a 6" tall building adjacent to the board edge, as long as the hypotenuse is not less than 6" from the table edge?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/28 20:35:38


 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Eihnlazer wrote:
In other words, it is a sphere.

If mounted on a flat base, technically it'd be an oblate spheroid
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Another question for consistency: Does this also mean that I should be measuring vertical distance covered when I move my flyers the min (or max distance)? In theory, I could cover less than the minimum 18" if I was moving to the top of a cliff or building.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Cheexsta wrote:
Eihnlazer wrote:
In other words, it is a sphere.

If mounted on a flat base, technically it'd be an oblate spheroid


Fair point!


Automatically Appended Next Post:
I found an answer that explains it elegantly in another thread, so I'm going to go with this for all measuring. Thanks, guys.

insaniak wrote:Nowhere do the rules tell you to only measure distances on the horizontal plane.

So you measure directly from the model's base to the object in question. Not just horizontally.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/07/28 20:43:59


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, if you moved up a cliff, then you would follow the measuring rules and measure from start to finish point. NOthing states that your measurement is confined to just horizontal planes, ad hasnt since at least 4th, from memory
   
Made in gb
Tough Tyrant Guard





SHE-FI-ELD

If it was 3inches horizontally, then 3 vertically, I would measure and it would be 3.

I measure directly base to base, not along the ground then up, the tape measure would then be at a diagonal angle between the 2.

However movement may be different, but we usually measure directly for long movement. If not then technically you should be measuring the vertical distance of everything you pass over also, which is a pain.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/29 09:04:16


It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.

Tactical objectives are fantastic 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

Krall wrote:
Does this mean I can place an objective on top of a 6" tall building adjacent to the board edge, as long as the hypotenuse is not less than 6" from the table edge?


I am quite curious as to responses for this, i have always played it 6" for the edge (Horizontal measurement from the edge, only) but with this thread, i am doubting that approach.

If the building is 8" high, can the objective be right in the corner?

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Only if you consisder the edge of the table to be defined as just the edge of the board, and not the "non gaming" surface around the table.

THis would mean you were OK with the wings of a SR overhanging the edges of a board, as only the base could be looked at to determine if you were off the board.
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

i think i've seen it played that way locally, but i have no idea and just wondering about the issue. I guess if they can put a wing, i can put an objective? we both know that's not a sound reasoning for it though....

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok





I think edges should be played as infinitely high, personally. Letting wings hang off the edge is a separate issue, though I'd argue against allowing it simply because careless movement near the table could sweep an expensive model onto the floor.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Bludbaff wrote:
I think edges should be played as infinitely high, personally. Letting wings hang off the edge is a separate issue, though I'd argue against allowing it simply because careless movement near the table could sweep an expensive model onto the floor.

It's not a separate issue - it's actually the same issue.

The edge of the board is infinitely high because you're not allowed to hang part of the model off the edge of the board.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: