Switch Theme:

Huron and Daemonology  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Bounding Dark Angels Assault Marine





Canada

Had a match vs a buddy of mine on the weekend, and Huron showed up.
I know the CSM FAQ says that all psykers have access to Daemonology disciplines when generating powers:

Any unit with the Psyker special rule may generate powers from the Daemonology discipline in addition to the others listed in their Army List Entries


So how does this interact with Huron's "The Hamadrya" rule?

Hamadraya says roll d3 on the table of Biomancy/Pyromancy/Diviniation

My opponent suggested that it should be 1-5 now including malefic and sanctic, while I felt that the specific Hamadrya rule was the way to go.

Thoughts?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/07/29 18:36:32


Dark Angels 1st, 2nd, 5th, 10th Companies,
~14,000 points
36-21-4

~ 4500 points of Tau
5-5-1

~2500 points of Admech 40k

~6500 points of Tyranids: Hive Fleet Niadra
1-2-0 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





This isn't generating psychic powers. This is a special rule which neither the BRB or FAQ give permission to add demonology to said special rule
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






Unfortunately for your opponent, "the Hamdrya" is a piece of wargear that confer's random psychic powers to the user based on a specific chart.

Until they add an errata that modifies the chart, you have no chance to roll any other powers than you see on it.


The blanket rule about generating powers only works if the model does not have set powers already detailed in its entry.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in ca
Khorne Veteran Marine with Chain-Axe






What about Psychic Mastery?

Does Huron now get the primaris of whichever psychic discipline he rolls, since he's a Mastery Level 1 Psyker and has his only power rolled from that chart?

As for the original question, found the source of the thought;
Quoted from 1d4Chan: "Due to the 40k 7th edition psychic rules, Huron gets Psychic Focus (one random power plus Primaris Power) when he rolls just one random psychic power (since being psychic mastery lvl 1) from Biomancy, Divination or Pyromancy. But then, the manifesting powers last only for that one turn... According to FAQ May 14th, ALL Psykers may roll powers from Daemonology, thus including Huron too."
http://1d4chan.org/wiki/Warhammer_40,000/Tactics/Chaos_Space_Marines(7E)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/07/29 21:32:56


-I dedicate these deaths to Odin Allfather, Spearshaker, One Eye.
Rock hard, ride free, and hold the heathen hammer high!
"Orkses is never beaten in battle; if we win, we win, if we die, we died fightin' so it doesn't count, and if we leg it, we always come back for anuvver go, see?"
God, I'd love to shunt the Hulk into the Eye of Terror and see what comes out. -Reiner
"Sons of the Last Breath"
"Host of Shattered Purity"
"Kabal of the Dying Sun, Cult of Marrow Excised, Coven of Lambent Hunger" 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






The FAQ mearly grants permission for psychers who generate powers at the start of the game to also access the Daemonology powers. It does not grant blanket permission for all psychers to be able to roll on them.

If the psycher you are fielding knows a specific set of powers, or is only allowed to roll on specific power charts in his unit entry, then thats it, he doesnt get to do anything else.

Huron is only given permission to generate 1 random power from 1 of 3 power charts due to a piece of wargear (daemon dragon pet) that he posses's. Thats it. He cannot roll on any other chart other than the ones detailed in his unit entry.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch






Sadly no, same goes for Weavers two heads of fate rule, if a psyker/character/unit has special rules that explicitly detail how to roll i.e. Weaver (but not horrors) they must roll on the chart(s)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/29 23:44:11


Aftermath can be calculated.

Dark humor is like food, not everyone gets it.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: