Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/30 01:27:56
Subject: A Question on The Relic
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Hey Dakka!
I attended my first tournament this past weekend at the BAO and had a really great time.
I just had a quick question regarding the rules on the Relic which came up during one of my matches, and was hoping i could get some clarification.
I would like to pre face this question by saying that my opponent was a really awesome guy and neither of us thought that we were playing the mission incorrectly at the time. So i am not calling foul play in anyway. In fact he was probably the best sportsman i played there.
I was told during my game that the relic can not be contested and my opponent parked an imperial knight on top of it turn 6 or 7. I don't remember which was the final turn, and I played the final turns under that impression. The game ended and i had about 5 OS units left easily in reach of assaulting the knight at the end of my phase. Which would have put me i base contact and "control" because they are OS..?
That is my question. We ended the game because i had nothing that could hurt the knight and i didn't think it was treated as an objective, therefor i couldn't win.
After the game i was informed by a very good player that the Relic is now treated as a normal objective with the exception of movement and that i would have controlled it if i had went into base contact with the knight, however i can't find anything that says that.
So is this correct? I thought that you had to be "holding" the Relic to actually control it.
Thanks!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/30 01:48:11
Subject: A Question on The Relic
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
I do believe this is one of those interesting changes in 7th, but I will need to do a comparison between 6th and 7th for myself before I can say for sure.
Do remember reviewing it when it was first pointed out, and I am sure I confirmed the change already, but memory issues.
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/30 02:16:46
Subject: A Question on The Relic
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The relic is an objective that can be moved. You can contest it like any other. He would have been more correct in 6th edition rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/30 03:23:26
Subject: A Question on The Relic
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yep, get within 3" with an OS unit, and you control it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/30 04:19:12
Subject: A Question on The Relic
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Thanks a lot guys!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/30 04:28:24
Subject: A Question on The Relic
|
 |
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch
|
I disagree.
The Relic is "picked up" by the model, and is no longer on the table. Therefore, you cannot be within 3 inches of it.
You would need to kill the model, and pick it up with a model of your own.
|
Aftermath can be calculated.
Dark humor is like food, not everyone gets it. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/30 05:13:45
Subject: A Question on The Relic
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Lord Commissar wrote:I disagree.
The Relic is "picked up" by the model, and is no longer on the table. Therefore, you cannot be within 3 inches of it.
You would need to kill the model, and pick it up with a model of your own.
The Relic is still on the table, it is with the model that picked it up...
"...that model then automatically picks [The Relic] up at the end of the phase. From that point, the Relic remains with the model (move the Relic with the model to show this) until it is dropped, which can happen voluntarily, but happens automatically if the model is slain." (Eternal War: The Relic Mission, Seizing the Relic section).
and
"The Objective Marker represents the Relic." (Eternal War: The Relic Mission, The Relic section).
"At the end of the game, the Objective Marker is worth 3 Victory Points to the player that controls it." (Eternal War: The Relic Mission, Primary Objective section).
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/30 07:30:21
Subject: A Question on The Relic
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
you have a few issues here:
1 you have to get within 3" to contest or claim it, so if the knights base (which is longer than 3") was positioned properly you wouldnt have been able to contest it.
2 The knight could have just picked it up (in which case it would be placed anywhere around its base) and kept it on the far side from your units.
3 if you do somehow get a troop unit within 3" you now control it, even if he is holding it. You dont have permission to move away with it until his model is dead, but you still can claim it for points.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/30 08:17:00
Subject: A Question on The Relic
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
Yes, if you had assaulted with that many units you would have contested. If you had Obsec units you would have controlled it, to be sure assault to the long side of the model. The rules for that mission were changed slightly.
Assuming the relic wasn't the size of a pin or something. If it was around a 50pence size you might have been able to control it without assaulting, 2P size you can control it by being B2B with *most* units parked on it. It's nice to give the middle finger to people parking units on it - never liked that as a tactic.
And Vehicles can not pick up the relic, isn't a knight a vehicle????
|
This message was edited 9 times. Last update was at 2014/07/30 08:33:49
It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.
Tactical objectives are fantastic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/30 15:35:26
Subject: A Question on The Relic
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
The knight is a super heavy walker I believe, so my opponent acknowledged that he couldn't pick it up. Like I said he was a great guy and I don't think either of us knew until after the game. So I just wanted to be sure about the rule for next time. Because all I see in the book is that it says the relic is an Objective marker. But still has the same rules as last addition.
So a little confusing but you all have given me some good clarity.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/30 15:35:57
|
|
 |
 |
|