Switch Theme:

Can you use a positional relay reserved unit to simultaneously bring on outflankers automatically  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





UK

So today a Tau player down at my local GW used a tactic that made me raise my eyebrows in doubt.

What he did was the following:

1) Stealth Suits come in turn 2 from outflank normally <6" distance from the opponent's board edge and use the positional relay

2) Immediately after, in the same turn, this apparently allowed O'Vesa, Darkstrider and 12 Fire warriors (one unit) to come on from his opponents board edge with no reserve roll.

The Tau player used the logic that there was no "needed to start the turn on the board" clause in the wargear description as with various Imperial items.

Now I don't play Tau so I don't know the wording on the wargear but wouldn't this naturally not work because of the order of things in the turn?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/08/03 21:02:35


 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

'Moving on from Reserve' in the 'Mission Special Rules' section of the main rulebook answers your question I believe.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Ghaz,
I've always had questions concerning that:

1) Which Unit is evoking the Rule, the one on the table or the one arriving from Reserves?
2) A Special Rule modifies the Out-flank Arrival method, limited to the bearer of said Rule, can it be used if that Model is arriving from Reserve that turn?
3) Now that the Start of Turn and Start of Movement Phase are no longer simultaneous, how does that effect Special Rules used at the Start of the Movement Phase?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/04 03:07:08


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Reserves arrive and move at the start of the turn, not the Movement phase.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

This I know, how does it relate to any of the questions I asked?

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

The first question is answered in the OP.

The third question is of no consequence to the OP, in my opinion because it doesn't occur at the start of the Movement phase.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Ghaz,
You have me quite confused with these indirect answers, so I guess I will just shrug.

I simply want to know the extent of that Restriction when it comes to preventing Ability and Special Rules from functioning during this period of time. I have a few problems with the concept that all Special Rules are null-and-void for Units in or Arriving from Reserves. Even if we are to give exceptions for Special Rules designed for use during this period of time, such as Deep Strike for not being able to access that while Arriving from Reserves would be confusing to say the least, there are still some interactions which I puzzle over. The largest is what happens if a Special Rule alters a Rule that is already interacting with Reserves, and if that Rule could be accessed by a Unit Arriving from Reserves.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/08/04 17:25:45


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: